We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never stay there again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Half Moon Bay Marina Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Manukau B&B and Inns
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would never stay there again.”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

no bedside table or alarm clock
iron burn on carpet
hole in the dining room chair
the unit was dirty and needed cleaning and dusting
dirty windows inside and out including lots of dirty finger prints
a shower that id not work acceptably
tiles falling off the window sills
mouldy shower curtain
the walls in the shower were flaking off - they are rotting on the inside
dirty floors - showed the man at reception- the floor was black when I wiped it and showed your receptionist - my feet turned black when I alked on the floors!
the painting just a mess with paint splashed on lots of things
This is not up to an acceptable standard for anyone being able to occupy this unit 4

Room Tip: Dated room and dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ave897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBMarinaMotel, General Manager at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your time to make a comment about your experience at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel.

We appreciate the attention you have given to our motel unit. As unit 4 is one of our most occupied unit, reservations are confirmed until early April, very few guests so far have gone to the depth you have regarding the details of the unit. I understand that there are some details you are not entirely happy with and I will pay special attention to those you have mentioned to be considered during our renovation project this year.

As your comments were made during check out I would believe that your sole motive was to give suggestions to our motel so that we can improve to better accommodate special category guests such as yourself.

Thank you once again for your time and effort; please keep in touch with further suggestions and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    14
    12
    23
See reviews for
21
29
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On arrival for a 2 night stay we were shown a very shabby room, this was quickly rejected and eventually we were given a modernised room.
This room too had faults but as the manager would not refund our booking we had to take it.
I would avoid this motel if another is available, the location is good but otherwise it is very poor.

Room Tip: Go for a modernised room and make sure it is confirmed in writing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loftylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manukau hotels

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed one night in a 2 bedroom unit...5 adults..... great location, but this Motel needs some maintainence and a good spruce up...It was very nice to have some cookies available to have with a coffee when we arrived... something that you do not always get at a Motel. The Parking is very good and the location is extremely handy to the Waiheke Ferry which is the reason for our stay. There is a small supermarket 3 or 4 minutes walk away from the motel together with a Takeaway shop. With some tidying up and modernizing I feel this could be a very desirable Motel to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jul88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBMarinaMotel, Manager at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us! Half Moon Bay Marina Motel was built in 1970s, which means the style could be a bit old. However we are working hard to maintain the original style.

In the next few years, we are going to upgrade the facilities and try to modernise the motel under the new management team. Some unit are going to be renovated this year! Please come to visit us if you are coming to Auckland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only had 1 night here whilst moving house and that really is all you would want to stay here for.We stayed in a studio apartment which had a small and I mean small double bed and a single. We had to use both as the double was just too small for us both to be comfortable. There was the bare minimum of linen and the carpets were stained.
The small kitchen area was adequate for making a drink. The bathroom had an archaic shower over a small tub and was very low, water was hot and the pressure OK. The toilet had a seat which wouldn't stay up.
The Marina location is very pretty with ferries to Auckland. There are cafes, restaurants and a supermarket as well as a gym pharmacy post office and doctors.Lovely walks around the beaches.
This motel was built in the 1970s and quite frankly looks it. We paid $125 for 1 night and thought this was overpriced.

Room Tip: Look at it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwichickAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBMarinaMotel, Manager at Half Moon Bay Marina Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We have upgraded the double bed to a queen-sized bed. We are looking forward to upgrade our studios with a king sized bed in the future, which may give our guest more space in the unit. :)

If there are any thing we can do to make you or other guests stay better, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
6.2 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.0 mi away
Botany Motor Inn
Botany Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Botany Downs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Manukau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bucklands Beach Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Bay Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Bay Marina Motel

Property: Half Moon Bay Marina Motel
Address: 1 Pegasus Place | Half Moon Bay, Manukau 2012, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Bay Marina Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Half Moon Bay Marina Motel was established in the 1970s. Over the past few years, the motel has undergone numerous renovations while keeping its original classic theme. We are situated within a short walking distance from the ferry terminal and a supermarket which makes it convenient for our guests. Our dedicated staff will ensure quality service is provided and maintained so our guests can be assured of a comfortable stay here in the Half Moon Bay Marina Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Half Moon Bay Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Bay Marina Motel Manukau, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing