We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! is the only word to do it justice”
Review of Hahei Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hahei Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We always book our NZ trips via DesigNZ on Travel. They told us that we would be delighted with this place. They did not let us down. We just kept finding ourselves saying "wow". The room was stunning - straight out of a Homes and Garden feature. The views are lifted from a travel feature. You walk along the beach and back by moonlight to the local restaurants. And if all this were not enough, the hosts treat you like old friends. This place is a gem. I was sorely tempted not to write a review and keep it to myself. But that would be unfair to such delightful, welcoming and warm hosts. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latimer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Hahei Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 81 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2011

Wow! A truely fabulous location. If you want a little bit special, this is the place. Situated over looking Hahei beach, which in our opinion is one of the best beaches in the area. Raewyn and Joe were charming, they welcomed us into their beautifully designed home along with providing all the extras you could imagine. Raewyn certainly whips up some delights for breakfast, delicious. With direct access to the beach down a handful of steps in the garden, you can enjoy a Kayak courtesy of Joe helping lower them to the beach or enjoy a snorkle, spotting the abundance of sea life right on your doorstep. You can also enjoy a short walk to the local shops and eateries only a ten minute walk away. We loved every minute of our stay, our only wish was that we had booked for longer! We will be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crusemissile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Hahei Oceanfront, in its peaceful beach location was the perfect start to our recent holiday to New Zealand. Joe and Raewyn's home was tasteful, modern, very comfortable and most welcoming. Our bedroom enjoyed views out towards the ocean and the beach which was reached by steps from the deck at the end of the lawn. Raewyn and Joe were the most personable, warm and generous hosts. We were quickly made to feel very much at home and during our stay enjoyed sundowners and chat with them at the end of our day. They were also extremely helpful and informative about the best places to eat and visit on the Peninsula.
Raewyn's breakfasts were delicious, thoughtfully prepared and plentiful.
We certainly intend returning to Hahei Oceanfront on a planned return visit to New Zealand in the future. A beautiful little gem by the ocean!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Date: Oct'2010
We spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon at Hahei - Oceanfront and could not have asked for a better start! Hahei, at a 2 hour drive from Auckland, is a quaint little beach town and Oceanfront is everything that it is promised to be - a fantastic beachfront property, tastefully designed interiors and lovely hosts.

We had also booked the explorer beat trip which takes you through the network of caves and also got some wonderful shots of the dolphins. I would also recommend borrowing a kayak from the hosts and paddling your way into the sea!

Finally, the review cannot be complete without a special mention of the great breakfast spread put out by Raewyn and Joe - Don't forget to try the home made Muesli!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikXG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Hi,

I brought my girlfriend to Hahei last week to propose - and I couldn't have picked a more beautiful place to stay. Raewyn and Joe are excellent hosts. They made us feel very welcome in their home and were full of helpful hints and tips for the surrounding area (Raewyn even suggested where I could propose - she was spot on!) We were not rushed to leave the next day either.

The property itself sits along Hahei beach. We stayed in the suite room - 180 degree panoramic view from the room of the sea and little islands. Can even see the sea when your in the shower/bath!! Everything was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable king size bed - I fell asleep so easily with the sea waves in the background!

Breakfast in the morning was high quality and they even cracked open a bottle of champagne to celebrate our special occasion with the other guests.

All in all - fantastic stay. Thank you Raewyn and Joe.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerolaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Amazing hosts, beautiful views on the beach and an awesome small town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudhirsirohy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We spent two relaxing days at Hahei Oceanfront, walking the beach, watching the water, enjoying the company of hosts Raewyn and Joe. We highly reccommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiniwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
13.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.2 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
The Church Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Oceanfront

Address: 23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range: $182 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hahei Oceanfront is luxury hosted accommodation, located between two of the Coromandel Peninsula’s top natural attractions, the world-renowned Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Situated on the dune just above the beach, Hahei Oceanfront is the ultimate in luxury accommodation, with superb ocean views of the Pacific. Built in late 2004, the house is designed to comfortably accommodate your hosts Raewyn and Joe, and to offer boutique luxury accommodation to the world’s most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hahei Oceanfront Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing