We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laundry, kitchen, dishwasher, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Proximity Apartments Manukau
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was on the 16 floor in a two bedroomed apartment. Yes, it is compact but this is outweighed by my apartment having one enclosed balcony which had a dining table and chairs and other balconys which were open air but sheltered from draughts. In fact late night and early morning sitting on the balcony and pondering is a lovely thing to do - looking at the lights at night in particular. The location is great: close to the airport, close to buses and the train station and just across the road from Manukau Mall. Not to mention a less than ten minute walk to Rainbows End. I caught a bus into town which took about 40 minutes and dropped me at Newmarket and then back again from Newmarket. The bus service was reliable. There is also a bus from the airport which drops you at the front of Manukau Mall and the apartments are are just across the way at the back of the mall - look for the sign inside the mall which points to Amersham Way. Whenever I am working in Manuaku these apartments are my first pick. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Plus I had free wifi.

Room Tip: High floor away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couldyoutellme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 241 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

This place was clean, close to the airport and modern. It's not a place to stay for an entire holiday, but great as the 'night before' stop before a flight out, or similar. Beds were comfy and the apartment had everything we needed, laundry facilities, decent kitchenette, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

In its favour it is well located in Manukau City Centre; the staff are friendly and helpful; the rooms are pretty good with good facilities including washer / dryer, kitchenette, balconies; free wifi; the rate is good and parking is okay. Not so good is the tv reception, (a bit fuzzy); no tv or line of sight to the TV from the main bedroom; the shower stall is teeny tiny so larger people will be annoyed and no soap holders made it worse and lastly it's always a nuisance to leave the hotel car park only to have to return to drop off the key /garage door opener. Notwithstanding the downers, most of which are beyond control, it was a pleasant stay and I would return.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Over the weekend we stayed at the Proximity Apartments in Manukau City. Very convenient to the Manukau shopping centre and lots of choice of restaurants close by. Close to the airport and the motorway amkes for a convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: Unable to comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caerlaverock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Found the rooms a bit small but clean and functional, some noise from an adjacent a/c unit, lifts (elevator) sometimes had a mind of their own but overall would definitely stay again, central to Manukau and links to city and airport, very handy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogsbreath08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel proports to be a 5 star, it certainly is not. The rooms are small, basic and bare. We checked n after hours as pre arranged and we had twit for 20 minutes in the cold for the night manager to let us in. Convienient to the airport and not reasonable for the price, however the five star bit is just false advertising.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank t2cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest, thanks for your review. When a guest checks in after 10pm, the call bell goes to call centre who informs the inhouse manager, manager then comes down and issues the key to the guest. Normally this process shouldn't take more than 5-10 minutes, but I am unsure why it took 20 minutes in your case. Though please feel assured we have 24 hours in house manager for servicing our guest. Obviously the waiting period was unacceptable and hence the feedback of 3 star, but we wouldn't be offended by it. We are not self rated, but rated by qualmark as serviced apartment and not a hotel. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Proximity Manukau is located about 10 minutes drive from the Auckland airport. The Proximity is a "high rise" building, modern with underground gated parking. The elevators and doors are controlled by an NFC device that needs to be placed near the reader outside the parking lot and the reader inside the elevator to gain access. Our room was a one bedroom apt, with a glass windowed private balcony. The balcony has a small table and chair set. The property includes wifi, TV, kitchen (with range, oven, dishwasher, fridge / freezer etc, small dining table and double bed. The bathroom is tiled and includes a washer and dryer. This is a very comfortable apt flat for a short stay. They have larger apartments for those wanting longer more spacious stays. There is a shopping mall about two blocks (walking distance) from the building.
The staff is excellent, Jason at the front desk was helpful at every turn. The housekeeper took all of our dishes out of the sink where we left them and put them through the dishwasher while we were out....unexpected but a very welcome surprise. The fridge has milk for your coffee or tea (included), the drawers and cabinets has all the necessary pots/pans, dish ware, cutlery etc. There's an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, kettle...just about everything you need for a home away from home. We will stay here again and recommend it for any type of traveler.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TomCincinnatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Dear Guest, we would like to extend our special thanks for your efforts in bringing out our apartment amenities and service details. It's really great to have such responses. Responses such as these motivates us to perform better. Much appreciated. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
5.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Manukau
95 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grange Motor Lodge
Grange Motor Lodge
#3 of 5 in Manukau
215 reviews
1 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 5 in Manukau
124 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Apartments Manukau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Apartments Manukau

Address: Proximity Apartments 17 Amersham Way, Manukau, Auckland 2104, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Manukau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Manukau
Price Range: $121 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Proximity Apartments Manukau 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Proximity Apartments Manukau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Apartments Manukau Hotel Manukau
Proximity Apartments Manukau Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing