We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Blue Water Motel had excellent service and very friendly, pleasant staff. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone else wanting to stay in an affordable, comfortable place in Tairua.

Room Tip: Room at the top has excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Hi Monica,
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are really pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us in Tairua. We would love to see you again soon !

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 192 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had pre booked a twin room and were given unit number 5 on arrival. Small, clean, but very basic and dated. Biggest problem was noise, not the fault of the other guests, but simply the nature of the accommodation, there wasn't much you didn't hear throughout the night !!
Couldn't wait to get away the next morning.

Room Tip: Avoid unit 5.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank 24j26a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi Peter & Pauline,
Gosh, so sorry that you had noisy neighbours that spoiled your 1 night stay with us. It's such a shame that you didn't say anything.
If I know that there is a problem I can try and sort it out and could have easily moved you to a quieter room !
You are quite correct with your description of our studio units - small, clean and basic !
They are our cheapest rooms and provide great value and wonderful sea views.
We also have detached chalets that are twice as big as well as a range of apartments.
Hope the rest of you holiday was OK.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Host was very welcoming and helpful with local attractions. He was also helped with equipment such a shovels etc for the kids. Close to town, walking distance. Great spot, very clean. Home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familytrips1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your kind review.
Really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel and we would love to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My hubby and I desperately needed a weekend away after the chaos of Christmas. Blue Water Motel never dissapoints. We had Chalet number 1 again and it was great.
The motel is so close to the main town areas, a very easy stroll to the beach, shops and cafes.
The kitchen facilities are enough for us to make our own meals and it is lovely to sit out on the balcony and see the water.
While close the road, there was no traffic noise in the evenings so we both had a great nights sleep.
The owners are super friendly, always helpful and readily available to provide advice when needed.
The chalet was spotless as usual, we can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Chalet 1 and 2 are great and are dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hi Nathalie,

Great to see you again and thanks for the lovely comments !
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I wanted to end our three week New Zealand trip in a beach town for three days in Coromandel. I had not prebooked accomodations and over the christmas holiday I was was able to pick up a cancellation for this motel. When we arrived, tired from our long drive, we were so happy to find our lucky booking. We had a little porch with a view, super nice room with frig and microwave, a short walk to town, and a host with accurate information regarding hikes, sights, restaurants and shops. Paul was also helpful with allowing us use of garage and spa room after checkout time as our flight to the states was at night. This little town is not crawling with tour buses and we picked up a lot of local flavor including a craft sale at the town center right across the road from Blue Water. Definitely recommend this accomodation.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mcclenct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Hi Carol,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on The Coromandel. It was great that you got out an experienced some of our walking tracks as well as the beaches.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My partner and I used a Grabone voucher and stayed in a chalet here last September and loved it! We met Paul the owner who was a great guy - very helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean and had everything we needed. It's just a short walk into the town and the walk up Paku Hill is worth the awesome 360degree views at the top - thanks for the recommendation Paul!

We would definitely go back to Blue Water Motel - next time we'll make the most of the freebie kayaks and spades for hot water beach! It'll be nice to see the area in peak season too :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate2959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hi Kate,

Thank you so much for leaving us your review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The owners of this property were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The rooms was clean and quite reasonable. Only gave it a "3" because the bed was not very comfortable. It is within easy walking distance of some restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you your review and your kind comments. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on the sunny Coromandel. Sorry about the bed - it has now been replaced !

cheers,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
14.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: $82 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing