We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful remote resort.”
Review of Carrington Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrington Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had booked and paid for this resort 5 months ago, and were a little disappointed on arrival to find ourselves in a dark corner room with no view of the beautiful surroundings and right on the pathway from reception to the bar / restaurant. The duty manager explained that the hotel was full and this was the only room available but would see if he could change room for us the following day. The resort has been taken over by a Chinese company and the new owners had arrived for the hand over ceremony, thus all rooms occupied. Happily, we discovered the next morning that we had an upgrade to one of their beautiful lodges on the golf course. Fantastic views, great accommodation, powerful shower and sky tv! We ate breakfast and dinner at the resort and the food was very good. We had a lunch at the KariKari winery, and it was delicious.
All staff at the resort were friendly and welcoming, we played golf and thoroughly enjoyed the course which we found to be in good condition and challenging.
Don't miss a trip to the white sandy, deserted beach. It is worth the off road golf cart ride and trek through the dunes, even if we were shattered when we got back to the hotel.
I would recommend this resort for couples who like golf, wine, relaxing and amazing scenery. There's nothing else close to the resort, but there's plenty to see in the Far North if you fancy a road trip or two.
We even got to see the welcoming ceremony for the new owners complete with Maori Hakka welcome, music and lots of flags.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susysmith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Susysmith2013,

Many thanks for your kind words following your stay with us at Peppers Carrington Resort.

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us and thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Carrington Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

The accommodation was great, friendly staff. Restaurant was lousy, food average, bad service, badly trained staff. No response to inquiries. Couldn't make a tee-time. Wanted to stay two days, left after one night. Never again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Achim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Achim B,

We are disappointed that you did not find certain area's of our resort more to your liking, but we do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about those issues.

We will certainly have a look at the items you have raised above.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We first visited Carringtons about 5 years ago and although under new ownership, were heartened to find that they still did a golf deal. $547 for two , including two rounds of golf each , 3 course dinner , a great breakfast and the night in a lodge room .It even included a bottle of Karikari Estate wine on arrival . ( go for The Hell Hole Red , very drinkable)
The lodge rooms are extremely spacious and the dinner was of the fine dining variety.
We arrived early in order to have a golf cart to visit the vineyard for lunch prior to playing golf.
It is situated on a peninsular , therefore windy conditions are expected and this was the case .
Golf , therefore, was testing but the course is in good condition and very scenic with a touch of links here and there.
We were surprised to find that we were of only two couples staying overnight , it seems that this excellent deal ( available till end March) is not easy to locate on their website and Peppers central reservations advised they had no knowledge of it.

The staff were courteous and friendly , most important: the bed was firm but comfortable

Room Tip: Room # 5 has the best views
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your stay with us at Peppers Carrington.

I was proud to share your feedback with our team, and they were all thrilled to read your comments.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all aspects of the Peppers Carrington experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in the resort and it was just lovely, very relaxing and clean. The room cleaning for our second day was somewhat to be desired which was unfortunate as we still paid the same amount for the second day. Dinner at the winery was lovely, but in the tent was a bit of a let down. The restaurant was lovely, food good most of the waiting staff were on par but some left a little to be desired. I felt the appearance of dress code could have been more professional.
Staff at the reception when we arrived were nice and friendly, but did not give us much information about anything really. I had to ask for menus and where places were at the resort like the restaurant and how to get to our rooms, and something about the area we were in would have been helpful. All is all though - a good result. Did not even know a spa was available.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Rah C,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us at Peppers Carrington. I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves.

we look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington in the future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We wanted a quiet break and we certainly got it! We were told by the lovely restaurant staff this was their busy period, over the three days (midweek) we only saw four other couples in the 10 lodge rooms! This may have contributed to a somewhat limited menu which, in my opinion, was below par (pun intended) for a resort of this standard.
That aside we had a wonderful stay and would recommend taking a golf buggy to find the magnificent secluded white sand beach.
For golfers the course can be really challenging if (when!) the wind blows and the rough eats balls!
BTW - the beds are really comfortable!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Norman G

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Peppers Carrington. I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves.

I have passed on your feedback about the limited menu to our Head Chef.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting the Far North.

Kind regards
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel staff appeared to constantly be under stress. Primarily, the personnel manning the reception seemed particularly unorganised and in a hurry, even when the setting was calm without any flow of guests. Luckily, the restaurant staff contrasted this behaviour in a positive way; they appeared well organised, professional and the food was good.

Furthermore, the resort offered large rooms and a number of facilities including a pool, tennis court and gym. A workout in the gym, however, almost feels like time travel; most equipment appeared to be at least 30 years old.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, CEO at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Ice P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Peppers Carrington Resort. We take great pride in the service we provide.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the cuisine, your accommodations, and our other activities available at the Resort (tennis, pool, gym etc.)

I have personally followed up with the Front office team regarding the issues raised by you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Planning my next trip to NZ reminded me that I never did reviews for my last one. This hotel was unfortunately a glaring low point in an otherwise stellar trip. This hotel seemed like a perfect candidate for a redo on that TV show “Hotel Impossible” – absolutely exquisite location and huge potential, but terrible execution. Just about everything on arrival that evening was a problem, from check in being at the (closed) pro shop, to discovering that the room wasn’t clean. I should say that on multiple trips to NZ, I’ve always been particularly impressed by the terrific food quality, I’d never had a bad meal anywhere in the country until dinner that night. We were within spitting distance of the ocean but I was served fish that had spoiled. So then I ordered the cheese plate – you can’t screw that up, right? Wrong – stale crackers! Maybe things would have gotten better, but we decided to give up and leave early for our next destination.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaitaia hotels
253.6 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
42 reviews
254.5 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
103 reviews
254.4 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
254.3 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
47 reviews
255.0 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
48 reviews
254.3 mi away
Orana Motor Inn
Orana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Kaitaia
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Resort

Address: Maitai Bay Road | RD3 Kaitaia - Karikari Penisula, Kaitaia, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range: $134 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carrington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury and charm of Carrington Estate, situated on the beautiful Karikari Peninsula, and relax and explore the Heart of Northland. Carrington Estate sprawls amidst 3000 acres of the most pristine scenery that Northland has to offer, creating the perfect spot from which to explore the wonders of the region. Luxuriate and enjoy your comfortable spacious accommodation, where wonders sit at your doorstep, and a thousand journeys await. Let the stunning surroundings inspire and beckon you to experience the delights and hidden secrets of the local land, people, and culture. With a wealth of activities, including a championship-standard golf course, an award-winning winery, and easy access to the highlights of the region, Carrington Estate has something for everyone. Book your holiday, wedding, or corporate event at Carrington Estate today and discover the stunning Heart of Northland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island
Carrington Resort Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing