We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, excellent housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manukau Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Recently spent four nights at the Manukau Motor Lodge while in Auckland for business. Great location, walking distance to local mall for a bit of retail therapy and quick eating options.
Staff were all very helpful and the housekeeping team are excellent. Was a pleasure to enter a room that was so clean. As others have said noise is minimal considering the location is on a busy road and not far from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamManukau631, Receptionist at Manukau Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Hello,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to post a review after your stay with us. Our prime location is ideal for our guests wishing to explore and enjoy the restaurants, shops and major attractions all conveniently located within walking distance from our motel. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you for your high recommendation of our motel. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to your return, hopefully in the not distant future. Best Regards Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 95 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed here due to it's central location (surprisingly not many central Manukau options) and to have a spa unit.

The price seemed a bit steep, but then again I choose to stay here knowing that. As others have mentioned, you can expect clean & tidy, helpful service, and quiet.

Our room was fairly plain, but good amenities. One hiccup was that when the spa bath was filled and activated, some sort of flaky debris came out of the jets. Not sure what it would have been but enough of it that my girlfriend didn't want to stay in the water. Emptied it out and started again but then ran out of hot water and resorted to boiling water to top up the bath.

That issue aside, very happy with the stay and it would have been a rating of 5 if the cost was less.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamManukau631, Receptionist at Manukau Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and kind words with us regarding your stay. We’re delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your high recommendation of our motel. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience you have faced upon the date. Please rest assured that we have forwarded your comments to our management team, and We have done the appropriate measures to address this problem and prevent future occurrence.We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to your return, hopefully in the not distant future. Best Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We just came by this hotel by chance. The rooms had just been refurbished and were very clean. The owners very friendly and helpful.A great place to stay if you have an early flight and only 10 mins to airport as we did at the end of our stay.Would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraJaneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamManukau631, Receptionist at Manukau Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Hello,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to post a review after your stay with us. We’re delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your high recommendation of our motel.
Your feedback is greatly appreciated as a tool for us to try to constantly maintain our standards of quality and service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Auckland. Best Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The room was clean and the couple who run the place are very friendly. It was probably a bit overpriced compared to similar places we stayed in NZ including Auckland but it's ok for a stopover if you have a flight the next day. Our main disappointment which was not the hotel's fault was that there were very few decent places to eat or drink in the area

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamManukau631, Receptionist at Manukau Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Hello,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to post a review after your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. We strive to improve with each and every stay.We will try work diligently to correct all issues that you have expressed that has had a negative impact on your stay. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed just the one night after arriving in Auckland and everything was just fine. Clean, tidy and surprisingly quiet considering it is on a fairly busy road and just 300m or so from a Westfield shopping centre.

If you order the cooked breakfast you better be hungry because it was enormous (and delicious).

This was a lovely start to our holiday in New Zealand and we would definitely stay here again if flying in to Auckland and then heading south.

As well as the Westfield just up the road there is a Kathmandu store nearby (useful if, like us, you didn't bring enough warm stuff).

Just one thing to note, we brought our own TomTom sat nav from Oz, having purchased the map for New Zealand on a special deal. The Tom Tom map for NZ thinks that this part of the Great South Rd is in Wiri (the old name for the area) and not Manakau. There is no Great South Rd Manakau according to the satnav map that we had. So we needed to enter "Wiri" as the city/suburb. If you just use Auckland and then 631 Great South Rd you end up somewhere further north in the suburbs of Auckland.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGR_ThreeOfUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamManukau631, Receptionist at Manukau Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Hello,
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to post a review after your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of direction. It is feedback such as yours that allows us to maintain our standards in customer service and quality accommodation. Thank you for your high recommendation of our motel. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to your return, hopefully in the not distant future. Best Regards Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I hadn't planned to stay at the Manukau Motor Lodge while travelling around NZ, but an unfourtunate bout of food poisoning forced me to stop my journey temporarily. My partner and I stopped at this hotel as an emergency only, and were thankfully accommodated by the staff. I arrived well before check-in time-without a booking, and the staff were gracious with me in my horrificly ill state. Even offered to call a doctor for me. :) They helped carry my bags to the room and were incredibly helpful. We were given a studio room on the second floor, which looks like it was recently renovated. The room was a bit cold for me (I'm from Australia, and am not used to the freezing NZ weather), but there was a small heater in the room. Also, it was probably too cold because I was ill. But the housekeeping staff were very helpful when my partner asked for several more blankets and were very obliging. The hotel is also very close to shops and places to eat. Even though we were only there one night, it was a pleasant stay. The room was large enough for two people to fit comfortably in, and it was a nice and quite motor lodge. Very clean and tidy. Comfortable bed - had a really good sleep. Overall, despite being sick, it was a really good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamManukau631, Receptionist at Manukau Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and kind words with us regarding your stay. We’re delighted to learn that you truly enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your high recommendation of our motel. We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We do look forward to being your preferred choice of accommodation when you next travel. Best Regards Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We booked a Spa studio unit for 1 night after reading previous reviews and because of proximity to the airport. We were greeted by Neil on arrival and he was very friendly and helpful - even asking if we needed a local area map and showing us the best way to get to town and back across the busy road. He also helped us out with a last minute booking for a friend for that night. The rooms were clean, fresh, comfortable and surprisingly quiet (didn't hear a thing when the door was shut) given the proximity of the busy road just out the front. The beds had crisp clean sheets on which made for a pleasant nights sleep and everything was spotless. I would happily book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Spa unit and an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emsmum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamManukau631, Receptionist at Manukau Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Hello,
Thank you very much for your candid review of your stay at our motel. We truly appreciate the kind words and the insights you've shared as to how to better improve your experience as we're always looking to better accommodate and anticipate our guest's needs/expectations. Our main priority is to be able to offer a well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. Thank you for your high recommendation of our motel. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and will look forward to your return, hopefully in the not distant future. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
0.9 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 5 in Manukau
121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grange Motor Lodge
Grange Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Manukau
214 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#14 of 23 in Mangere
299 reviews
5.2 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
0.6 mi away
ASURE Camelot Arms Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manukau Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manukau Motor Lodge

Address: 631 Great South Road | PO Box 76450, Manukau, Auckland 2104, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manukau Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our complex is ideally located being an easy walk to Westfield Shopping Centre and Manukau CBD. This centre includes SKYCITY cinema and restaurants. Motorway (State Highway 1) on and off ramps make for easy access to us and to and from the rest of Auckland. Auckland Airport is a 10 minute drive. Our complex includes, Studio, one and two bedroom units, Spa bath units, Swimming and spa pools and sauna. QUALMARK 4 stars rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manukau Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manukau Motor Lodge Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing