We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 day break in Hahei April 2014”

The Church Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Please take the time to check out the excellent reviews over at The Church Accommodation TripAdvisor page. Although we are owned and operated separately, we are located on the same site in beautiful Hahei and work wonderfully alongside one another. The Church Accommodation is an excellent choice if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Hahei. PLEASE NOTE, WE ARE CURRENTLY CLOSED FOR THE WINTER SEASON. WE WILL OPEN AGAIN LATE AUGUST/EARLY SEPTEMBER. THANKS FOR YOUR INTEREST AND WE WILL SEE YOU ANOTHER TIME. Julia and Nick.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“4 day break in Hahei April 2014”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

WOW , stayed in Church accommodation, we weren't expecting such great dining right on our door-step. So good we went twice in 4 days!!. Bit of a chilly restaurant without much atmosphere, especially if you don't get a table inside. The food it great, especially lamb tagine (tender as!) aubergine parmigiana (soo tastey), steak, cooked to perfection, potato bravas, really yum. Would highly recommend, not really any competition in the area...not even in Whitianga. Would definetley eat there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    75
    21
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Tapas”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great service, atmosphere, generous servings - we loved the fish and moroccan chicken. Great to sit outside with the huge moon lighting up the night sky.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Romy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
425 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Although the village of Hahei is not blessed with an abundance of restaurants (we could only find 2 other places to eat and they were day time cafes) The Church does not sit on it's laurels. Housed in an old Methodist Chapel dating back to the early 1900's this restaurant is exceptional, more so considering how remote it's position is. The menu is Spanish Tapas style although the servings are much larger than any previous experience of tapas in other places. Service is excellent from the greeting as you enter through to the goodbyes as you leave. Food quality is superb and a reasonable wine list to accompany it although the beers (from a local brewery in Hahei) I thought were expensive. We enjoyed our meal so much that we booked again for later in the holiday before leaving. A couple of tips would be if you order the beef fillet (300gms) don't have a starter as it is a big meal and secondly consider the chefs Tapas tasting menu and be pleasantly surprised at what comes to the table. If you are in the Coromandel and close to Hahei I would definitely recommend a visit but do book ahead as they recommend making a reservation. It's a long drive to find no table available.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfect final dinner in NZ”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A great menu. Lovely lamb tagine with couscous, fish of the day and aubergine parmigiana. That with the vegetable dish was more than we could finish. Open on a Monday, which not everywhere is once you are out of the summer season. Wish we'd eaten there every night we were in the Coromandel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucydan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great food and wine. The green-lipped mussels are divine. One of the best meals we enjoyed in New Zealand.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church Restaurant also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Church Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing