We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carrington Estate
Nearby Hotels
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Lodge Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
$69
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangonui Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
70
46
30
7
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
46
30
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courselodge roomsnew zealandnearby winerytop classmatai bayfantastic viewsstaff were excellenttennis courtslimited menupro shopresort restaurantbeautiful locationthe wait staffopen firedinner menunew chef
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 164 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Spent a day and night to play golf and relax. We had the golf course to ourselves. Bring allot of golf balls. After finishing the front 9 we road the cart up to their vineyard which overlooks the bay and had lunch and some wine. Played much better the second 9. Every hole is worth a picture. After golf we rode the cart to Karikari beach which took about 15 minutes, thought we were lost. Probably one of the prettiest beaches I have been on. The best part there were only 2 other people on it. We had dinner at the resort which was ok but not great and the room smelled of smoke from the fireplace.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmelgyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Villa was exceptionally clean, had a great view and was incredibly peaceful – perfect for unwinding. The drive in is a little too ‘kiwi’ for my taste and almost put us off but once you’re at the villa it’s a great get-away. Colonial styling is nice but a bit dated with terracotta tiles and 90's plastic bathroom fittings but its much nicer than your standard holiday home and you’re in the middle of nowhere so it doesn’t really matter (but don’t expect luxury). Comfy bed, lovely clean white linen, robes & slippers and no noise from adjoining villas. Also great to have an internal access garage and breakfast outside at the winery was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polloRemuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Mixed reviews and the distance to the resort sowed some doubts about our choice of Carrington Resort. These were blown away on our arrival. The receptionists were helpful and cheerful and the views on our approach to our lodge room along decked verandahs were stunning. Our room was tasteful and spacious with loads of storage space and we found it to be clean. Further hanging space, storage and an additional sink were to be found beside the bathroom. Luxury bathrobes were provided. The bathroom is fine but the plastic moulded bath/shower is awkward. Toiletries were not replaced when they ran out even after requested. Cookies and milk were also missing but the cheery chef was happy to provide these.
Speaking of the chef - the menu may not belong but what we sampled was excellent. This was the scallops and the rack of lamb.
We also enjoyed a light lunch at the winery again with stunning, uninterrupted, country/sea views from the top of a hill.
From our room we looked over the golf course and a spit of land of white silica sand and lush vegetation. We passed an idyllic hour reading on the verandah. It is possible that this sense of peace could be eroded at busy times as the verandahs are communal access to most rooms.
As for the television - so it was not flat screen - but we don't recall turning it on.
As this was definitely a quiet period staff were few and Manu seemed to be a man for all occasions. He proved to be a knowledgeable sommelier/ barman with a way with cocktails, head waiter and meeter and greeter in chief. He seemed to move between locations and jobs with ease.
The resort is convenient for the Northland attraction of the Ninety Mile Beach being thirty minutes from where all the coaches leave. We would love to come back here for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed for one night but booked for three. It was not what we were lead to believe upon making our reservation so we found alternative accommodation for our remaining nights.

We didn't think this hotel was worthy of 5 stars as the bathroom was not clean and rubbish was left in the bin. The tv and DVD player was the old style to which you would expect something better and the remote was faulty. Grounds also needed attention. It's very far to the nearest shops too.

The rates are far too over priced for what you get. We would not go back.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenzjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Spectacularly beautiful site on a hill overlooking miles of golf courses, vineyards, forests, lakes, sand dunes, and ocean. We had planned to use it as a base to tour the Northland, but on arriving and seeing how beautiful, and how remote, it is, we quickly abandoned any thought of leaving the premises until time to check-out.

This small luxury lodge has large comfortable rooms, a good restaurant, and a nice pool. Quiet and elegant, in an "old-money" kind of way. You are encouraged to take a golf cart up to the winery for breakfast or a casual lunch or supper, or down over the hills to the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews