We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Proximity Apartments Manukau
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for business”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stay every month for work, normally 1 night at a time. The location is perfect, being 1 minute walk to Manukau Mall - within this area there are plenty of very good restaurants for both dinner and breakfast. The rooms are good, providing a clean environment and all the amenities you need and expect from a modern hotel / apartment complex. Staff are friendly without being in your face, and do all to ensure your stay is a happy one. I can thoroughly recommend Proximity Apartments as a great place to stay if you need clean and comfortable accommodation in the Manukau area of Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. Much appreciated.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    89
    47
    26
    16
See reviews for
65
64
12
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here in a studio apartment on our last night in NZ, before a late-morning flight out of Auckland, and found it to be a convenient one-nighter location. Not really a spot to choose for a city holiday break, though as it's not really in Auckland. However, we were impressed with the apartment and its facilities. It's all very clean and modern, and the kitchen/laundry equipment, with detergents and toiletries provided, and plenty of crockery and utensils for self-catering mean that you get a really well-equipped place to stay. As we had had a long drive to reach the apartments that day, we headed out to eat at Nando's, which is just along the road - not very inspiring at all, I'm afraid - but there are other dining options in the area if you have the time and inclination to explore more than we did. Yes, there is a bit of city noise at night (and we stayed mid-week - maybe weekends are noisier) but nothing out of the ordinary, and in fact we had a really comfortable night's sleep - the bed was large and comfortable, and the air-con and heating system can be adjusted to your own requirements.

Checking in was quick and efficient (we had booked online before we left the UK) and although the route from the main entrance around to the car park - and finding the relevant parking space - was a bit challenging, we had no real problems, and it's nice to know that your car is secure overnight for a reasonable charge. We had a small problem with operating the washing machine, and this was sorted out quickly for us by the reception staff, so generally the service was pretty good. As a clean efficient airport stopover, we'd definitely use these apartments again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a family holiday for 1 adult and 2 children; we thought a 2 bedroom apartment would suit our needs, with 1 child in the 2nd bedroom, and the other on a sofa bed in the lounge. When we arrived we discovered there was 1 bedroom for the adult, 1 single bed for 1 child, and there was no sofa bed or bedding for the other child in the lounge. It took over an hour to sort out as reception was unmanned (it was 6pm). Finally, when we got another apartment with a sofa bed in the lounge as well, we discovered the lounge was so tiny that there was no room for us to sit and watch TV; so it was an early night for everyone. Also disappointing was the poor service; only one person on reception; with 2 hungry tired kids we had to wait for over an hour to get another room. We spent a cold night; in spite of the air conditioning, there was inadequate warm bedding for us all. I travel overseas for work regularly and have never experienced such poor service from Reception; never have I had such a small 2 bedroom apartment in a hotel before. The pluses were the fabulous view and the super cleanliness; but what was supposed to be a a relaxing family holiday was spoiled. We won't be going back there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thanks for posting this review, review such as these help us to improve our services. In this case there was a replacement of sofa bed needed, temporarily we had placed a couch, but on realising our error to place you in that room for the night we tried our best to move you to another room at the earliest possible. Unfortunately this has caused your family huge inconvenience and we apologise for the same. Our reception is open all days from 7am to 10 pm except for Saturdays when we close at 6pm, but we do have 24 hours onsite manager. We have identified the requirement of another staff in the evening and have rectified it, during day time there are always 2-3 staff in the office reception and back office. Thanks for appreciating the cleanliness of the apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very nice clean room. Included free washing powder to use in the in-room machine which was handy.
Good security. Parking is a bit hit and miss. There is allocated parking but sometimes people are too rude to take notice, so you just have to park in someone else's spot. That's probably the biggest problem with this hotel.
It is close to bars, restaurants, cinemas etc. Felt quite safe walking around by myself too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzPoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

First of all let me say the apartment accommodated our request for a non-smoking room and one on a higher level. Further, we booked a one bedroom apartment and got a two bedroom apartment, so that was all good. Administration was a bit confused at check-in we were given a car park which when we went to park was already occupied, we went back to reception and got a second car park only to find it was also occupied...finally, on the third attempt, we got lucky and parked our car. We then went to our room only to discover it was smelly (to this day I still don't know the source of the smell), the stove and all surfaces were dirty and there was a film of dust over everything. As we only paid an average of $100 a night (approx), my husband and I decided we were just being precious, so rather than complain to mngmt, we put all the plates in the dishwasher and went across the road to the countdown to buy various cleaning products and a scented candle (for the smell) to make the place habitable for the next few nights. We checked the bed sheets and towels and thankfully they were clean. We also left the doors open hoping to get rid of the smell. These things made the place better but the things we couldn't fix were - the aircraft noise overhead (all hours day and night - trust me, it makes it VERY hard to sleep, even with all doors and windows closed) and the building site next door (think jack hammers and reversing trucks all day EVERY day, incl sat and Sunday). Do yourself a favour and DON'T stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustraliaCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Proximity Apartments Manukau, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We apologise for the inconvenience you had to face with the car park, due to some guests not parking in the allocated car space you were inconvenienced. We have enforced strict penalties on unauthorised parking.
No matter what price you have paid for your stay, if you would bring out any issues in the apartment at any time during your stay we would quickly attend and rectify it. We have put in place specific checks to ensure all apartments are neat and clean before they are issued to guest. Our apartments have strict rules on no smoking ,but some guests don’t follow the rules unfortunately which leaves some odour in the room which can be completely removed only after days of treatment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manukau hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Checked into a 2 bedroom apartment with my 2 daughters as a treat. Close to the mall, cinema, restaurants & bar. Bedrooms are clean and tidy. In the lounge the couch was very hard, uncomfortable. Good views from our balcony. Dining area was dusty & had cobwebs on the corners. Had washing machine & dryer which was great! Kitchen area had everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy_V4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Apartment was very clean and well equiped, felt very safe there, excellent security. Good location, shopping mall across the road and some good local bars and resturants, short drive from airport and good hub for traveling to different places in NZ.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb3274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manukau
0.3 mi away
Manukau Motor Lodge
Manukau Motor Lodge
#2 of 6 in Manukau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
5.4 mi away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Grange Lodge Motel
Grange Lodge Motel
#3 of 6 in Manukau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allenby Park Hotel
Allenby Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Manukau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
5.3 mi away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proximity Apartments Manukau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proximity Apartments Manukau

Property: Proximity Apartments Manukau
Address: Proximity Apartments 17 Amersham Way, Manukau 2104, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Manukau
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Manukau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Proximity Apartments Manukau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Proximity Apartments Manukau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Proximity Apartments Manukau Hotel Manukau
Proximity Apartments Manukau Auckland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing