We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hahei Oceanfront
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hahei
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Grumpy's Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Anchorage Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mana-Nui Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Motel(Whitianga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
77
3
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
3
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome cooked breakfastgreat recommendationsbed and breakfasthot water beachspectacular viewsmercury baybeautiful beachjoekayak
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 82 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a short stay at Oceanfront before the start of a busy weekend. What a fabulous place to catch your breath. The beach is beautiful and the accommodation well appointed and the atmosphere serene and restful Joe and Raewyn were the most gracious hosts with Raewyn cooking us a beautiful breakfast and Joe making a wonderful coffee. We felt we came as stangers to Oceanfront and left as friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverfox2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Well, what can I say - this accommodation just had to be the best that we stayed in during our three weeks in New Zealand! The position is to die for. The darling hosts were a fantastic double act! The rooms beautifully clean and the beds very comfortable. Our breakfasts, on the terrace overlooking the sea, were simply delicious and varied each morning. A perfect situation to explore the region. Thank you Joe for the loan of the Kayak! What fun that was. We will certainly be back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Such a great spot, overlooking the glorious Hahei beach, and a short walk to the pah from which you can look all the way down the beach one way and at the sunrise the other (recommended for an early start but it's much easier with a touch of jetlag).

Joe and Raewyn are great hosts, immediatly making you feel totally comfortable in their home and serving a top quality breakfast, great coffee and innovative pre-dinner canapes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Perfectly located on the beach front with stunning views across the Pacific Ocean. We walked from here to Cathedral Cove drove the short distance to Hot Water Beach - we couldn't have found a better place to stay. Raewyn and Joe were very hospitable hosts - booking dinner for us and advising us on where to explore. The breakfasts at Hahei Oceanfront were fantastic, we were greeted with homemade shortbread - you won't find a better place to stay on the Coromandel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is a superb hotel: I loved the sleek modern architecture, the friendly welcome from Joe and Raewyn, the clean, comfortable room and big shower (something so many good hotels fail to get right), and then you see the view... wow! The back terrace overlooks a stunning beach, looking one way towards a lush green headland (with a Maori pa apparently), straight ahead to a number of rocky islands, and the other down the length of the gorgeous white sand. Now some people might be put off by the presence of a long line of tractors but personally I loved it - they're pretty photogenic and add to the character of the place. Where else in the world would you see that?!

Breakfast was pretty tasty and, while normally I don't like to have to share a table with other guests, here the view and hosts made it all feel pretty relaxed and sociable.

On top of all that, it's a very short drive (or a long-ish walk) to the beautiful Cathedral Cove in one direction, and a short drive the other to Hot Water Beach. One tip: get there really early, or you'll end up missing out on the prime spots and sitting in cold water (which you can pretty much do anywhere).

So yes, this place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews