We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“such a lovely place”
Review of Blue Water Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Water Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My friends and i booked for the last minute accommodation at Blue Water Motel. we really enjoyed our staying here. very clean and cosy, easy to find and close to beach. Thank you ,Paul and Natasha for your excellent service. you made our trip wonderful~~~

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi Wei,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay in Tairua and we would love to have you back again another time.

cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Blue Water Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

Helpful owners who provided us with some good information re the local sights and provided us with extra towels and a shovel for 'Hot Water Beach'

The accomodation decor and facilities could perhaps do with refreshing but overall not a bad place to hold up for a couple of days whilst seeing some of the local attractions

Room Tip: A Good Stopping Off Point
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Hi David,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments. Sorry that the weather wasn't too kind to you during your stay on the Coromandel.
All our units including the one your stayed in have been totally refurbished in the last few years and the one you occupied will be refreshed again this winter.
cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here whilst showing my dad around New Zealand on his first trip here originally booked for 1 night but extended to 2 because we enjoyed it so much. Paul and Natasha were fab hosts and went out of there way to make us feel at home. Deluxe family room was great and easily fit 3 adults & 2 children. The town itself was lovely and has everything you could need. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hi Zoe & Stephen,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay in Tairua and that your Dad comes back soon to see you all again soon. Making memories is what life is all about !
cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a lovely 3 days at this motel, it's a very quiet place in the middle of December. There is different size family units, hot spa pool, I recommend it to any one that wants a break to a different place yet not to far from Coromandel.
The units are cleaned in the mornings, so after being out and about, you can come back to a nice and tidy unit.
Bluewater Motel is nice and central, about 600m from the local shops.
You can take the ferry on a scenic tour to Cathedral Cove, blue hole, champagne rock which are just a few to mention.
You can use the shovels from the motel to go to Hot Water Beach and dig in the sand for hot water which is a must to do.
Any room will suit you depending on the size of your family as the units are close and cosy with very friendly staff

Room Tip: Any room will suit you depending on the size of your family as the units are close and cosy with ver...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymac1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Hi Christina,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next time you and in The Coromandel. Love the photos, especially the BBQ - yum yum !!!

cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed one night and had a very warm welcome. Paul is extremely helpful and suggested both a brief evening walk and good restaurants. had we had longer there is plenty to do in the area. Room was adequate, although a little cramped and the bed comfortable. The bathroom felt a little dated, but did all that one could want. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Hi John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your kind comments.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in NZ.

cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were doing a tour of the Coromandel Peninsula and stopped into the Blue Water Motel for one night. Ended up staying 3 nights because the area is so beautiful and Paul, the host, is such a great character. He couldn't have been more helpful. "You must go to the Hot Beach" - beach towels and spade provided instantly. He is passionate about the region and has a fabulous knowledge of the area.

The rooms are as clean as can be and have views from the top rooms. Also while we were there his plum tree was fruiting so we had plums for breakfast. YUM. Also they have the most divine linen. Worthy of a 5 star hotel.

Aside from providing spades for the Hot Water Beach trip they have kayaks for guest use as well as a hot spa.

I couldn't recommend this more highly - 2 minutes walk to a couple of good eating houses

Room Tip: We were a couple and had a lovely room up the hill (last room on the right) and had a view of the ba...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Hi Gillian,
Wow, thank you so much for your kind comments - we are really so lucky to have such lovely guests stay with us. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and even helped stack our firewood !!!
Hope to see you again soon.
cheers,
Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We found this place on a whim. The only motel with spa in the area which is a bonus. Paul was very friendly and the family unit was large and had everything we needed. Off season, so no troubles with any noise from the road. Great place to base for day trip to Hot Water Beach. Paul even offered us towels and shovels to take with us and return on our way back to Auckland. Very trusting and thoughtful. Free wifi. Our son loved the shark notice in the spa and still remembers 2 months later. Thank you Paul.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermotel, Owner at Blue Water Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Hi Carolyn & Family, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for your kind comments. So pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and that the spa pool shark didn't appear ! Cheers, Paul & Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tairua
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
149 reviews
14.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
79 reviews
15.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paku Lodge
Paku Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tairua
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Motel

Address: 213 Main Road, Tairua 3508, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Tairua
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tairua
Price Range: $80 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Water Motel is one of the closest motels to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Clean, comfortable and affordable motel accommodation in the seaside town of Tairua. A perfect base for exploring the beautiful Coromandel Peninsula. We have a range of self contained units, a hot indoor spa pool, free WiFi, BBQ, kayaks and fishing rods. Located opposite harbour beach and a flat 2 minute walk to shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Water Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Motel Tairua, South Pacific - New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing