We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in the Church Cottages while exploring the Coramandel Peninsula. It was a very nicely outfitted room and was very comfortable. The cottages are nicely situated for privacy and have nice porches in order to spend time reading or enjoying a cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souzagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 407 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I picked this accommodation because it looked suitable to have some rest after a wedding on the beach we were invited to. When we got there we didn't even want to go to the wedding anymore! Cute, different, with lots of character, clean, spacious. We loved the little deck at the back. The garden was filled with flowers! If this wasn't enough, the service and the people running the place are extremely nice, friendly and very much customer orientated. Too bad we only got to stay for one night and didn't enjoy the place as much as it deserved!!! We booked right away for another night in January, to go back with my family coming from Italy to visit. They are going to love it! We stayed in a double room, but for that occasion we are going to stay in "the house", another wonderful piece of their hospitality collection. And this time we will try the restaurant as well! Not to be missed, as much as the stunning beach right at the bottom of the street.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here two nights and were very happy with it. We had the studio room which didn't have a kitchen, but did provide us with a toaster, kettle, fridge, tea and coffee. We brought our own breakfast but you can request breakfast for an extra cost. The cabins are in a relaxing setting surrounded in flaxes, bushes and trees which all bring the birds. They also provide a lot of privacy between the cabins.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful. There is a full kitchen, laundry and lounge (with TV and computer) for guests' use. On the same site is The Church Restaurant which looked good, but we didn't try.

Five minutes walk will bring you down to the lovely beach and there is the cliff walk to Cathedral Cove.

Room Tip: If you stay in a studio - No.4 is the furtherst from the restaurant. The 4 studio rooms are all pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Different to anywhere else. Unique accommodation. Comfortable, clean and quiet. Attractive gardens. No TV or Internet in rooms but available in a communal lounge area. Very friendly helpful staff. Loved this place. Unfortunately the restaurant was seasonally closed. If open would add to the ambience and character of this venue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanIneW1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NzDaytripper, Owner at The Church Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

We appreciate your comments.We're glad you enjoyed your stay.As you suggest,the restaurant does add another aspect to our business but until the spring season kicks in it is difficult to open it for just a few people.A recent fire that destroyed the other main restaurant in Hahei may enable the girls in the restaurant to consider opening a little earlier next season.
The studios (the smaller block of 4 units you stayed in) haven't got TV's but the other 8 cottages do.Because they are a block of 4 small units we decided that a TV in a lounge area would provide access to TV for those in the studios ,with the least disturbance to adjoining studio units.
Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We needed to take a 5 day minibreak, and wanted to bring Jessie Dog with us. The Church was perfect for what we wanted. Comfortable quiet, cosy yet spacious and close to everything we were looking for. I will review the restaurant separately.
The church accommodation would also suit a small family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petermacaulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while exploring the Coramadel. The cottages were set in very attractive gardens with a covered verandah on which we ate our breakfasts. The rooms were clean and simple but a little worn in places(shabby chic?) The bathrooms were quite narrow and basic. The breakfasts were acceptable with home made jams and breads.you were able to borrow spades to go to hot water beach for a small donation unfortunately it was pouring with rain and no hot water found!! We loved the area and the walk to Cathedral cove.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
Thank bomdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just needed somewhere over in the Coromandel for an overnight stop and a wee look around. We received a warm welcome with some helpful tips for places to go and a nice walk we might not have come across otherwise. The room had everything we needed in a very compact sort of way, but really attractively presented.
We had a small problem when a lamp shorted and tripped all the power on a cold night but the host came away from a party and fixed it all up in a very friendly and professional way.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
5.5 mi away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#10 of 18 in Whitianga
39 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Address: 87 Hahei Beach Road, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $90 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing