We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not that bad. :-)”
Review of Allenby Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Allenby Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I was due to attend a conference at this hotel so I read others comments. Hmmm do I really want to stay there?? Well, let me tell you, it's not that bad. The staff are very friendly. The rooms, yeah they are very dated, a new lick of paint and new furniture would just add so much to this property. After talking to the lady who arranged the hotel for us, she informed us the hotel had new owners and are in the process of updating. I wish them all the best with their future. The bed was comfortable. TV worked. Bathroom very clean. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Josephine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 120 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel last year for one night on the way home to Perth. I did notice that there were a few people complaining at the reception about something that had gone wrong for them. The reason given was that the company had new management. My stay at the hotel was okay, although the breakfast was basic, basic, basic. On the 18th November 2011 I stayed there again, I purchased a standard room with a cooked breakfast package. When I presented myself to the dining room at 8.25am I was greeted by a staff member who said that there was no cooked breakfast available. I said, oh okay and went to have a look at what was available for the continental breakfast. There were two loaves of bread, spaced out with plenty of crusts, a small bowl of tinned fruit, a couple of containers of cereal. There were no fresh baked goods (muffins)as advised so I decided to go somewhere else and I requested a refund. When I spoke to Prashida at reception she asked me if I had dined at their restaurant the night before to which I told her I had not. When I questioned this she said if I had she would have given me a refund but there was nothing she could do because they hadnt been paid by Wotif. I said that didnt really matter much to me, I had paid someone a week earlier. During the total conversation both Prashida and the other young woman working the reception continued to laugh and giggle until I finally asked them what was so amusing. During the time I was talking to them I noticed a couple of American people had been listening to my conversation. The american man said to them that this was not funny. The woman also added that it wasnt funny for them either the previous day when they had arrived at the AKL airport to find that the shuttle bus wasnt available to collect them. They said they had spent 20mins on an international cell phone to the hotel to arrive and find out that the booking they had made and paid for wasnt in Silveroaks system. I was very embarassed about the whole experience, I really did not care less about $19 but the point was that Prashida was not prepared to sign a copy of the breakfast refund stating that I could not have a cooked breakfast because they had no chef there. I was continually told that the only person who could or would do anything about a refund was the manager, who wasnt available. Prashida telephoned the manager who said, basically too bad, so sad. No refund, they hadnt been paid by Wotif. Prashida also added that they didnt have any money to pay me a refund. Anyhow, the reason I am writing this is so that other people know what sort of service I received at this hotel. I will certainly not be returning and will tell everyone I know not to stay there either.

Room Tip: Dont bother staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SharleneR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Only stay in this place if you are desperate and can't find anywhere else. I had the misfortune to spend a night here recently and it is nothing like the description of their amenities. The only air conditioning we had was a fan. The bathroom light didn't work and the light switches in the other part of the room was broken. We arrived at approx 9.05 on Friday 11th November 2011. We asked if we could get something to eat and were told that the restaurant had just closed and that they didn't offer 24 hour service any longer.( The bumph in the room states that the restaurant is open til 9.30p.m.) The man on the desk said that there was a takeway just down the road. He said breakfast started at 6 0'clock for continental breakfast and 7.00 for cooked.He said breakfast finished at 9.30. We went down the next morning at 15 past 9 and were told that the restaurant was closed. We told the person on reception that we were told that breakfast finished at 9.30 but she insisted that the restaurant was closed. We insisted that this was not the information that we had been given. She said she would ask the chef about breakfast and came back and said that we could have cooked breakfast if we so wished. We decided on continental. This consisted of cereal, tinned peaches or grapefruit, and cheap white bread. This was for a cost of 13 dollars.
The whole place is in need of a makeover as I don't think the decor had been changed in a long time. The curtains were faded and had several holes in them. The lift took forever to get up one floor. We were told that it was slow but my husband ( he has previously worked installing lifts) said that all it needed was a good service.
The only good thing in its favour is that it was clean and was not far from the airport ( this part of their info is true). This was supposed to be 4 star but I would not rate it at all, maybe at best a 1 star.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Santiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaiarii Tehani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Teva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Améthyste S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
0.9 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
95 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
298 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grange Motor Lodge
Grange Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Manukau
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
4.7 mi away
Naumi Auckland Airport
Naumi Auckland Airport
#8 of 23 in Mangere
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allenby Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allenby Park Hotel

Address: 477 Great South Road | Papatoetoe, Manukau, Auckland 2025, New Zealand (Formerly SilverOaks Inn Manukau)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range: $84 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Allenby Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allenby Park Hotel & Conference Centre is located in the heart of Manukau, just a short distance to Westfield Manukau and Botany Shopping centres, and 8 km to Auckland Airport. The hotel 68 rooms with a variety of room styles including Studio, Business, Executive and One Bedroom Apartments, all rooms have SKY TV, Wireless Internet, En-Suite with shower, Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Hotel offer seven different venues which are mindfully designed for Conferences, Meetings, Interviews, Team building activities, Training sessions and Family Functions/ Private Functions for up-to 150 delegates. Onsite Cafe, Bar & Restaurant and Free Parking for all hotel guests are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Allenby Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silveroaks Inn Manukau Hotel Manukau
Quality Inn Manukau
Manukau Quality Inn
Allenby Park Hotel Manukau, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing