We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I had our first weekend away from our little girl and this was the perfect place to stay.Paul greeted us by name and showed us to our chalet. The chalet was spotless , I was very impressed with how clean it was , even when it was serviced. Super comfy bed and awesome spa.
Location is so handy to everything we enjoyed walking to dinner , enjoying a couple drinks then being able to wander back when we were ready.

Will defiantly return in the near future :)
Thank you :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hi Nicole,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. Really pleased that you and Konrad enjoyed some 'down time' in Tairua !
Hope to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a delightful motel (though hotel would be more fitting)!
From the clean and modern kitchen and the incredibly comfortable beds (with extra bedding provided) to the well-contained-daily-cleaned bathroom complete with excellent smelling soap, this is a lovely place for anyone seeking a nice holiday retreat! The owners are friendly, approachable and polite and the fact that there is a spa pool made our two-night stay here complete!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Hi Jennifer,

Gosh, thanks heaps for your lovely review of our motel. So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in November.
So cool that you noticed our new fragrance soap - I just changed suppliers because I liked it too !!cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights using a grab one deal.
The room was immaculate - we could use shovels for hot water beach, use the hot tub and free kayaks were available.
Paul is a great host - not intrusive but always about when you need him.
Great value - great stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hi Martin,
So pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us and we would love to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review - much appreciated !
cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The motel is situated a very short walk to the town and the outside deck has a view of the harbour.The unit was a compact studio with kitchenette, microwave and frypan.It has got to be one of the cleanest places we have ever stayed in both in NZ and overseas to the credit of Paul and Natasha.The town acts as a lovely base for exploring the coramandel and the motel was the obvious choice to stay for us.We shall return,thanks for a lovely weekend.Beats work any day of the week.Also smashing little restaurant just over the bridge

Guy P

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacqueeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Hi Guy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and we're so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay.
We would love to see you again soon.

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Blue Water overnight to attend a friends birthday in Tairua. Location was great and best of all the Host was friendly and the facilities spotless.

There were extra's provided should your stay be longer for example spaded were available to a trip to nearby hot water beach.

The compendium showcased the local district and motel well

Thanks Paul

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lockie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi Lockie,

Thank you for the wonderful review - we really are lucky having such neat folks stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have just stayed 2 wonderful relaxing nights at Blue Water Motel. The room was comfortable, the bed was awesome, everything clean and tidy, which for me personally is a huge thing as I am a little bit of a clean freak. Paul was wonderful and so laid back, nothing was any trouble for him. Great suggestions for eating out and where to go to see local spots. The spa was an added bonus at the end of the day..We will definitely be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hi Christina,

Thank you so much for you kind review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your short break in Tairua and we'd love to see you both again soon.

cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in winter. Paul was very cheerful and welcoming, had already put the heater on in our room, and suggested we enjoy the spa in that evening. The room was compact but not cramped, very well fitted out, clean and tidy with everything we needed. The Motel is very well located near the bridge - ideal to launch the free kayaks, and walking distance to the shops, restaurants and pub. Tairua is an undiscovered gem, with history, a sheltered harbor, a surf beach and a magnificent headland walk, and despite the inclement weather we had a great stay.

Room Tip: We had the small studio room but it was great for the two of us with a spacious queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hi Rob,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to leave us a review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the weather didn't dampen your spirits !

cheers,

Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
14.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
81 reviews
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: $85 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing