We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most perfect stay ever!”
Review of Hahei Oceanfront

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hahei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hahei Oceanfront
Ranked #3 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most perfect stay ever!”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

My husband and I spent 50 (not enough) days touring New Zealand,staying mostly in B&Bs. But one of the best one was Hahei Oceanfront. The setting is magnificent, the house very comfortable and pieceful but over all it is Raewyn and Joe’s hospitality that made this house so charming. In the morning we enjoyed the homemade ingredients of our breakfast overlooking the beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newzealand2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

From the moment you step through the front door to the moment you sadly depart you will not find better in the Coromandel. The warm and personal welcome from Raewyn and Joe, the outstanding views, the super clean , spacious bedrooms with fluffy towels and crisp white linen. Hahei Oceanfront cannot fail to impress and amaze. Even at peak season rates this offers great value. The breakfasts, often taken on the sun deck , feature fresh fruits, ground coffee, cereals and a cooked breakfast cooked to perfection. Raewyn offers sound advice on places to eat and where to visit in the area. We had just one regret and that was that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidsupermoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

An absolutely wonderful place to stay if you are visiting New Zealand!
Hahei Oceanfront, from the stunning location, the beautiful house and the charming Raewyn and Joe, provided the most incredible experience. We felt energised and pampered by our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary10968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We always book our NZ trips via DesigNZ on Travel. They told us that we would be delighted with this place. They did not let us down. We just kept finding ourselves saying "wow". The room was stunning - straight out of a Homes and Garden feature. The views are lifted from a travel feature. You walk along the beach and back by moonlight to the local restaurants. And if all this were not enough, the hosts treat you like old friends. This place is a gem. I was sorely tempted not to write a review and keep it to myself. But that would be unfair to such delightful, welcoming and warm hosts. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latimer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Wow! A truely fabulous location. If you want a little bit special, this is the place. Situated over looking Hahei beach, which in our opinion is one of the best beaches in the area. Raewyn and Joe were charming, they welcomed us into their beautifully designed home along with providing all the extras you could imagine. Raewyn certainly whips up some delights for breakfast, delicious. With direct access to the beach down a handful of steps in the garden, you can enjoy a Kayak courtesy of Joe helping lower them to the beach or enjoy a snorkle, spotting the abundance of sea life right on your doorstep. You can also enjoy a short walk to the local shops and eateries only a ten minute walk away. We loved every minute of our stay, our only wish was that we had booked for longer! We will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crusemissile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Hahei Oceanfront, in its peaceful beach location was the perfect start to our recent holiday to New Zealand. Joe and Raewyn's home was tasteful, modern, very comfortable and most welcoming. Our bedroom enjoyed views out towards the ocean and the beach which was reached by steps from the deck at the end of the lawn. Raewyn and Joe were the most personable, warm and generous hosts. We were quickly made to feel very much at home and during our stay enjoyed sundowners and chat with them at the end of our day. They were also extremely helpful and informative about the best places to eat and visit on the Peninsula.
Raewyn's breakfasts were delicious, thoughtfully prepared and plentiful.
We certainly intend returning to Hahei Oceanfront on a planned return visit to New Zealand in the future. A beautiful little gem by the ocean!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Date: Oct'2010
We spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon at Hahei - Oceanfront and could not have asked for a better start! Hahei, at a 2 hour drive from Auckland, is a quaint little beach town and Oceanfront is everything that it is promised to be - a fantastic beachfront property, tastefully designed interiors and lovely hosts.

We had also booked the explorer beat trip which takes you through the network of caves and also got some wonderful shots of the dolphins. I would also recommend borrowing a kayak from the hosts and paddling your way into the sea!

Finally, the review cannot be complete without a special mention of the great breakfast spread put out by Raewyn and Joe - Don't forget to try the home made Muesli!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikXG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
6.0 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
3.4 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
422 reviews
6.5 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Church Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Oceanfront

Property: Hahei Oceanfront
Address: 23 Wigmore Crescent | Hahei, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hahei Oceanfront is luxury hosted accommodation, located between two of the Coromandel Peninsula’s top natural attractions, the world-renowned Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach. Situated on the dune just above the beach, Hahei Oceanfront is the ultimate in luxury accommodation, with superb ocean views of the Pacific. Built in late 2004, the house is designed to comfortably accommodate your hosts Raewyn and Joe, and to offer boutique luxury accommodation to the world’s most discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hahei Oceanfront Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing