We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained motel 20 minutes to Auckland”
Review of Grange Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well maintained motel 20 minutes to Auckland”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Warm cup cakes as a welcome, plenty of information by your hosts. For us it was a perfect start.

Our bungalow was nice and cozy and we had a terrasse full of sunlight.

Mattresses were a bit to soft for us but we had a good nights sleep anyway.

Supermarket is in walking distance(15 minutes) at least for us. Besides a lot of chinese and indian restaurant within 5 minutes driving there are not much food options around. Therefore we used the kitchen and the small oven and everything worked well.

Thanks for giving us a perfect start for our New Zealand tour.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for your very favourable comments on our motel.
We very much enjoyed meeting you and are glad you had time to visit our local community. Apart from the many Indian, Chinese and Vietnamese restaurants within walking distance we also have the fabulous midnight markets every Friday night in our local shopping centre. With over 60 food outlets, over 100 specialty stalls and live entertainment these are a must see. We hope that the rest of your time in New Zealand was memorable and that t might just induce you to return for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    35
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
75
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The chalets were lovely and everything we needed was available. The staff were amazingly friendly, and the hot muffins on arrival was a nice touch (and perfect timing as it was afternoon tea time for the kids, and we were tired with no food purchased by that stage). Everything was clean and tidy. Our only complaint was the road noise; it was very loud from all areas of the chalet. We slept through most of it, but on occasion the kids were woken by a loud car or truck.

Room Tip: Try to get a chalet further away from the road if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
We loved meeting you and your family. Your children were a credit to you and our dog Mack loved them. We trust that your last minute hassles with your airline were sorted out and that you got away on time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower North Island
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Thank you for your warm hospitality, not only for my husband & I but also when our family arrived from overseas. You were so willing to go the extra mile & we really appreciated your thoughtfulness. Having stayed in a studio unit for the 2 of us as well as a 2 bedroom family unit we lacked nothing & were very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnholm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to publish a review on our property.
We really enjoyed meeting you and your family and were very proud to be able to play a small part in your reunion. Having recently had family members head off overseas we know how precious these family moments are.
Mack, our dog particularly enjoyed meeting you and your family and indeed was a little lost for some time after you left. We think you must have spoilt him!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of November and we were not disappointed.
Soon after we had booked I received an email from Pat & Bernie with link to local attractions.

We booked a two bedroom lodge and it was perfect and had lots of useful things, like a clothes horse to dry clothes, an electrical extension lead and post it notes.

Pat and Bernie have thought of everything and it was a nice touch to have a TV guide and fresh milk in the fridge and of corse the lovely muffins! The kitchen was well appointed with two hobs, a microwave, fridge and, much to my delight there was ground coffee and a cafietierre (plunger/french press)!

Pat and Bernie were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed here with our young son for a few days, after arriving from the UK, so we were a bit jet lagged. Our lodge was very comfortable so we were able to relax and acclimatise and enjoy our time in Auckland.

Thank you Pat and Bernie for such great hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience at our motel and especially for your very kind comments.
We were delighted you were able to spend a bit of time in and around Auckland. It is an amazing city with surprises around every corner.
We hope you have taken fond memories of New Zealand back home with you and that maybe you might just come this way again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was our first stop over on a tour around the North Island with three of our grandchildren following our daughter's wedding in Dunedin on the South Island.
Arriving later than intended we were met by Bernie who had a plate of freshly baked muffins for us which the children accepted with great gusto. After showing us to our clean and well maintained accommodation (not forgetting Teddy on the bed!) and making us feel at home Bernie departed, shortly afterwards Pat knocked the door and introduced himself to us and by the time he had left we both agreed it was like staying at a family member's home.
It certainly set the bar at a high level for all the other places we stayed at on our tour around, in fact we liked our stay so much we booked in for our final night before flying back to the South Island.
All our other stop overs were nice in their own way but none came close to the excellent friendly atmosphere created by Bernie, Pat and not forgetting Max the dog. Love to you all!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrenvillePhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for your lovely comments. We so much enjoyed meeting you and your lovely grandchildren. Mack particularly relished all the attention he got from the children. We trust you had an uneventful and pleasant trip back home and hope that our paths may cross again when you visit family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Pat and Bernie are really good hosts. On our arrival, Bernie offered us some fresh muffins that she had baked that morning (and they were delicious). They also offered us a lot of guidance as to what to do in Auckland. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The breakfast was decent. Overall, a very pleasant experience. We will like to come back again.

Room Tip: The hotel seems to be in a quite neighborhood so I think any room would be fine. We had the corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatori_hanzo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. There is so much to see and do in Auckland we were glad to be able to give you some ideas to help you make the most of your limited time in this fantastic city.
It was a real pleasure meeting you and we hope to see you again at some stage if you are ever down this way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband, 4 year old, and I just left the Grange Lodge and we already miss it! We picked this place because of the great reviews and its proximity to the city (while still being away from the hustle and bustle of Auckland). We arrived late one evening due to several flight delays, but Pat kindly greeted us in the rain and got us settled in. Pat and Bernie were the most gracious of hosts - very hospitable and generous with information about the area (restaurants, local markets, activities, shopping). The room itself was very cozy and had everything you might need while away from home - comfy beds, kitchenette and dishware, washer/dryer, and unlimited wifi.

After staying there for a week, I can see why they've won so many awards and wish them much success in the future. We hope we can return to the Grange in the future for Bernie's yummy muffins, morning greetings from Mack the dog, and catching up with new friends. Thank you Pat, Bernie, Lucy, Mack, and Sunshine for making us feel at home during our travels!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie T, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
It was really wonderful getting to know you and to be part of the fantastic time you had whilst in New Zealand. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for your very generous comments. The shark model your son made is still in pride of place in our office and will always remind us of you. We hope you took back many happy memories of New Zealand and hope you will make it down here again at some time in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
90 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
4.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Motor Lodge

Property: Grange Motor Lodge
Address: 1 Grange Road, Papatoetoe, Auckland, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grange Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Motor Lodge Manukau, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing