We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Purangi Gardens Accommodation
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A real paradise”
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We were recommended Purangi Garden by a sailor in Paihia and it exceeded our expectations. We stayed in Sunflower Chalet which overloooks the little private beach, so we were able to watch the tides ebb and flow and the waters change from green to blue. The chalet was well designed, spotless and very comfortable. We had all our meals out on the verandah, including barbecues.

This is great if you are looking for peace and quiet, with a focus on back to nature. It was absolutely private as we had to drive along a 5km gravel track to get it. We were serenaded by birdsong in the gardens and surrounded by Pohutakawa trees and rolling hills.

The owner, Susan, supplied us with fresh flowers, home-baked bread, newly-laid eggs, fresh coffee and cereal. She gave us oranges, lemons and grapefruit from her orchards and we were able to harvest various kinds of lettuce and herbs from her garden plot, to make some interesting salads. She was extremely helpful and hospitable in making sure we had what we needed.

We had the use of their kayaks and a dinghy to potter around the Purangi River estuary. We intended to do all sorts of things when we got there, such as go for long walks (too hot) and visit some popular spots such as Hahei Beach, Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach (too many people) so we stayed put in this little idyll. Our kayaking skills improved, from being complete novices to being able to travel quite a long way along the Purangi estuary, surprising pied shag, oystercatchers and diving gannets as we glide by. One day we took the dinghy over the river to beautiful Cook's Beach to get some provisions.

Amazingly we even had free wi-fi here, quite unusual in New Zealand, although it was very slow and keeps dropping. We would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

What can I say about Purangi ... we love this place so much. It's not for those who prefer the luxury hotel, but if you want peace, beauty and low-key comfort, Purangi is for you. We stayed in just about all the options ... the chalets are ideal for a couple wanting romance, the Orchard house for a small family/group needing a bit of space, and I had a great birthday at the Purangi house - that deck has the most spectacular views. Rod and Susan do everything they can to make you feel at home, and their the sorts of people you're just happy to pay for the pleasure of staying at their idyllic little big of paradise. If you want to get away from everything (and you WILL be away from everything), go there immediately.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, IL USA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Our stay at Purangi Gardens was an extremely enjoyable one. The Lavendar Cottage was very comfortable and clean. A nice touch was the home-grown plums and avocados in the bowl by the door. There was a double bed and single bed in the 1-room (plus the bathroom) Lavendar Cottage. A loft area had another sleeping area big enough for 2 people. The cabin was in a great setting, nestled among large leafy bushes and trees. The main home nearby has about a dozen kayaks available for use in the small bay in front of the property. The breakfast that was available in the morning was a great combination of cereal, bread, spreads, and fruit. Purangi Gardens is a ways off the main road in the area, which makes for a peaceful and quiet setting. That said it is still a short drive from Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove, and Hahei.

  • Liked — Location, setting, hospitality of hosts
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnF_1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a lovely little cabin called Lavender. It was small, had a few spiders but was cosy enough and right next to the river esturary. Fresh bread and basic provisions came in the morning from the friendly hosts, Susan and Rod. We were woken one morning by the cheeky chickens tapping on the door for some more crackers that we were feeding them with the day before. The "free to use" canoes were good to go exploring up the esturary and accross to discover the white sands of "Cooks Beach". A perfect retreat in an amazingly peaceful and lush surroundings. Just be prepared for the 5mins drive in on an unsealed road...not a problem to us and it keeps it being a place "off the beaten track". We'd definately stay there again!

  • Liked — Canoes and scenery.
  • Disliked — Cobwebs :-)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We stayed in secluded privacy at this villa-like home (the Orchard House) amidst acres of "our own" gardens, both tons of flowering plants and expansive orchards of every kind of fruit-bearing tropical plant you could want!

Add to that views of the soft blue tropical ocean waters off the Coromandel Peninsula, and only a hop or two to gorgeous ocean-side hiking and the Hot Water Beach (Nature'sown hot tub-- try one in warm moonlight!) Don't miss it!

And all this was warmed by our very friendly and accommodating hosts who provided not only fresh orchard pickings for our breakfasts but also fresh-caught fish one day! As well as loads of in-the-know information about all the area's great attractions...

Do get good directions from the main road before you go. We got to see a bit more of the countryside than we wanted to before we found it...

  • Liked — Locaton, hosts, gardens
  • Disliked — bedroom facilites--spare--but the rest made up for it!
  • Tips/Secrets — Get good directions, go in daylight
  • Stayed February 2002, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CofAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Found this place on Fodors and was surprised to see that there weren't any reviews about it on Trip Advisor. This place is really special. It's location, on a private estuary in the Coromandel area, is spectacular. When we arrived, there had been days of heavy rains, so our wonderful hosts, Susan and Rod, gave us our choice of accommodations (it was winter and the only guests on the property). The original river-side cabin we booked would have been a bit difficult driving our car to so we were offered a house with a spectacular ocean view. The riverside cabins were incredibly charming but having the option of a huge house to spread out in was too good to pass up. We enjoyed kayaking on the estuary (free to guests), and trying Susan's seasonal harvest of fruits and veggies, which she grows on the property. If you want plush, don't go here. This is a retreat. If you want seclusion in a beautiful natural setting on the waterfront, with the most gracious hosts, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Environment and setting were special. The hosts were like family.
  • Disliked — Bathroom needs updating but not an issue
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathgraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
3.1 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
493 reviews
14.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.7 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
428 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Church Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purangi Gardens Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purangi Gardens Accommodation

Property: Purangi Gardens Accommodation
Address: 321 Less Rd., Hahei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing