We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of The Toby Jug

The Toby Jug
Ranked #34 of 69 Restaurants in Manukau
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Description: Thanks to it's location just 5 minutes from Auckland Airport, Post Office has a truly eclectic set of locals. Post Office is perfect for all occasions, but especially after work drinks and food. We have a brand new menu with exciting gastro home made food offerings and a huge selection of drinks, both on tap and by the bottle. We welcome you in!
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice, friendly pub with good pub food, had the fillet steak and hubby had the fishermans catch. Both were lovely!

1  Thank katz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 84 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

I come here a couple of times a year when I'm visiting NZ and staying near the airport. It's a nice little pub with good food and cold beer. Of all the opinions in the area it's one of the better options.

1  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetobyjug, Owner at The Toby Jug, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

thanks for posting a review.
We have made great amount of changes to the place in the last few months and focusing more on customer satisfaction and environment of the bar.
We would love to have you back at the pub when you visit New Zealand again.
cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Handy to airport. Close to our accommodation (JetPark Motel)
Rustic surroundings. Food was traditional pub food, but was very good.
My husband had the Rump steak with 2 eggs, chips and salad. Hearty meal, but the eggs were a bit overcooked.
I had the Beef Stout Pie with chips and salad. Absolutely delicious. Would certainly recommend it.
The 2 meals and an ale and cider cost us $55 which I thought was quite reasonable.
I would dine there again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SabrinaSabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetobyjug, Owner at The Toby Jug, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thanks for the feedback sabrina
I am glad to know you and your husband were happy with the meals.
In terms of service and environment we have made a lot of changes to give our customers a better service and create a better ambience for the place.
Please do visit next time you are in auckland and would love to get another feedback from you.
cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The outdoor area on a sunny day is great. The food is ok and the portion sizes are fair. Good value when using a voucher deal. The staff were friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Leigh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetobyjug, Owner at The Toby Jug, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

I understand it is a late response to your feedback but i would like to thank you nonetheless for posting a review .
We have made a lot of changes to the bar environment and have new exciting specials and promotions run all days.
We would love to have you back at the toby jug again and we are very hopeful that you will be pleased with the changes.
cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Reasonable prices I'd say. Pizzas are really nice. Our family tried all three meat pizzas, wedges and seafood baskets. We liked everything. Nothing great, just good size and tasty!
Definitely go if you can find a voucher online, or entertainment book.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CookieM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetobyjug, Owner at The Toby Jug, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thanks for your review.
We have had a change in the menu since you posted the review and have also added some new pizzas and new ingredients so i am sure you will not just find them GOOD. you will find them AWESOME.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Toby Jug also viewed

 

Been to The Toby Jug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing