We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Grange Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wow...I was so impressed with the hospitality here. We were tired and cold and thought we liked the look of the place from the outside...I rang and asked if there was a room for 3 and was told yes...so we drove on in. Then we met Pat and he said to me...come and have a look first..just to see if you like it.... there are so many grungy motels around...just make sure its what you want...and it was perfect....the muffins were a lovely surprise - Im not a muffin person but they were divine.
I will go back again and this time I will book in advance to make sure I get the same room...thanks a million Pat Bernie and dog whose name I forget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We enjoyed meeting you all and hope that your research project is coming along well. Mack the dog sends his best woof to you too. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 214 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

We only stayed the 1 night before flying out of Auckland but couldn't fault the place. Bernie (and the dog) gave us a very warm welcome, enhanced by muffins and we had an excellent if brief stay. The location is great for the airport, but also for outer Auckland and there is free wi-fi as well. Next time we're in that area we'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IPA_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and we are so glad you enjoyed the muffins. It's always nice to have something to snack on after a road trip. Here's hoping we see you again one day. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited while holidaying in New Zealand from Australia. This place is home from home. Nothing was too much trouble for the fabulous hosts - Bernie and Pat. They arranged all manner of things for us and even offered us books to read on our journey. Located south of Auckland, we found it convenient with easy parking. Rooms are very well equipped and are spotlessly clean and comfortable. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your great review. It was so lovely to meet you both. I hope you managed to find a book to read. Glad you appreciated our little "library". We would like to think that after reading, the "borrower" will pass it on to someone else. I hope you can make it back here sometime. You would be most welcome. All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for about four nights while in Auckland for a friend's wedding. The owners are fantastic, very friendly and helpful and the muffins on arrival were scrumptious . The rooms were comfortable and clean and the TV, DVD and kitchen facilities were good. The shower and toilet area was small, but tidy and quite adequate. With a rental car Grange Lodge was very convenient, with a car park outside each unit, but there was not a lot within close walking distance. I think there was a golf course next door. Reception has a large collection of (mostly fairly old) DVDs you can borrow.

My only negatives were that the motel reception area reeked of cigarette smoke (not really an issue as we didn't spend much time in there), and the lightbulbs seemed to have a habit of exploding. The light above the kitchen area went out with a flash and a crash and hot broken glass and lightbulb-parts fell onto the lino below, melting a small area. My husband went to tell the owners and was given a new lightbulb. He got the impression that this wasn't an isolated occurence, and inspection of the kitchen lino showed a number of other matching melt marks.

Despite these minor points it was a fantastic stay, thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for your very generous review. The photos you posted are fantastic too - thanks for that as well. We really appreciate the time you've put into such a detailed review and very much value your feedback. We note that you stayed with us last winter. Since then we have fully replaced what we discovered to be a faulty batch of light bulbs. We are puzzled that you mentioned a smoking issue in our office. We are a non-smoking motel and have been for over 10 years. The office doors are kept open with our Open Office policy and can only assume that a previous visitor or tradesman may have been smoking outside the door. It is such a long time ago we cannot recall. However, here's hoping that next time you're in Auckland you will stay with us. All the very best to you all in Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for two weeks touring the North Island of New Zealand. The Grange Lodge Motel was by far the best accommodation and service I've ever experienced. The owners Pat & Bernie are awesome and couldn't do enough for us. If I ever go back to the North Island I'll definitely be staying with these guys again. Thanks guys for an awesome stay!!!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour, see for yourself how great this place is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleyJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your generous review. It is so appreciated. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope you had a safe trip home. I hope you can make it back here again one day. In the meantime if you get "homesick" for us do check us out on YouTube under Grange Motor Lodge.
All the very best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a real gem!!! It has everything you need and more (free unlimited wi-fi, bathroom scales, teddy bear etc.) Spotlessly clean premises.
Pat and Bernie are the best hosts you could wish for. Genuinely warm, friendly and welcoming couple, who obviously take pride in everything they do. They simply could not be more helpful. No wonder they collected all those awards!
By the following morning, you’ll feel like you’re staying with friends. A word of warning, though: prepare a tissue if you read about their awards, very touching, but so very true!
Pat and Bernie really put themselves in travelers’ shoes, so to speak. And it’s often the little touches that make a huge difference in travelers’ experience, which Grange Lodge is full of (beautiful setting despite being close to motorway, Pat’s ‘welcome’ muffins, offer to catch up with laundry, regular visits by lovely Mack (the dog) whilst having our morning coffee etc.).
We truly wish we could stay longer. Many, many thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moni192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

How lovely of you to do this generous review. Thank you very much indeed. So enjoyed meeting you and I hope you can make it back again one day. You will always be most welcome. Mac sends his most winning woof!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our family of five stayed in their two-bedroom accommodation for one night, and we wished it could have been more! I booked this place because of the great reviews on this site, and I can honestly say that our stay actually exceeded my high expectations. Pat came out to the car to greet us on arrival (and a late arrival at that!) and, with a warm and helpful manner, gave us a thorough tour of our little apartment and the grounds of the motel. He helped me with laundry and saw that all of our needs were met. He answered every question in the most helpful way. The apartment itself was so clean and well stocked - complete with a french press and complimentary coffee and fresh milk in the fridge! - that we could have happily lived there for a very long time! Our family travels quite a bit together all over the US and abroad, and this place greatly impressed us. They clearly love what they do and take great pride in what they provide. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We are a couple with three young kids and the two bedroom apartment worked perfectly for us. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA5LuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your most generous review. It was so great to meet you all. We still have the delightful note written by the children on our wall. Here's hoping our paths may cross again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
95 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 5 in Manukau
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Howick Motor Lodge
Howick Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Howick
49 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#14 of 23 in Mangere
299 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Motor Lodge

Address: 1 Grange Road | Papatoetoe, Manukau, Auckland 2025, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range: $106 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. 2017 Qualmark 4 star grading. 2017 Silver Sustainable Tourism Business Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grange Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Motor Lodge Manukau, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing