We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, convenient place to stay in Hahei”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Stayed here for just one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. We arrived to a lovely warm room (it was early spring, but a wet day) which had plenty of space, cooking facilties and basics for making drinks etc in fridge. We stayed in one of the cottages just one up from the basic - it had a couch (see earlier review). We ordered the breakfast package - which was more than enough - probably could have managed on between us! Reserved a table at restaurant on site - not owned by same people as cottages. Meal was good, but not cheap. Nearby was a small supermarket where you could buy essentials, and also the beach. They supply spades if/when you want to visit Hot water beach. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for The Church Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 349 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at the Church Accommodation for one night, before heading for hot water beach early the next morning. The rooms are basic but clean. The breakfast is rather simple and served as a small buffet. The only problem we had was arriving after 7 p.m. and found nothing more to eat. Their restaurant was closed that day. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed at the Church for two nights over Queens Birthday (NZ holiday) weekend. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and told if we needed anything just to ask. Our room was very clean and full on character – love the wooden cabin look, with old fashioned windows.

We stayed in a self contained cottage with a fire place. Rooms are very spacious, bed was super comfortable, bathroom clean – only complaint there was the shower is rather dark, being in the corner, so could use a light over it. Kitchen is pretty basic – two elements, so not expect to cook a gourmet dinner in here. But was adequate for what we needed it for. Only serious gripe about the room would be the lack of couch, As we were staying in winter, you are spending more time in your room and there is no where (that is comfortable) to sit for a long period of time, so a couch would be a great addition!
The fireplace – was fantastic, a must in winter!!! As it made the whole place so warm and cozy.

The rooms are surrounded by beautiful gardens, and it is so quiet and peaceful, you could be excused for thinking you are the only people there.

I would recommend this place to anyone. I would also recommend the restaurant – great food (my partner said best steak ever), and really good service. A must try if you are visiting Hahei.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waikatogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We got into Hahei in the afternoon with no reservations and were happy to pass The Church first on our way into town. The room was great, the staff was very helpful planning our day they even calling the kayaking company multiple times for us, getting us prepared for our dig at Hot Water beach with shovels and tips. The Church restaurant was also an excellent dinner and if w weren't nearing the end of our vacation we would've loved to stay another night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjojaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Our cottage was beautiful and the surrounding gardens were absolutely gorgeous to look out on from our little patio. The hotel serves an unbelievable breakfast and the place is close to hot water beach and Hahei beach where we spent a wonderful kayaking. The people were very accomodating ahd the attached restaurant serves very good food. All in all it was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbook130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

After getting over our jet lag in Auckland this was our first stop on a month long trip to North Island. The drive from Auckland wa fasinating and we were delighted with our accomodation, a studio in a block of 4, clean well equipped and so unusual. You could gaze up to the stars through the lovely oval window on a clear night.
It was a short walk to the beach and centre and near to lots of interesting places by car.
An excellent continental breakfast was served by friendly staff in a delightful breakfast room each morning. We ate one night in the Church restaurant, very good but quite expensive.(this is privately run and you need to book as soon as you arrive as it gets very busy and is quite small).
We stayed for 3 nights and were reluctant to move on, we were worried that we had found the best b&b and location first. Great value, very different and in a charming place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pr_sewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

My husband and I and 2 adult children stayed at The Church in February 2009. Our cottage was beautifully decorated in a colorful, rustic style with great attention to detail and comfort for the guests. The surrounding grounds and gardens attract many birds, and the adjoining restaurant serves first-class meals. The Church's location in Hahei (a lovely seaside town) is within walking distance to all amenities. For a unique and quiet retreat, this accommodation is above and beyond.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZtravelerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
430 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $85 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing