We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again.”
Review of Wayfarer Motel

Wayfarer Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wayfarer Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Kaitaia B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would stay again.”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Clean and comfortable. Good restaurant opposite (The Beachcomber) and shop along the road. A good place to stay for visiting Cape Reinga as it's the last town before the drive up to the Cape. Friendly service. Plenty of parking right outside the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very pleased with our room...spacious, clean, well set out, everything that was required.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryantandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
224 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Nice clean room, plenty of towels including spare ones. Would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed in the motel en route North to Cape Reinga and had 2 nights at the property.
Whilst the owners were exceptionally friendly & helpful and it was good to park right outside our unit, there was little else to be positive about this property.

Unfortunately, it is exceptionally dated. It felt like we were in a 1970s unit and the carpet was filthy. Our 9mth old son was extremely dirty after just a few minutes crawling across it.
Whilst I am prepared to accept that the Far North is a harder area to be modern in and that more dated motels exist in NZ, it was disappointing for us as we felt the prices compared with good, modern and clean motels we have stayed in around the country. In fact, a few nights later we stayed in a 4* hotel in Auckland CBD for $10 a night less than we paid for this property.

We didn't complain to the owners at the time, as both the dirtiness (dust/dirt) of the carpet and the datedness of the unit were not things that could have been fixed during our stay. We won't be staying there again, but if the owners want their property to match their own friendliness, they will need to put in some serious work to update and renovate the units.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireKiwi316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

we stayed here for 1 night in August. The Motel is centrally located with a great restaurant (the Beachcomber) just over the road. The Motel room was fairly small but very and clean and comfortable however it could do with a refurb as it was pretty dated especially the bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped. All in all a good value place to stay with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
252 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Ssituated at one end of the main street, so it is fairly quiet, but obviously a very popular place. Owners, Dave & Carol are very pleasant and helpful with booking trips and have free internet in the office My room was a good size, very clean and comfortable. It had fridge, tea/coffee, etc There is a small swimming pool and a spa. No food service at the motel, but 2 good restaurants just across the road and many more down the main street. Also supermarket and shops very close. I had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaitaia hotels
18.6 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.3 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Waters Edge Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Orana Motor Inn
Orana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Kaitaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
Kaitaia Motor Lodge
#2 of 10 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayfarer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayfarer Motel

Property: Wayfarer Motel
Address: 231 Commerce Street, Kaitaia 0410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kaitaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayfarer Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel is centrally located in Kaitaia, a 5 minute walk to shops. Wonderful licensed restaurant across the road. Free parking, free Wifi and Sky Guest Select (50+ channels) in all rooms. Swimming pool, spa pool, trampoline for the children and BBQ all available for guests. Great place to stop and explore the Far North. We can book a day trip to Cape Reinga for you - a wonderful experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wayfarer Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wayfarer Motel Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing