We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just disappointing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaitaia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wagener Holiday Park
Reviewed January 1, 2014

While staff in the office was nice and supportive, they didn't manage to provide us with a proper powered site for our motorhome, though we made reservation 2 months in advance. They squeezed us in between two permanent campers, so that we hardly could open the doors. Even beyond our experience, the place is not recommendable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Wagener Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

It's not just place what makes your vacation great - it's about the people you meet. Loved our camp neighbours and the staff. Thank you Veronica!
Location is fabulous. If you have a tent you can always find a great quiet spot up or down the hill, by the trees or out in the open. Kitchen is ok. It's small but it was never really busy. They even have a spa and a pool.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavelN297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wagener is located in a great spot, and you can go swimming right by the camp.
It has a nice swimming pool also, and plenty of tent sites.

We went in early March so it wasn't too busy but I can imagine it can get pretty packed in peak season.
Could do with a few more toilets and you do have to pay $1 for a hot shower, but aside from that I'd recommend this campground to anyone who is up that way and doesn't want to stay at a DOC site.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Terrific campsite for families or campervans looking for a base in the far north. Friendly and well organised campsite, with kayaks, sandboards, bikes, etc available for hire, a small but popular pool, and a great range of tent and campsites from coastal to shaded to sundrenched. Pizza oven! Bbq! Beach! Beach nearby is reasonably good, and if you've got access to any kind of boat, you'll have an awesome experience out around the heads.

The bad? Facilities are clean and functional, but not *anywhere* near big enough for a campsite of this size. Not enough showers, not enough kitchen.

I'd recommend it for someone looking for a "time out" holiday, or international tourists wanting a base for a day or two to explore the top of the North.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We camped for a couple of days ,6 adults, 2 11 yr olds,a 2 yr and 14 month old. The surroundings are great with plenty to do, didn't feel like you were in tent city. Swimming pool to use at a small charge. I found the staff friendly. The reason I am giving average rating is because the facilities were way under what they need to be for a large campground. The kitchen is tiny with one microwve and kettle, 2 toasters and one gas elemnt cooker which had 3 working. Teens were using the power point for the kettle to charge their phones and look at their tablets right on tea time. Their was 1 barbeque to use. A reasonable amount of sinks to do dishes in. There were 3 showers and toilets in male and female blocks and 3 for family use. One morning the showers and toilets were closed for at least 2 hrs for cleaning from 9am,I gave up waiting in the end. The grounds have recycling bins, unfortunately many lazy campers throw everything in without sorting. Please Wagoners increase your facilities cos I really want to give more stars.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
1.9 mi away
Pukenui Holiday Park
Pukenui Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Pukenui
30 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pukenui Lodge Motel
Pukenui Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Pukenui
53 reviews
16.8 mi away
Te Kao Lodge
Te Kao Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cape Reinga
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park
Whatuwhiwhi TOP 10 Holiday Park
#2 of 5 in Karikari Peninsula
87 reviews
21.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
24.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wagener Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wagener Holiday Park

Address: 214 Houhora Heads Road | Houhora Heads, Kaitaia 0484, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kaitaia
Price Range: $11 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wagener Holiday Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed as number 3 of NZ’s top classic campgrounds by the NZ Herald, Wagener Holiday Park doesn’t pretend to be an expensive resort but provides many of the facilities you’d expect of one. Located on the Houhora Harbour waterfront, the camp is nestled in a sheltered spot, has great views and is next to the beautiful Historic Wagener/Subritzky homestead & park. Some basic budget cabins are available but most people have their own tent or motorhome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wagener Holiday Park Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing