We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oldie but a goodie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Marina Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Manukau B&B and Inns
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oldie but a goodie”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Sure it needs updating, but it is spotlessly clean. Fantastic location, quite easy access to ferry and restaurants are close by. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Units are very spacious. Will recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanieW5269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBMarinaMotel, Manager at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Stephanie,

Thank you for your review :), We are looking forward to upgrade facilities in 2014. Looking forward to seeing you again in Half Moon Bay!

Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    15
    12
    23
See reviews for
21
29
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed in 2 bedroom unit ... "welcome to the eighties"! but spacious, clean and well equipped kitchen (full sized stove). Bathroom dark and unventilated, but shower good. (Although please put some bleach on the floor tiles in the shower/loo area .. bit black). Quiet location, good supermarket and cafes. Nice to walk to bucklands beach on the boardwork. Had a wee peep at one of the renovated units and looks great .. more of the same please! Anderson was very helpful at time of booking/checking in/ etc etc. We were concerned about the lack of smoke alarms in our unit .... surely this would be a safety requirement?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank OutandAboutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location for accommodation when visiting the eastern suburbs. Lovely area with good supermarket down the road. We stayed in a two bedroom unit - plenty of space but very shabby and needs a lot of work to bring up to spec. Beds very uncomfortable, ripped curtains, very noisy fridge, generally scruffy and felt like nothing had been done since it was built. Would stay again if this redecorating happened as the location is great. Good trampoline for the kids.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mlissbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBMarinaMotel, Manager at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for writing review for us. We have renovated several One Bedroom Unit in the year 2013, and planing to renovate our Two Bedroom Unit between 2014-2015. Of course we will get new fridge for the units in 2014.

Thank you again for staying with us, and looking forward to seeing you in the near future:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great location for us, nice people to deal with,excellent bed, no sore backs,plenty of room
Morning walk was very nice and peaceful with lots to view around the area.
Would we recommend? ..Definitely
Would we stay again.?..........yes
Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBMarinaMotel, Manager at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you Craig!
We would love to see you again.

Anderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here before collecting our hire car.

Comfortable room, and comfortable bed. Good service. Had to request a hair dryer but came promptly once we asked.

Close to ferry for Auckland centre and Waiheke island, but only do the latter if you have a car. There is no transport at the terminal and a long walk to get to public transport / restaurant. If you don't have a car it's best to go from Auckland centre. Different terminal and transport available.

The let down was the wifi Internet access. Had to pay for it and it was frustratingly poor, at a time we really needed it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Serefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBMarinaMotel, Manager at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us.

We realised internet access if more and more important for our guest. we are looking forward to have a better Internet access facility for our guest in 2014.

Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent location, very spacious, the service is excellent, the bed and pillows very comfortable we had stopped using motels 12 years ago due to the beds being uncomfortable and generally unkempt we have respect for the manager and his team.
The location is quiet, next to the sea nice cafes great service with the ferries to downtown Auckland and Island trips also

Furnishings in good order really says alot to the visitor we will recommend this motel to our friends and others.
My husband and I plan to go again inviting other family members to join us, came home calm and refreshed.

Room Tip: What ever your budget you are sure to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 3sunpetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBMarinaMotel, Manager at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hello Wendy & Neville

We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've been back to the HMB Marina Motel a couple of times now for long stays of a couple of weeks. Some of the rooms are older and not new or modern. However you get plenty of space in the bigger units and that counts for a lot when you need somewhere to stay for longer than a couple of nights. We find that the location is brilliant, right on the marina, close to some shops, the ferry and very quiet. We'd go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SherylNx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBMarinaMotel, Manager at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
6.2 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.0 mi away
Botany Motor Inn
Botany Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Botany Downs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Manukau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Marina Motel

Property: Half Moon Bay Marina Motel
Address: 1 Pegasus Place | Half Moon Bay, Manukau 2012, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Marina Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Moon Bay Marina Motel was established in the 1970s. Over the past few years, the motel has undergone numerous renovations while keeping its original classic theme. We are situated within a short walking distance from the ferry terminal and a supermarket which makes it convenient for our guests. Our dedicated staff will ensure quality service is provided and maintained so our guests can be assured of a comfortable stay here in the Half Moon Bay Marina Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Half Moon Bay Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Bay Marina Motel Manukau, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing