We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa was exceptionally clean, had great view & was so peaceful - a great get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Carrington Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Remuera
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Villa was exceptionally clean, had great view & was so peaceful - a great get away”
Reviewed April 10, 2010

Villa was exceptionally clean, had a great view and was incredibly peaceful – perfect for unwinding. The drive in is a little too ‘kiwi’ for my taste and almost put us off but once you’re at the villa it’s a great get-away. Colonial styling is nice but a bit dated with terracotta tiles and 90's plastic bathroom fittings but its much nicer than your standard holiday home and you’re in the middle of nowhere so it doesn’t really matter (but don’t expect luxury). Comfy bed, lovely clean white linen, robes & slippers and no noise from adjoining villas. Also great to have an internal access garage and breakfast outside at the winery was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polloRemuera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    36
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
78
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Mixed reviews and the distance to the resort sowed some doubts about our choice of Carrington Resort. These were blown away on our arrival. The receptionists were helpful and cheerful and the views on our approach to our lodge room along decked verandahs were stunning. Our room was tasteful and spacious with loads of storage space and we found it to be clean. Further hanging space, storage and an additional sink were to be found beside the bathroom. Luxury bathrobes were provided. The bathroom is fine but the plastic moulded bath/shower is awkward. Toiletries were not replaced when they ran out even after requested. Cookies and milk were also missing but the cheery chef was happy to provide these.
Speaking of the chef - the menu may not belong but what we sampled was excellent. This was the scallops and the rack of lamb.
We also enjoyed a light lunch at the winery again with stunning, uninterrupted, country/sea views from the top of a hill.
From our room we looked over the golf course and a spit of land of white silica sand and lush vegetation. We passed an idyllic hour reading on the verandah. It is possible that this sense of peace could be eroded at busy times as the verandahs are communal access to most rooms.
As for the television - so it was not flat screen - but we don't recall turning it on.
As this was definitely a quiet period staff were few and Manu seemed to be a man for all occasions. He proved to be a knowledgeable sommelier/ barman with a way with cocktails, head waiter and meeter and greeter in chief. He seemed to move between locations and jobs with ease.
The resort is convenient for the Northland attraction of the Ninety Mile Beach being thirty minutes from where all the coaches leave. We would love to come back here for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed for one night but booked for three. It was not what we were lead to believe upon making our reservation so we found alternative accommodation for our remaining nights.

We didn't think this hotel was worthy of 5 stars as the bathroom was not clean and rubbish was left in the bin. The tv and DVD player was the old style to which you would expect something better and the remote was faulty. Grounds also needed attention. It's very far to the nearest shops too.

The rates are far too over priced for what you get. We would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenzjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Spectacularly beautiful site on a hill overlooking miles of golf courses, vineyards, forests, lakes, sand dunes, and ocean. We had planned to use it as a base to tour the Northland, but on arriving and seeing how beautiful, and how remote, it is, we quickly abandoned any thought of leaving the premises until time to check-out.

This small luxury lodge has large comfortable rooms, a good restaurant, and a nice pool. Quiet and elegant, in an "old-money" kind of way. You are encouraged to take a golf cart up to the winery for breakfast or a casual lunch or supper, or down over the hills to the beach.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I've attached photos of the view from our Villa and really can't overstate how scenic this place was - this resort is quite isolated, but the outlook from our Villa and all over Carrington Resort didn't disappoint. My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights, and also had friends stay for a couple of nights and the Villa was great for this, with two double bedrooms, two bathrooms and plenty of space. The Lodge rooms looked very nice but were small and not at all private - I assume they are intended for keen golfers who might only stay a single night at the resort. As we stayed four nights and it was quite a long drive to the nearest town, we would have benefitted from more generous self-catering facilities. The kitchen was large and clean, but there was no salt and pepper in the shakers, limited kitchen tools, and only one BBQ available for guest use. Our meal in the resort restaurant was not particularly memorable, but it is well worth going up to the Karikari Estate Winery for breakfast or lunch. Staff were generally friendly and professional, but it might have been nice for us to have the option to keep a golf-cart during our stay, rather than return it each night and return to our Villa on foot.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perpetual_Student_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

enjoyed our stay in villa 2 although villa 6 is probably the best location,some of the lodge rooms looked a bit sus, not very private with a wrap around veranda . The open fire was very pleasant . The top rate is possibly a little steep for what is a well appointed two story motel unit in a very beautiful part of the world although rather isolated.Time they upgraded the tv facilities 5 remotes required to run two clunky old sets with dvd players .The fact that the restaurant was closed until late october due to fire damage was not advised when booking by phone with dining being relegated to the winery with a very limited menu at similiar prices.We are not golfers so the food and wine was important.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyweebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

We had a villa (5 people)....was great, this resort has good facilities...being able to use golf carts to get around, go down to the awesome beach & up to the winery was fantastic!....pool,gym & tennis courts were good. The golf course is good but very tough. Restaurant,food & service was good. Some areas of the resort were a bit shabby....our ironing board did not work, hairdryer was broken, our rubbish bin hadn't been emptied,no pool towels at the pool, mens locker room was untidy & some of the gardens could have been tidier, leaves everywhere......we hate to be picky but it is supposed to be 5-star & they do charge international prices.....so it IS the little things that count.......maybe slightly overpriced but we would definitely return.

  • Liked — golf carts to get around
  • Disliked — Some areas were a bit shabby
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank toddsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
10.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
18.4 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
102 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
17.9 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
47 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Carrington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Carrington Resort

Property: Peppers Carrington Resort
Address: Maitai Bay Road | RD3 Kaitaia - Karikari Penisula, Kaitaia, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Carrington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Carrington Resort, is a 3000 acre estate comprising a lodge, championship 18-hole golf club, Olympic skeet shooting range, vineyard and winery as well as a grass fed Black Angus farm. In addition, the resort boasts an infinity swimming pool, tennis courts, wetlands, mountain biking trails and one of New Zealand's most spectacular and unspoiled beaches - 4km of white sand and superb swimming, fishing and dolphin spotting. Carrington also offers fine dining and lounge facilities, billiard room and pro shop. We are located on the Karikari Peninsula, in Northland on the North Island of New Zealand. This 4 star resort provides accommodation with 10 luxury lodge rooms, 13 3-bedroom villas and 12 luxury houses. Lodge accommodation include spacious air conditioned bedrooms with private bathrooms, each containing a California King sized bed and satellite TV. Each Lodge room opens onto a wide verandah with views to the ocean, golf course or native bush and vineyard. The lodge rooms are connected by verandah walkways to the restaurant and members' lounge. The Villas offer self-contained and fully appointed accommodation - on the ground floor a living room, dining area, fireplace, and laundry facilities, with a verandah overlooking the golf course and Pacific Ocean. In addition, a fully equipped kitchen, toilette, satellite television, air conditioning and private garage are also housed on the ground floor. The second floor has a master bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and balcony, also with sweeping views of the golf course and Pacific ocean, a second double bedroom and bathroom (twins available), and a single bedroom. Other facilities and services available include gymnasium, laundry facilities (Regrettably no dry cleaning), massage therapist on call and babysitting services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Peppers Carrington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island
Peppers Carrington Resort Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing