We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great learning experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of gumdiggers cafe - CLOSED

gumdiggers cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: North Drift Cafe (formerly named Gum Diggers Cafe) in Ahipara is well known for its great coffee, excellent food and its friendly staff. We source our food locally and use seasonal fresh fruits and vegetables with our home grown herbs and spices, open all year round with both take-away or dine in options. Ahipara is the gateway to 90 Mile Beach and Cape Reinga, untouched beaches, uncrowded waves, adventure everywhere you turn so come and visit us in our little paradise.
Flinders Island, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great learning experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was a chance to learn about this unusual activity
and see the ancient buried Kauris. We were fascinated by the
examples of prehistoric gum which held insects trapped many thousands of years ago. The little shop surprisingly had some of the best valued souvenirs we found in NZ. Well worth the trip over the short gravel road.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kenzo249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    33
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I highly recommend! Aptly named 'Gumdiggers' - the team of this outlet are no only well-disciplined in the culinary arts, producing fine food and exquisite baking - but also know their community history and have a good hand in the local tourism industry. Spectacular service accompanied by spectacular arrange of food from their semi-alacarte menu. What else can I say? simply amazing!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We crammed into this simple little cafe during Cyclone 'June' early one morning and it was an absolute treat. Excellent service, good music and vibes from the staff. Coffee was strong and sandwiches good value ($4). Especially recommend the berry crumble though all the food looked fantastic. Worth the short drive from Kaitaia.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have driven past this cafe on a number of visits to Ahipara and have not wanted to stop as it looked a bit run down. Eventually we did and wondered why we had not ventured to enjoy what it had to offer before. Quite a range of menu, reasonably priced, and pleasantly served.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We only had one meal at this little cafe but the care given to us and the food leads us to believe that you will find it hard to better for breakfast, a snack or a coffee. Try the eggs benedict and lick your lips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sillyoldduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed gumdiggers cafe also viewed

Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing