We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Carrington Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carrington Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just stayed one night but it was outstanding.all the staff were friendly and helpful.Room was well appointed and quite big.Dinner was excellent with unobtrusive service. We didn't play golf which is a major feature of the hotel but did try the wines.The 2007 Toa was great value at just $24.
The reds were v good as was the Chardonnay
We would rate this hotel a 10 and the restaurant a 9
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Wayne 777,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and will definitely pass your lovely comments onto our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting the Far North.

Kind regards,
Simon Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Carrington Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 132 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Carrington. Perfectly situated, magnificient views and very nice rooms. We had booked a room in the lodge and it was perfect. Nice views over the golf course and the sea. A really good golf course. All in all perfect conditions to create a five star resort. But unfortunately it is closer to a three star, du to the exceptionally un-professional way the property is being run. Check in at the pro shop, no help with the luggage, no complementary wifi in the room, no staff after 6 pm,, a so called Kiwi Roast dinner, which had nothing to do with roasted food, no service when playing golf, no service on departure and a bill, which were incorrect. Dear Carrington: Simply not good enough or are you in the proces of closing down?

Room Tip: At the current time, I can not recommend you to stay here
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear NEClausen,

I was disappointed that you did not find our Resort more to your liking, but I do appreciate you taking the time to let us know about those issues. I apologise for any inconvenience we caused to you.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This resort is attached to a winery and a golf course. The rooms are fine and the golf course is wonderful, especially as there is a lot of native fauna to negotiate. However this resort lets itself down by the very limited selection in the dining room. For a restaurant positioned in sight of the sea I was startled to be confronted with a menu almost devoid of fresh fish. That aside the location is wonderful if you want a quiet time in natural surroundings.

Room Tip: I rated the sleep quality as poor because one doesn't appear to have a choice of pillows and th...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muzza1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Muzza1947,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay, I was pleased to read there was many things you enjoyed about the Resort. I was disappointed to read you found our restaurant menu limited. I will certainly have a look at the items you have raised.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Spacious rooms & friendly staff. Had the pool to ourselves. Lovely restaurant where the chef prepared a separate menu the second night so there was no risk of having to eat the same food again (vegetarian diet). Very considerate! 1 minute drive from the attached Karikari estate vineyard where they do a great lunch and excellently priced wines. The wrap-around verandahs may not be everyone's ideal when the resort is full but not an issue as it was very quiet mid-week. No cell phone coverage if you're on telecom.

Room Tip: We had one of the corner rooms which gave us great views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu62Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear stu6Auckland,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind comment on your recent stay at Peppers Carrington. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the whole experience including the rooms, service and dining. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with everyone here and I hope to get the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had our wedding at carrington resrot and the reception held in the barrel hall at karikari estate in march 2013.
It was perfect.
Led by the event co-ordinator Desmond moraes, the team at carrington could not of done a more amazing job. The food, service, drink and venue was beautiful and up to stadard. The rooms were excellent, plenty of space for our guests and ther families. The pool was such a delight and the boys even enjoyed the golf course on the morning of the wedding.
Demond and his team took all of the stress out of planning a wedding. When we arrived a couple of days prior, demond had the entire wedding planned out to show us. Every detail was noted down, timelines were created and he kept us informed the entire way through.
Anything we asked of carrington they were able to deliver. This also included there lovely reception lady " andrea" who took time out of her schedule to transport our wedding party to the local beach for wedding pictures - thank you!

We and our entire wedding party fall in love with carrington resort. It is such a georgous place to stay and if i could not think of a more romantic place to have our wedding take place.

During the reception the guests all commented on how great the staff were, constantly clearing dishes from the tables, attending to the guests and always making sure there glasses were full.
The decorations in the reception hall were stunning. All our guests said it was like walking into a " fairy tail" when the entered the room.
Thank you also to carrington for providing us with information and contacts for local services that we were able to make good use of.

From the bottom of our hearts, thank you again for such an amazing time. We will never forget it and we plan to come back and stay there again very soon.

N & D Jacobs
Wellington New Zealand

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Natasha and Damian,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you chose to spend such a special occasion here with us at Peppers Carrington. It’s always a pleasure to read fantastic reviews regarding our associates and the service they provide our guests. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team and look forward to your return soon.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a special place almost at the end of the Karikari peninsular consisting of a hotel complex, 10 villas, a 18 hole golf course and a winery. Very impressing is the panorama view of a very beautiful scenery. Quiet and pleasant.
The hotel complex consists of three buildings: Reception and shop, a building with lodge rooms and another with restaurant, bar, lounge etc. , the last two buildings framed with a roofed veranda. There also are 10 very well equipped villas (semidetached) also with stunning outlooks.

We had booked a superior room, approx 35 square meters with sitting area, desk and view to golf course, dunes and ocean. Everything very nice, with sliding door and mosquito protection. Internet is available at very reasonable rates.

Breakfast and dinner are served in the restaurant, lunch is available at the winery (short walk across the street). At the winery the only possibility to sit protected from the constant wind was in a big gazebo with limited view through the plastic windows. Hopefully only an in-between solution.
Quality of the food was good, somewhat restricted offer at the Continental breakfast, special dishes could be ordered. The service quick (almost a bit too quick) and attentive.

The wunderful pool area is protected from the wind by well arranged plants and provides a perfect place to swim and to sunbath.

We felt very comfortable and will probably go back there for a few more days and will then stay in one of the villas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear voyager-liese ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Peppers Carrington. I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting the Far North.

Kind regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our third visit this time for wedding anniversary and a birthday.

Facilities were good with a swim in the sea a highlight.

Restaurant was ok, but the menu was quite limited and with few people staying there it felt strange.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear PJC18,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. It is great that you have stayed with us at Peppers Carrington Resort for a third time. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have a chance to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaitaia hotels
254.5 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
104 reviews
253.6 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
42 reviews
254.4 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
254.3 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
47 reviews
255.0 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
48 reviews
254.3 mi away
Orana Motor Inn
Orana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Kaitaia
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Resort

Address: Maitai Bay Road | RD3 Kaitaia - Karikari Penisula, Kaitaia, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range: $134 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carrington Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury and charm of Carrington Estate, situated on the beautiful Karikari Peninsula, and relax and explore the Heart of Northland. Carrington Estate sprawls amidst 3000 acres of the most pristine scenery that Northland has to offer, creating the perfect spot from which to explore the wonders of the region. Luxuriate and enjoy your comfortable spacious accommodation, where wonders sit at your doorstep, and a thousand journeys await. Let the stunning surroundings inspire and beckon you to experience the delights and hidden secrets of the local land, people, and culture. With a wealth of activities, including a championship-standard golf course, an award-winning winery, and easy access to the highlights of the region, Carrington Estate has something for everyone. Book your holiday, wedding, or corporate event at Carrington Estate today and discover the stunning Heart of Northland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrington Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island
Carrington Resort Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing