We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Lodge Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Visited while holidaying in New Zealand from Australia. This place is home from home. Nothing was too much trouble for the fabulous hosts - Bernie and Pat. They arranged all manner of things for us and even offered us books to read on our journey. Located south of Auckland, we found it convenient with easy parking. Rooms are very well equipped and are spotlessly clean and comfortable. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your great review. It was so lovely to meet you both. I hope you managed to find a book to read. Glad you appreciated our little "library". We would like to think that after reading, the "borrower" will pass it on to someone else. I hope you can make it back here sometime. You would be most welcome. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    35
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
75
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for about four nights while in Auckland for a friend's wedding. The owners are fantastic, very friendly and helpful and the muffins on arrival were scrumptious . The rooms were comfortable and clean and the TV, DVD and kitchen facilities were good. The shower and toilet area was small, but tidy and quite adequate. With a rental car Grange Lodge was very convenient, with a car park outside each unit, but there was not a lot within close walking distance. I think there was a golf course next door. Reception has a large collection of (mostly fairly old) DVDs you can borrow.

My only negatives were that the motel reception area reeked of cigarette smoke (not really an issue as we didn't spend much time in there), and the lightbulbs seemed to have a habit of exploding. The light above the kitchen area went out with a flash and a crash and hot broken glass and lightbulb-parts fell onto the lino below, melting a small area. My husband went to tell the owners and was given a new lightbulb. He got the impression that this wasn't an isolated occurence, and inspection of the kitchen lino showed a number of other matching melt marks.

Despite these minor points it was a fantastic stay, thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your very generous review. The photos you posted are fantastic too - thanks for that as well. We really appreciate the time you've put into such a detailed review and very much value your feedback. We note that you stayed with us last winter. Since then we have fully replaced what we discovered to be a faulty batch of light bulbs. We are puzzled that you mentioned a smoking issue in our office. We are a non-smoking motel and have been for over 10 years. The office doors are kept open with our Open Office policy and can only assume that a previous visitor or tradesman may have been smoking outside the door. It is such a long time ago we cannot recall. However, here's hoping that next time you're in Auckland you will stay with us. All the very best to you all in Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed for two weeks touring the North Island of New Zealand. The Grange Lodge Motel was by far the best accommodation and service I've ever experienced. The owners Pat & Bernie are awesome and couldn't do enough for us. If I ever go back to the North Island I'll definitely be staying with these guys again. Thanks guys for an awesome stay!!!

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour, see for yourself how great this place is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyJ45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review. It is so appreciated. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope you had a safe trip home. I hope you can make it back here again one day. In the meantime if you get "homesick" for us do check us out on YouTube under Grange Motor Lodge.
All the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a real gem!!! It has everything you need and more (free unlimited wi-fi, bathroom scales, teddy bear etc.) Spotlessly clean premises.
Pat and Bernie are the best hosts you could wish for. Genuinely warm, friendly and welcoming couple, who obviously take pride in everything they do. They simply could not be more helpful. No wonder they collected all those awards!
By the following morning, you’ll feel like you’re staying with friends. A word of warning, though: prepare a tissue if you read about their awards, very touching, but so very true!
Pat and Bernie really put themselves in travelers’ shoes, so to speak. And it’s often the little touches that make a huge difference in travelers’ experience, which Grange Lodge is full of (beautiful setting despite being close to motorway, Pat’s ‘welcome’ muffins, offer to catch up with laundry, regular visits by lovely Mack (the dog) whilst having our morning coffee etc.).
We truly wish we could stay longer. Many, many thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moni192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
How lovely of you to do this generous review. Thank you very much indeed. So enjoyed meeting you and I hope you can make it back again one day. You will always be most welcome. Mac sends his most winning woof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our family of five stayed in their two-bedroom accommodation for one night, and we wished it could have been more! I booked this place because of the great reviews on this site, and I can honestly say that our stay actually exceeded my high expectations. Pat came out to the car to greet us on arrival (and a late arrival at that!) and, with a warm and helpful manner, gave us a thorough tour of our little apartment and the grounds of the motel. He helped me with laundry and saw that all of our needs were met. He answered every question in the most helpful way. The apartment itself was so clean and well stocked - complete with a french press and complimentary coffee and fresh milk in the fridge! - that we could have happily lived there for a very long time! Our family travels quite a bit together all over the US and abroad, and this place greatly impressed us. They clearly love what they do and take great pride in what they provide. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We are a couple with three young kids and the two bedroom apartment worked perfectly for us. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA5LuvToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your most generous review. It was so great to meet you all. We still have the delightful note written by the children on our wall. Here's hoping our paths may cross again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

what a treat....we met Bernie and Pat, wonderful motel proprietors. They made our stay a pleasure and we would recommend this motel highly.
Our studio apartment was spacious and comfortable.
The warm muffins on arrival were a delicious treat and Bernie managed to loan me a computer since my tablet broke. They went out of their way to be helpful.
Even the two cats and dog were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review of us. It was a treat to have met you too! I hope next time you're over this way you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Grange on our first night in NZ and couldn't have had a better start to our trip. We arrived earlier than the check in time, but were graciously allowed in our room as it had been vacated early that morning. The warm muffins were an unexpected and much appreciated treat. The owners were lovely to talk to and we couldn't get enough of their dog "Mac". We had hoped to stay here on our last night in NZ, but unfortunately the hotel was already booked. (not a big surprise given it's popularity) The facilities are great and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Family unit had a lot of space for the 4 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling4some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was lovely to have met the 4 of you and I know that Mac really enjoyed meeting you too! I hope we see you all again one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
89 reviews
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
4.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Property: Grange Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Grange Road, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing