We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your very own lovely little kiwi cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 25, 2008

The Church B&B might not give you as fantastic a view of the sea or coast as other establishments situated higher up in the hills but no matter, you've got your car/campervan to get up to lookout points and hiking routes along the coast anyway .

We arrived later than our indicated time of check-in and were slightly alarmed to find that the office was closed, but were promptly met by Richard who informed us that we could just move right into our studio unit. A parking lot right in front of our unit had been considerately reserved for us.

The studio unit was really quaint what with all the wooden structures and was spacious with sufficient chairs and tables for you to dump your stuff as well as a little window seat. The mattress was firm, bedsheets were clean, and pillows were soft and fluffy. Falling asleep is definitely not going to be a problem. Hot water was a concern since we were there in Autumn but this wasn't a problem. The shower jet pressure was top class and the temperature could be adjusted as desired. The bathroom might be a bit small for those more used to hotel-sized bathrooms but it's definitely sufficient. It's at the front of the unit so opening up the ventilation window might rob you of some privacy but it's a small matter. The compound was really quiet and serene even though there were quite a few other tourists. We were alone all the time we spent in our backyard gardens. The nightsky is amazing in Hahei.

We didn't try the food at the Church as it proved a tad pricey for our budgets. Food could be a problem in Hahei if you're not preparing your own since there're only 3-4 eateries clustered together and these aren't exactly cheap, BUT, they're good.

There isn't a smorgasboard of breakfast items but if you're not expecting a 10-course breakfast you'll do just fine. Service is intimate and you get the family coming by asking you what sort of beverages you want (juices, coffee, and tea aren't on display buffet-style but this makes them fresher). There's a variety of cereal and lovely awesome cranberry home-baked muffins but nothing along the lines of a big kiwi breakfast e.g., eggs, bacon etc. You might want to get to breakfast early as the breakfast room isn't exactly huge and can probably fit at most 15-20 pple at a time? There's outdoor seating too but in colder weather that's not really an option...

We didn't need to use any of the facilities The Church provided as Hahei was our first stop in New Zealand and we still had plenty of clean clothes but there were washing machines, an internet station, a tour desk, dryers etc. There's also a kayaking company directly opposite the accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for The Church Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 350 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2008

Keenly priced, but way above your average NZ motel. We had a two night stay on tikki-tour with my parents. So had two rooms booked, both were very nice, with private sheltered deck areas. It is very peaceful and quiet, so two nights was just perfect, any longer and we would have gone a bit stir crazy, as there's nothing else really nearby or within walking distance.

A perfect place to stay and explore the Coromandel region, a few minutes car ride to Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove and the ferry for Whitianga. There's a small general store and takeaway place in Hahei, but you wouldn't want to rely on them too much, best to plan ahead if self-catering and take your own groceries with you.

The restaurant is top notch and worth it to go for the weekend, eat in the restaurant and stay overnight.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bravia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

I was shocked at the quality of the rooms for the price. We traveled to NZ in March of 2007. I believe the Church was either just built, or newly remodeled.

The bathroom, living area and bedroom were very up-to-date, clean and fresh.

The grounds were beautiful as well - very tropical and GREEN!
The food was excellent. We ate dinner there twice and breakfast every morning - very gourmet.

Just a short walk to Hahei Beach from The Church. And, a short drive to the hike to Cathedral Cove.

We LOVED this accommodation!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catlwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

We stayed here for two nights in February having just arrived in New Zealnd from Hong Kong. We were looking for a peaceful location and we certainly got it. We had a self contained cottage which was very clean if a little basic (not that that mattered). The tropical gardens surroundng each of the cottages/units were beautifully maintained and added to the tranquility.

Breakfast was very good, with fresh muffins being the highlight!

My only gripe would be that mosquito guards around the windows should be a must because we were badly bitten on our first night.

Hahei itself is a very peaceful area with little to do other than relax on the beautiful beaches nearly (including the famous hot water beach). A walk along the seas edge to Cathedral Cove is a must as well.

All in all very content.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in a separate cottage,at N.Z.$ 130 including breakfast, which is excellent value. It was spotlessly clean, with a little garden area outside to sit in. It's very quiet and peaceful and the breakfast is very good. The owners provide beach towels and also spades to dig your own pool at Hot Water Beach-make sure you dig very close to everyone else or you won't get hot water. The Church restaurant is excellent, although quite expensive, and you don't have to worry about drinking and driving.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Wrinkly one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Want to stay somewhere idyllic? Then this is THE place.

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of your holiday in NZ and it was a wonderful place to end the holiday. We got there quite late (9pm) and were offered 3 different rooms to chose from.

The room we chose was the most basic but so charming. No TV, no radio, no telephone, no internet. Instead it was peaceful and calming.

The room was tasetfully decorated, simple and warming. There is a small verenda in the back that looks onto a 'garden' which was nice a restful place to sit. In fact there are a plethora of plants adding to the greenery of the place.

The resteraunt was shut when we were there (Sun / Mon), but breakfast was simple but SO tasty. Home made muffins were a treat.

The host was a great help, and the place provides shovels which are necessary if you go to Hot Water Beach.

I would definitely stay there again and have no qualms in telling others to go there.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Meeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

This B&B is located in Hahei, close to the beach and close to Cathedral Cove.
It is a very romantic setting amidst a beautiful garden.
The cottages are stylish wooden units with bathroom and fridge. They are really nice for a romantic getaway - not for tv-lovers since there are are no tv's in the units.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is included and is ok, but not superb.
We stayed here for two days and have only good things to say about the Church.
Tip: try out the adjacent restaurant (in the actual Church)

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#1 of 6 in Hahei
430 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
6.1 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $85 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing