We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average pub food”
Review of The Toby Jug

The Toby Jug
Ranked #33 of 60 Restaurants in Manukau
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: Thanks to it's location just 5 minutes from Auckland Airport, Post Office has a truly eclectic set of locals. Post Office is perfect for all occasions, but especially after work drinks and food. We have a brand new menu with exciting gastro home made food offerings and a huge selection of drinks, both on tap and by the bottle. We welcome you in!
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
190 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“average pub food”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Walked here from Heartland, the pub is in a nice spot and if you are after a drink it is perfect, unfortunately our meals were not the greatest, both ordered the two types of burgers on offer, and they were pretty average or below, so don't really think we would eat here again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    26
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just what we needed after an awful hotel exerience”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We walked here from out hotel after we were rather disappointed in our room to find a welcoming staff that turned our evening around. They have a wide selection of local and imported brews and the food was tasty, too! I definitely recommend the calamari for a starter.

It was my husband's birthday and they brought out a brownie with ice cream while the local performer sang happy birthday to him (along with some drunk patrons). It ended up being a low-key, but fun evening. Stop by if you're in the area waiting on a flight out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie_Layne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We came here to watch the league game as we were in Auckland for a trip. We decided to order dinner here and found the food reasonably priced and tasted good. Would have been nice if we could've heard the game as others were there to watch the game aswell but unfortunately we had to listen to music and watch a silent game.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Strange wee place...”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

....smack bang in the middle of a business park. The odour of fried food whacks you in the face as soon as you walk in, and deep fried delights feature heavily on the menu. I eventually went for a butter chicken instead, which (despite being served up with a lone desert spoon to eat it with) was surprisingly tasty and had obviously been made with some care. Others at my table weren't so impressed with their steaks.
Several menu items were unavailable, and a word of warning : the deserts are MASSIVE - my brownie was enough for two (or possibly three), and the shared platter would probably feed a professional rugby team for a week.
I suppose it would be a handy place for a drink if you wanted to leave your hotel, but you'd be better off staying there if you're after a meal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamakautoga, Niue
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“funky little bar- great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

What a great bar!! I loved everything about this place. The drink menu the food was amazing and the atmosphere was really relaxed.
Can't wait to visit again

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toby Jug also viewed

Mangere, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Manukau, Auckland Region
Mangere, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Toby Jug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing