We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wouldn"t stay here again unless I had too.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Northerner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northerner Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Kaitaia B&B and Inns
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wouldn"t stay here again unless I had too.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

stayed here on business as usual motel was booked out. this place smelt bad, had tired decor that looked like we we were in a 80's themed hotel-fake plastic ferns,biege tiles,biege carpets.no sky tv. exspensive Wifi. no kitchen faciltys in room just tea/coffee.
This Hotel needs renovating and updating urgently.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    25
    20
    13
See reviews for
10
37
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kaiwaka, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was a family affair, mums 80th birthday, so we had a family reunion at the same time! There was a couple of us staying from Thursday through to Sunday, the rest arrived Friday or Saturday and stayed. We didn't need to go anywhere, we ate in and our fun was right there. Everyone had an awesome time thanks to the Management & staff of the Hotel. Your facility was wonderful, your service so gracious and the food from beginning to end was flawless.

How easy to organize, a party for 70 of us! I asked, and everything was taken care of.
Thank you Management, reception, cleaning staff, restaurant & kitchen staff, & those talented Chefs. Bless You all.
Lynette Dheda and family

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford middlesex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

would not recommend this place to anyone.booked online and the correspondance was good as the hotel also sorted out our coach trip to cape rienga.checkin was ok and was told to drive round back of hotel as the room had its own exterior door though when we drove round the doors all looked the same with no markings so drove round the hotel to the communial entrance and dropped wife of to find the room and open door from inside.When she emerged from the door (which was actually a fire exit) i noticed from the look on her face she was not impressed.The room was dark and dingy with a 1970,s feel to it,bed was sloping down towards the headboard,cigarette burns in chairs and bed linen and the bathroom was shocking.tiles round the sink where hanging of with rusted metal poking threw.we went to complain and was given another room.the next room was slightly better so we decided to stay as we had only booked one night.my wife then decided to have a shower and emerged with a dirty flannel and a dirty wet towell already hanging on the back of the door,i took the dirty bath gear to reception and complained again though all i got from the fella was a raise of eyebrows and a sigh.next morning found no tea spoons in the breakfast room but found knickerbocker glory spoons to stir tea (bizarre).checked out and was told we where not charged for the room which was their only saving grace. food was ok ,rooms where rotten and staff not very responsive to feedback.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaitaia hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Nice place but with limited whiteware, noise outside can be heard quite loudly inside the room, reception was ok. parking was ok. pick up point for bus tour.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ely F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

The location of the hotel is at the border of the town. It takes around 15 Minutes to the center by foot. The hotel is really old-fashioned and unconfortable. It needs really a complete renovation. Especially the floors and the restaurant look little bit scruffy. It reminded me of the film 'Shining'. Was just waiting that Jack Nicholson comes around the corner. The receptionist was very friendly. He gave us a lot of useful information for our daytrip to Cape Reigna.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were very excited for our stay at this hotel...even though we read the bad reviews. According to the ad it was under new management and promised "luxury". Well, we certainly did not have any luxury and there wasn't any airconditioned rooms as the ad promised (once you are booked in you see on their room information that only the premium rooms have aircon..something they do not mention on their ads. Very dissapointed, expected much more. The rooms wasn't great either, could do alot to upgrade, even just a little bit. Rusted and old comes to mind when I think of this hotel. Will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afrikanerkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Couldn't believe the decor - like a nursing home or 1960's holiday house, with miles of brown and red corridors with fake ornate lamps and fake plants, hotel wings named after wives of Henry VIII, dormitory-like rooms done out in brown and gold - almost expected a roster of activities to be posted on the door! The room was freezing and uncomfortable, with an old bed, crappy little TV and very old bathroom. The 'spa, sauna and fitness room' turned out to be one room, with a nautilus machine, a spa with one headrest chewed off (?!), and a very old push-button spa. The restaurant was huge - obviously in summer this place is busy, but no idea why. The food WAS excellent for dinner, but we had a terrible breakfast in a cold, draughty room with terrible food and a tiny TV droning away in the corner.
The reception and waiting staff in the evening were good, and the bar was warm and cosy, but all-in-all it was an astonishing place to stay. Astonishing, but not in a good way.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaitaia
18.4 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.3 mi away
Wayfarer Motel
Wayfarer Motel
#4 of 10 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orana Motor Inn
Orana Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Kaitaia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Loredo Motel
Loredo Motel
#1 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kauri Lodge Motel
Kauri Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Kaitaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
Ninety Mile Beach Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Waipapakauri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northerner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northerner Hotel

Property: Northerner Hotel
Address: corner North Rd & Kohuhu St, Kaitaia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Kaitaia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kaitaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northerner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northerner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northerner Hotel Kaitaia, New Zealand - North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing