We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms”
Review of Carrington Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrington Estate
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I had an overnight getaway at the resort early november '12.

Highlights:
- The highlight would have to be the Chef. His food was fantastic and his small dishes to break up the meal were sensational.
- We liked the personalised welcome note in our room from the manager and the decor was tastefully done.
- The views were amazing and really made the location special
- The golf course looked amazing and viewing the grounds on the buggy was great.
- Overall, the service was warm and friendly

Downsides:
- Checking in at the main reception would have been nice, instead of at the golf shop. It wasnt the nicest welcome and was unexpected given the calibre of the hotel. However, that slightly negative first impression was made up for by the lady behind the desk who was very friendly and gave us a helpful tour of the facilities.
- It would be nice if some arrangement could be arranged so that opened bottles could be transferred between the winery and the restaurant given that they are on the same property.
- Something that couldnt be helped was the wind of both the hotel and winery given their exposed location. The only option for shelter at the winery was sitting inside a gazebo which wasnt ideal as the plastic windows obscured the view. Indoor seating inside something more permanent with glass windows would've been preferred.
- After hours contact. At about 2130hrs I tried calling the operator, reception, room service and house keeping to see if a pair of spectacles had been found, but no one answered. It would be nice if someone was contactable if guests had queries.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the water for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank apap008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear apap008,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property; it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the quality of food you experienced while staying with us to our Head Chef, I know he will be pleased to have contributed toward your experience in such a positive way. It was also nice to read that you found our staff service friendly and welcoming.

I do apologise that you were not explained upon check in that the Proshop is also our Reception area and that the onsite Duty Manager is on call if required after reception closes.

The above concerns have been followed up with our Front Office team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 155 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

While my partner and i were staying at Whitesands Apartments Rangiputa Doubtless Bay in early Sept 2012, we decided to try the Peppers Carrington Resort for a meal while up north.
We can honestly say the whole experience was 1st class A+++++.

The restaurant itself is well appointed and the atmosphere, and massive open fire, created an instant comfort zone for us as it was raining outside and was nighttime so just perfect.

The meal and service exceeded our expectations and, when we return to the area, we will definitely be back for another experience.

Thank you to the team at The Peppers Carrington NZ.

Regards
Mike and Debbie
Taupo NZ

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mike and Debbie,

Thank you for your review of the Peppers Carrington Resort restaurant. I was thrilled to read we exceeded your expectations in service, food and atmosphere, I will be passing on your positive feedback to our food and beverage team, please know we do appreciate your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at villa 1 for 3 nights October 7-10 .The villas are excellent with everything possible being provided.The golf course i could not play but did drive around in one of the golf buggys and it looked very difficult i was pleased my clubs we left at home.
However the star was the Chef Menish his food would be rated exceptional in any major hotel restaurant in the world. Presentation flavour etc had to be experienced to be believe
Our hostess and waitress was his wife May who was attentive charming and a delightful personality
Overall a wonderful few days

Room Tip: Any room or villa would we excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear traveller 255118,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property; it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. We certainly appreciate your kind words about Munish and May, and I know they will be pleased to have contributed toward your experience in such a positive way.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our family went to Carrington to celebrate my 70th birthday. We took two of the three bedroom villas and were delighted with the standard of accommodation and the setting. The villas looked out to the sand dunes and bays further north and bordered on the golf course. The staff at the resort went out of their way to make our extended weekend a lovely experience. Because we had young children with us, they provided us with a private room for the birthday dinner so that we could relax without the worry of disturbing others. The meal was delicious and beautifully presented. All in all, a very special time in a very special place.

Room Tip: If you are with family, go for the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Carrington Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Kiwianne,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you chose to spend your special occasion here with us at Peppers Carrington. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience and I will take pleasure in sharing your comments with the rest of the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Peppers Carrington Resort in the near future.

Best Regards,
Simon Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My partner and I arrived at Carrington Resort afternoon after driving from Auckland and found everything very much to our liking.

Our room was spacious and comfortable, the outdoor pool was great. Views are really spectacular -beautiful site on a hill overlooking miles of golf courses, vineyards, lakes, sand dunes and ocean! We also ate at the restraunt and it was deliscious. We would definately stay here again! Really enjoyed our experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kasiapil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Carrington resort is an amazng place to go and hide out. There are amazing views all around and the food is fantastic, albeit a tad expensive but expected for the standards. Definitely recommended. We went in winter so didnt really get to use all the available recreational facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devashana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in February 2012 for a few days. We bothy thought it was a gorgeous hotel with excellent facilities - swimming pool, magnificent golf course, restaurant, tennis courts, beautiful views and nearby winery also with restaurant. We just loved our stay here. The only negative thing we could find to say is that they charged for wifi connection which we find a bit chintzy for a hotel with a rack rate of NZ$700 a night,

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shetlander07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
12.4 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
10.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
18.9 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
18.4 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
111 reviews
18.3 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrington Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrington Estate

Address: 109 Matai Bay Road, Kaitaia 0483, New Zealand (Formerly Carrington Resort)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kaitaia
Price Range: $160 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carrington Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury and charm of Carrington Estate, situated on the beautiful Karikari Peninsula, and relax and explore the Heart of Northland. Carrington Estate sprawls amidst 3000 acres of the most pristine scenery that Northland has to offer, creating the perfect spot from which to explore the wonders of the region. Luxuriate and enjoy your comfortable spacious accommodation, where wonders sit at your doorstep, and a thousand journeys await. Let the stunning surroundings inspire and beckon you to experience the delights and hidden secrets of the local land, people, and culture. With a wealth of activities, including a championship-standard golf course, an award-winning winery, and easy access to the highlights of the region, Carrington Estate has something for everyone. Book your holiday, wedding, or corporate event at Carrington Estate today and discover the stunning Heart of Northland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carrington Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrington Hotel Kaitaia
Carrington Hotel North Island
Carrington Estate Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing