We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to see the very North of New Zealand”

Harrisons Cape Runner
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Kaitaia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great way to see the very North of New Zealand”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The driver/guides are local and really know the area (and all its interesting and amusing stories). The prices are very reasonable, and it doesn't involve the long bus ride from Paihia and back, which adds nothing to the tour 'to the top.'

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    50
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic day out”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Had a fantastic trip to Cape Reinga, the weather was perfect, shorts n t-shirt weather in the middle of winter. Saw some beautiful beaches, a clear view from the cape to 3 kings islands, had fun tabboganing down the sand dunes at Te Paki stream even tho it was hard work scaling then in the 1st place. Our driver, Jasonnui, was very entertaining n full of facts. All in all a brilliant day out

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seaweasel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Jason the driver/guide made it a brilliant day”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The tour is pretty reasonably priced but don't let this put you off. We got picked up at our hotel right on time and dropped off 7.5 hours later. Jason our guide was a character and made the trip with his running commentary. A lot is included starting with a run up 90 mile beach on the stand (don't stop in the waves otherwise it's wheels will sink!) followed by sand dune toboganning, Cape Reinga lighthouse, another beach for lunch, Kauri Kingdom (for coffee etc.) and another stop for icecream. Lunch was simple muffins, snack bars etc. but fine.

Really good tour and a better way to see everything than driving, getting stuck and not hearing all about it from your guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This has got to be the best deal ever”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a marvellous day on this trip
We drove to Kaitaia from Paihia through beautiful countryside and past wonderful beaches
Then we picked up this trip to Cape Reinga the top of New Zealand
It was fantastic
Our driver was so knowledgeable -a local - and we learned heaps and laughed all day
We did everything the tours charging 4 times the price offered
We drove to the cape and called at beautiful beaches on the way and they gave us lunch at a lovely beach
We drove through the Te Paki stream out to 90 mile beach
The young people on board had time to do sand dune surfing which was great to watch
Then we drove 70 Kms along a wonderful beach
We drove home through the gorge where we saw beautiful New Zealand bush
If you want to see real New Zealand at a great price, do this trip

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank helenford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day in the Northland”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a wonderful day out with Simon our guide. The drive along the beach was thrilling as was the sand toboggan ride and loads of local cultural insights and bits of history. Simon even treated us to a couple of Maori songs along the way.

The bus was very comfortable, there were plentiful stops for sight seeing along the cost and bathroom breaks.

We are normally averse to bus tours but this was extremely well done and provided a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable day. Well worth the money and time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oldblue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrisons Cape Runner also viewed

 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 

Been to Harrisons Cape Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing