We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”

Harrisons Cape Runner
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Kaitaia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were advised to do a tour up to Cape Reinga rather than drive ourselves and what good advice that was!
For $50pp a full day trip gave the chance to sit back and enjoy the scenery of The Ninety Mile Beach. Driving up the Te Paki Stream was a surprise and then doing the sand tobogganing was great fun. All ages "had a go", some climbing up for multiple thrills.

The lunch was a little disappointing (but that was the only thing of the day that was), a choice of cheese or fruit scones, that were rather dry and some packets of snack type food.

The time at Cape Reinga gave plenty of time to climb down, take photos and enjoy the surrounds. For the less able there are places to sit at the top of the hill and enjoy the view.

The driver gave an excellent commentary of the area and kept everyone entertained with his jokes.

A good day was enjoyed by us and certainly value for money!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lind-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    50
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“just brilliant”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was really good value for money and a great day out. Ok the drivers jokes were bad, but that was all part of the entertainment... What a wonderful character and, most important, an excellent driver! In amongst the jokes was a lot of history and information and we were thoroughly entertained throughout the day. The beaches we stopped at were beautiful and scenery stunning. Sand tobogganing= exhausting, but what fun! We have some superb photographs of the day. The picnic lunch was good, plenty to eat and hot or cold drinks. Yes it was basic, but with the temperature over 30c and an inexpensive price for the trip we had no complaints at all. Take the Harrisons coach!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TupsleyHerefordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We chose Harrison´s because their price was so much cheaper than other tours and when you are travelling for four months, these kind of things all add up. The coach was older than some of the more expensive tours, but that didn´t matter in the overall scheme of things.

Our driver Simon, as others have noted, was very chatty throughout the day with his old (groan-worthy) jokes, but the day rubbed along well.

We were collected/returned direct from/to our hotel accommodation, which was a bonus.

A picnic under some trees at lunchtime was included in the price.

Cape Reinga was everything I had hoped for and the sand-toboganning and Ninety Mile Beach was an absolute delight.

Do yourself a favour - go on this tour. You wont regret it - and you´ll save yourself some money, too!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The welcoming of Simon the driver and his chatter throughout the day was excellent, although his jokes really need updating!! Not too much talk or information overload gave us time to relax and enjoy the journey/scenery. Ninety Mile Beach was everything we thought it would be and more with lots of stories and legends. The sand-surfing was amazing, but getting to this point was unexpected, the drive up the Te Paki stream was surprising, we really enjoyed it. Lunch was yum, and then we headed to Cape Reinga which we don't need to explain. INCREDIBLE! The white sands of Rarawa are everything you would imagine a beach would be.
Our journey to discover the Kauri of New Zealand was another journey, we would highly recommend it to all Kiwis and overseas visitors.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Like others, we chose Harrisons simply because it was cheaper than the others. All in all, it was OK: the sand tobogganing was a lot more fun than I expected but it was hard to put up with the driver's endless series of bad jokes (many of them sexist. It was like going back to the 1950s. Someone should clue him in. ) Also, lunch was supposes to be included but instead there were only a few bags of junk snack food. Yuk!! I would recommend spending a bit more for a more pleasurable experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caminoista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrisons Cape Runner also viewed

 
Kaitaia, Northland Region
 

Been to Harrisons Cape Runner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing