We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, piecefull and relaxing”
Review of Hahei Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hahei Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful, piecefull and relaxing”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Rooms were delightful and the breakfast on the patio each morning was superb. Hahei is a slice of paradise and I am so pleased I came back after my previous experience in February at Hahei BnB. I would recommend anyone comeing to here to stay with Jo and Raewyn. I was made to feel most welcome and their recommendations on what to do and see were spot on. Thank you for having me, I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deby-petal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed at Hahei Oceanfront for the first four nights of our holiday in New Zealand. Couldn't be a better introduction to NZ nor a better treatment for jetlag after the journey from the UK. A stunning house, modern and very comfortable, wonderful views, superb breakfasts and very welcoming and kind hosts. Great to walk straight onto the beach from the garden. Hahei is a quiet small town with good walking along the coast and easy driving to local restaurants and attractions on the Coromandel Peninsula.

Room Tip: Mahurangi has the better view of the two rooms but both are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you want a B&B with a superb location, this is it. The owners, Jo and Raewyn are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts on their patio quite excellent - different every day. I will just provide a few words of warning to help future guests (not detracting from my overall 5 star review). There are not 3 restaurants within walking distance as the website states(unless very recently updated) only one, the Church, which is OK but not brilliant. There are no on-site washing facilities, at least in summer due to water shortages. The nearest laundrette is in Whitianga, 1/2 hrs drive away. The the telly in the Te Karaka room is rather small to see properly from the bed (but only needed for inclement weather). All the rooms have some windows without blinds which might be a problem in high summer.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. the suite has fabulous views but is more expensive. We found the Te Kara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Hahei Oceanfront is a terrific place to stay. Joe and Raewyn are excellent hosts and provide a wonderful breakfast each morning with great coffee. My husband and I stayed in the Mahurangi room, which has a comfortable bed and a view of the ocean. The property is incredible and just steps from the beach. Unfortunately, our first day in Hahei was in the midst of one of their worst storms in 40 years, but it was still cozy and Joe & Raewyn made us feel at home with a welcome glass of wine. They offered recommendations in the area, as well as shovels for hot water beach and drove us to the parking lot to visit Cathedral Cove. This B&B is a magical place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinMDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

A lovely room overlooking the ocean with very friendly hosts who went out of their way to make our stay interesting and enjoyable. Breakfast was great with a different mix of fresh fruit each day, Greek yoghurt and home made granola as well as cooked options. The beach is good for swimming and the Explorer boat takes you out to interesting islands and caverns around the bay. A couple of good local restaurants - especially liked the wood-fired pizza at Purangi winery and the amusing fast-paced spiel from the winery owner is worth listening to while your pizza is baking. Take a trip to Whitianga and to Coromandel town for the very special scenic railway.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place will stump you. Literally! Nested right in front of the beach, this place is to die for. The place is actually a B&B (bed and breakfast) but it makes you feel worth a million, i.e. if you like a little homeliness combined with an upmarket beachfront hotel experience. The place is simply amazing. Very neat, very simple and very elegant. The couple running this place are very friendly and warm. Raven makes amazing breakfast and shortbread. They will make you feel so comfortable that it will be difficult for you to leave. The view from the front porch makes you feel like you are in a picture postcard. I shouldn't say much. Just go an experience it yourself.

Room Tip: There are two rooms. All are great. But the suite is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyahGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hahei Oceanfront has one of the best beachfront views in the world. We arrived and stayed in the upstairs suite. We were greeted by a amazing view of brilliant stars and the gentle sound of waves breaking just outside our window. In the morning we awoke to a brilliant sunrise with golden beams of light playing off the tortoise blue water. It is in a excellent location near Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach.

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spookyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.6 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
3.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Oceanfront

Property: Hahei Oceanfront
Address: 23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hahei Oceanfront is luxury hosted accommodation, located between two of the Coromandel Peninsula’s top natural attractions, the world-renowned Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Situated on the dune just above the beach, Hahei Oceanfront is the ultimate in luxury accommodation, with superb ocean views of the Pacific. Built in late 2004, the house is designed to comfortably accommodate your hosts Raewyn and Joe, and to offer boutique luxury accommodation to the world’s most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hahei Oceanfront Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing