We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Accomodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loredo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loredo Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Certificate of Excellence
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nothing wrong with the motel clean and tidy and fairly priced, could do with a bit of updating(but so could all of Kaitaia) owner was very nice. It's also a pickup point for the Harrisons Cape Runner which is why we stayed here. would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cozza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
31
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here in August 13. It's the first time that I've stayed in Kaitaia. I usually stay further out. I was pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room and location to Kaitaia (5/10 min walk).
Would def stay again if needs be.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noodles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

In the dismal collection of 1970s retro (and not in a good way) that is the Kaitaia accommodation choice, the Loredo is pretty good. They have made a good job of updating the decor, the bed and bathroom was good and the welcome is warm. Nice big grassy lawn out front. Not central but an Ok walk into town and there is a supermarket a couple of blocks in the other direction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yhinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a fantastic stay here for 2 nights and would stay again no worries. Caught the Harrison's tour bus to the cape and down 90 mile beach. Well worth the trip. Thankyou Loredo you are the best. And breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 66Shona66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here overnight for business.
Very nice unit, comfy bed, nice bathroom.
Middle of winter and the room was warm enough to not need a heater on.
Very much enjoyed my stay here i will be back, thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubbies35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
191 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

we ran the fan heater for ages to try snd dry the unit out. Kaitaia does have a moist climate and the room felt a bit damp. decor is dated but the unit was clean. Reception was friendly. The star rating of 3+ should be reviewed downwards please. Its an average facility. We paid 120 for a unit with just 2 adults not sure why our tarrif was higher than those on this site. it off peak and not school holidays either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The motel itself is quite basic with a double bed, kitchen facilities and bathroom. It is a short drive to the city centre, about 1km away.

I stayed for three days and on the first night it was very windy which made it difficult to sleep. Somehow the door between the bathroom and bedroom rattled in the wind even though it was an internal door and all windows and external doors were closed. This also was a bit annoying.

The free Wi-Fi was a bonus and was very good.

Overall I had a good experience. I have heard that the Loredo is one of the better motels in Kaitaia and this is why I had decided to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaitaia hotels
18.4 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.9 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 11 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 11 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orana Motor Inn
Orana Motor Inn
#3 of 11 in Kaitaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loredo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loredo Motel

Property: Loredo Motel
Address: 25 North Road, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Loredo Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Loredo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kaitaia
Loredo Motel Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing