We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Outstanding motel, Outstanding Hosts"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grange Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Certificate of Excellence
hobart
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“"Outstanding motel, Outstanding Hosts"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

We stayed here for week in early Dec. because it was convenient, now we will stay here whenever we are in Auckland, what a find!!
Pat and Bernie are two of the nicest people you will find and go out of their way to assist you if it is humanly possible and the muffins were to die for!!
The establishment is spotlessly clean and well maintained and it is obvious they pride themselves on its appearance, the unit we had was the cleanest unit I have stayed in ever and the beds were so comfortable.
It is easy to find and close to the Airport and easy to get to the city from , so ticks all the boxes there. We didn"t even notice the traffic sounds given there is a major road nearby.
All in all a peaceful haven in a busy city, run by people who obviously care for what they do.
Do yourself a favour STAY HERE

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely comments which are most appreciated. We look forward to seeing you both again when next you're in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    35
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
81
76
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We recently stayed at the Grange Lodge Motel for 1 night after arriving into Auckland after 30 hrs of travelling. Nice spacious and clean unit. Bernie and Pat were very friendly, wouldn't say the local town is worth a visit but it was handy as its so close to the airport - we'll stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - it is most appreciated. You'll be interested to know that in 2012 our local township, Papatoetoe is celebrating it's 150th anniversary and there will be lots to do and see over the course of the year. It would be lovely to welcome you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We took a 12 day holiday in New Zealand November 2011 and stayed at this motel for a total of 7 nights at the beginning and end of our holiday. We booked this motel based on past reviews. I must say we totally agreed with all the past comments - the hosts Bernie and Pat were extremely friendly and helpful. The motel was just like home and kept extremely clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone, many thanks to Bernie and Pat, perfect Kiwi!!

Room Tip: Units away from the main road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 410Kim1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
How nice of you to take the time to review us. Thank you very much for your comments. We are extremely lucky in our staff who take great personal pride in the work they do. Thank you again on their behalf and we look forward to maybe welcoming you here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Arrived late pm after quantas had decided to separate us from our luggage. Berne was excellent. What a great introduction to nz. Easy to get to from airport, 10 mins, easy to main motorway, 2/3mins. Room very good and great value for money. Great food up the road on beanies recommendation. Will definitely use again? Thanks Berne. Mike and kerry

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
I'm glad the late arrival of your luggage didn't spoil the start of your holiday. I thought you coped very well indeed! Lovely of you to take the time to write a review on us. Thank you very much and here's hoping our paths will cross again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We have just returned from an amazing holiday in NZ and stayed for 15 nights at the Grange Lodge in Papatoetoe. Pat and Bernie are the perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome. When we left, we'd become goods friends and have promised to stay with them again when we return. The units (we stayed in 2 during our holiday) were spotless and spacious. We couldn't ask for anything else from Pat and Bernie - who made us feel right at home from the moment we met them. The daily advice and weather forecasts from Pat were excellent. Bernie's muffins are legendary(!) and the rooms are cleaned daily. The motel is well located for the main motorway - which gets you both around Auckland and to other parts of the North Island.

Nothing was too much trouble. Bernie would happily take in and fold our washing and Pat even ran us to the local arena on our first night to watch one of the World Cup rugby matches.

I can't recommend this motel highly enough and both Pat and Bernie are a credit to the NZ Tourism Industry.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinPell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrangeLodge, Owner at Grange Lodge Motel, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
It was such a joy to have met you all while you were here. Thank you so much for such a wonderful review on us and I hope you can make it over here again one day. You amazed us each day with the tales of your adventures from the day before and how everything was "just the best". Such a pleasure to host you and New Zealand is certainly quieter without you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Bernie and Pat gave us a lovely warm welcome (including muffins) after our long drive down the west coast. The unit was spotless, the beds made up with soft cotton sheets, and plenty of fluffy towels for the excellent shower. They gave us good advice on local restaurants and supermarket and even lent us an umberella in case we were caught in the rain. We didn't have time to borrow a DVD as we were on an early flight in the morning. Highly recommended. A quiet, comfortable stay, good value and convenient for the airport. Thank you!

Room Tip: Unit seven has a cute, friendly bear in the bedroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipawa Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Big, huge thank you to Bernie and Pat and Mac the Lab.
Your hospitality was absolutely fantastic. This is the first motel we have stayed in where we were greeted with a smile, first names and nice warm muffins. The room was clean, cosy and the beds comfortable. The location of the lodge suited us and we were able to spend alot of time with our mokos. Also the lodge was nice and spread out and it felt like we were at home and your neighbours weren't on your back door step like most motels where everything including is tight. Highly recommend this Lodge to all!!!

Room Tip: Room 6 has a nice, private and sunny courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor Auckland Airport Motor Lodge
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Property: Grange Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Grange Road, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing