We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable but location is inconvenient except to/from airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grange Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable but location is inconvenient except to/from airport”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I would recommend this motel to anyone wanting reasonable accommodation near the airport. Otherwise, based solely on location, I'd recommend getting closer to more attractions, e.g. downtown Auckland. Also, unless you want solely Indian and Chinese food in nearby restaurants, this is not the place to stay for any significant period.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    36
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
81
76
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

We were made very welcome by Pat and enjoyed her home cooked muffins.
The motel is neatly laid out and our room was clean and comfortable.
The Grange Lodge was one of our favourite motels during our 4 week trip to North Island.
It is close to both Auckland city centre and airport.
Sadly we only spent 1 night here before returning to the UK.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Plateau
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We spent our first night in NZ at conveniently located Grange Lodge. Owner Bernie was very friendly and helpful and welcomed us with fresh muffins. The unit was clean, spacious and comfortable. A splendid choice for anyone wanting to spend the first or last night in NZ near Auckland airport.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The Grange accommodations were roomy with speedy, personalized service and advice from Pat. The kitchenette was quite adequate for cooking, and the beds were comfy. It's about 15 min from Auckland Airport and 25 min from downtown. Parking is both free and easy. The Grange sits by a residential neighborhood and across from the golf course -- not the most exciting setting if you're looking for an urban buzz. We left the windows open at night (no screens, but that's common in NZ) which let in some nearby road noise at night and in the morning, which might impact sleeping a bit. Overall, we loved the Grange -- this was one of our favorites in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiffyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We have stayed in high end hotels, motels and bed-and-breakfasts in North America, Europe, South America, Asia - all over and have never felt more at home than we did at The Grange Lodge Motel. We arrived just before Christmas after a long drive from the coast and were warmly welcomed by Pat & Bernie Taylor (and Mack the dog) with fresh-baked Chocolate muffins (I want that recipe!) and a supply of over 200 DVDs for the kids to watch. Free WiFi, Free laundry, fluffy towels and Free French Press Coffee too. There was even a little Christmas Tree in the separate room for the kids. The living room was very large with a full sized kitchen table and fully equipped kitchen, hairdryer, laundry basket - anything you could possibly need! Christmas morning arrived with a lovely surprise gift basket from our hosts. We felt well taken care of. No inquiry was too small, no detail was overlooked. Great recommendations for family outings, restaurants (ask about the italian one with the rude name) and out of the way beaches. We had a two bedroom apartment at such a reasonable price. It was three times that much in Melbourne or Sydney. The bathrooms are nicely updated and ours had a full tub. Outside veranda and picnic table too. Loads of room. Easy access to the airport, wonderful parks, points of interest and the City Center is less than half an hour away. Pat & Bernie even invited us to a family BarBQ and it was one of the highlights of our trip - meeting lots of locals and getting to know more about the New Zealand lifestyle. When we come back - this will be our first stop! A+++

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracylanpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stay here every Christmas while visiting family in Auckland. With two young children, Christmas has the potential to be an incredibly stressful time, but Pat and Bernie go out of their way to make us feel so comfortable. Bernie has even brought my washing in for me when we arrived home late one evening. It was all folded neatly and placed on our table! Every Boxing Day, we are invited to their annual BBQ that they put on every year for their guests. It is an affair not to be missed!
I cannot recommend this motel highly enough. It is very affordable, particularly for a family group but it is the personal touches (muffins, teddy bear, Christmas basket from Santa) that make the Grange shine above anywhere else we have stayed in New Zealand.
Alot of other motels could do well to emulate what Pat and Bernie do - but to us and many others by the looks of the other reviews - there is only the one unique Grange Lodge Motel.
Thank you and we look forward to next year's visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We Stayed at the Grange in 2004 after relocating to NZ to work at Middlemore hospital.
I am so grateful that we were allocated this motel as I am convinced it made all the difference as to whether we settled or left NZ.
We also stayed here in Feb 2010 for 3 weeks while finding another rental
Pat & Bernie welcome you in to their family and I have never stayed anywhere like it .
They are outstanding hosts and will go beyond the call of duty to help.
We feel privileged now to call them friends

Go experience their hospitality you will not stay anywhere better in Auckland !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
3.9 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
2.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Manukau
84 reviews
4.8 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.9 mi away
Oakwood Manor
Oakwood Manor
#13 of 23 in Mangere
266 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge Motel

Property: Grange Lodge Motel
Address: 1 Grange Road, Manukau 2025, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In residential area opposite Grange Golf Course and adjacent to East Tamaki industrial area.5 Minutes drive to Middlemore Hospital 15 minutes to Airport, 20 minutes to CBD Auckland. AA Supreme Host of the Year 2004 and 2005. Runner up 2012 and 2008.Category winners at 2006, 2007 and 2008 Manukau Business Excellence Awards. Qualmark 4 star grading. Enviro Bronze Award ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Motel Manukau, Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing