We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great accommodation - lousy restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Carrington Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great accommodation - lousy restaurant”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The accommodation was great, friendly staff. Restaurant was lousy, food average, bad service, badly trained staff. No response to inquiries. Couldn't make a tee-time. Wanted to stay two days, left after one night. Never again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Achim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Achim B,

We are disappointed that you did not find certain area's of our resort more to your liking, but we do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about those issues.

We will certainly have a look at the items you have raised above.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    36
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
78
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We first visited Carringtons about 5 years ago and although under new ownership, were heartened to find that they still did a golf deal. $547 for two , including two rounds of golf each , 3 course dinner , a great breakfast and the night in a lodge room .It even included a bottle of Karikari Estate wine on arrival . ( go for The Hell Hole Red , very drinkable)
The lodge rooms are extremely spacious and the dinner was of the fine dining variety.
We arrived early in order to have a golf cart to visit the vineyard for lunch prior to playing golf.
It is situated on a peninsular , therefore windy conditions are expected and this was the case .
Golf , therefore, was testing but the course is in good condition and very scenic with a touch of links here and there.
We were surprised to find that we were of only two couples staying overnight , it seems that this excellent deal ( available till end March) is not easy to locate on their website and Peppers central reservations advised they had no knowledge of it.

The staff were courteous and friendly , most important: the bed was firm but comfortable

Room Tip: Room # 5 has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your stay with us at Peppers Carrington.

I was proud to share your feedback with our team, and they were all thrilled to read your comments.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed all aspects of the Peppers Carrington experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed in the resort and it was just lovely, very relaxing and clean. The room cleaning for our second day was somewhat to be desired which was unfortunate as we still paid the same amount for the second day. Dinner at the winery was lovely, but in the tent was a bit of a let down. The restaurant was lovely, food good most of the waiting staff were on par but some left a little to be desired. I felt the appearance of dress code could have been more professional.
Staff at the reception when we arrived were nice and friendly, but did not give us much information about anything really. I had to ask for menus and where places were at the resort like the restaurant and how to get to our rooms, and something about the area we were in would have been helpful. All is all though - a good result. Did not even know a spa was available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Rah C,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay with us at Peppers Carrington. I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves.

we look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington in the future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a quiet break and we certainly got it! We were told by the lovely restaurant staff this was their busy period, over the three days (midweek) we only saw four other couples in the 10 lodge rooms! This may have contributed to a somewhat limited menu which, in my opinion, was below par (pun intended) for a resort of this standard.
That aside we had a wonderful stay and would recommend taking a golf buggy to find the magnificent secluded white sand beach.
For golfers the course can be really challenging if (when!) the wind blows and the rough eats balls!
BTW - the beds are really comfortable!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Norman G

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Peppers Carrington. I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves.

I have passed on your feedback about the limited menu to our Head Chef.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting the Far North.

Kind regards
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Hotel staff appeared to constantly be under stress. Primarily, the personnel manning the reception seemed particularly unorganised and in a hurry, even when the setting was calm without any flow of guests. Luckily, the restaurant staff contrasted this behaviour in a positive way; they appeared well organised, professional and the food was good.

Furthermore, the resort offered large rooms and a number of facilities including a pool, tennis court and gym. A workout in the gym, however, almost feels like time travel; most equipment appeared to be at least 30 years old.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, CEO at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Ice P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Peppers Carrington Resort. We take great pride in the service we provide.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the cuisine, your accommodations, and our other activities available at the Resort (tennis, pool, gym etc.)

I have personally followed up with the Front office team regarding the issues raised by you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Simon Jones
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Planning my next trip to NZ reminded me that I never did reviews for my last one. This hotel was unfortunately a glaring low point in an otherwise stellar trip. This hotel seemed like a perfect candidate for a redo on that TV show “Hotel Impossible” – absolutely exquisite location and huge potential, but terrible execution. Just about everything on arrival that evening was a problem, from check in being at the (closed) pro shop, to discovering that the room wasn’t clean. I should say that on multiple trips to NZ, I’ve always been particularly impressed by the terrific food quality, I’d never had a bad meal anywhere in the country until dinner that night. We were within spitting distance of the ocean but I was served fish that had spoiled. So then I ordered the cheese plate – you can’t screw that up, right? Wrong – stale crackers! Maybe things would have gotten better, but we decided to give up and leave early for our next destination.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Carrington 27th September and were pretty disappointed with what we expected to be an "up there" resort with 4+ stars. Whilst the location is stunning I'm afraid the accommodation and restaurant are pretty ho hum with a fridge in the room but nothing in it, had to ask for water for the room and when we went for a swim there was a palm tree that had blown over and was still in the pool on Saturday the day after. We had been told it had been sold and that was clear to see from the lack of maintenance to the buildings which are showing signs of wear. The restaurant is a beautiful setting but the food did not match. The golf course whilst dramatic and challenging suffers badly with lying water. I'm afraid this is not the resort it was purported to be and needs to be updated to compete with Bay of Island accommodation a lot cheaper than this

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmcspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Peppers Carrington Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Jmcspirit,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Peppers Carrington Resort. I am very disappointed that your stay fell below your expectations - for this I apologise.

I have personally followed up with the resort team regarding the issues raised by you.

Once again please accept my apologies.

Kind regards,
Simon Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
10.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
18.4 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
102 reviews
19.0 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
17.9 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Carrington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Carrington Resort

Property: Peppers Carrington Resort
Address: Maitai Bay Road | RD3 Kaitaia - Karikari Penisula, Kaitaia, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppers Carrington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Carrington Resort, is a 3000 acre estate comprising a lodge, championship 18-hole golf club, Olympic skeet shooting range, vineyard and winery as well as a grass fed Black Angus farm. In addition, the resort boasts an infinity swimming pool, tennis courts, wetlands, mountain biking trails and one of New Zealand's most spectacular and unspoiled beaches - 4km of white sand and superb swimming, fishing and dolphin spotting. Carrington also offers fine dining and lounge facilities, billiard room and pro shop. We are located on the Karikari Peninsula, in Northland on the North Island of New Zealand. This 4 star resort provides accommodation with 10 luxury lodge rooms, 13 3-bedroom villas and 12 luxury houses. Lodge accommodation include spacious air conditioned bedrooms with private bathrooms, each containing a California King sized bed and satellite TV. Each Lodge room opens onto a wide verandah with views to the ocean, golf course or native bush and vineyard. The lodge rooms are connected by verandah walkways to the restaurant and members' lounge. The Villas offer self-contained and fully appointed accommodation - on the ground floor a living room, dining area, fireplace, and laundry facilities, with a verandah overlooking the golf course and Pacific Ocean. In addition, a fully equipped kitchen, toilette, satellite television, air conditioning and private garage are also housed on the ground floor. The second floor has a master bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and balcony, also with sweeping views of the golf course and Pacific ocean, a second double bedroom and bathroom (twins available), and a single bedroom. Other facilities and services available include gymnasium, laundry facilities (Regrettably no dry cleaning), massage therapist on call and babysitting services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Peppers Carrington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island
Peppers Carrington Resort Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing