We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant change from B&Bs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Church Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pleasant change from B&Bs”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Check in was efficient and the cabins comfortable, clean and well stocked. It was nice to have a private terrace area and a pleasant surprise to find a small welcome pack. Eating out and shopping is an issue in Hahei, only The Church restaurant (very good food though) and take away fish and chip shop were open while we were there and only a very small grocery shop. Free beach towels and spades for Hot beach were a nice touch and the laundry facilities very useful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabhols_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    82
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
63
229
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Cute bungalows, convenient to Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. Dinner at the restaurant was good. Free spades for beach visits, but keep in mind that internet access and breakfast are charged separately.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theroamingzimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Check in was quick and easy, the friendly reception gave me the key to the studio and the option of sorting out the payment later, I should also note the 12 o'clock check in time was appreciated as I have a kayaking trip booked for the afternoon.

Beach towels and shovels are available at the reception for the guests without cost, there is also a BBQ cooker at the common area and a coin operated laundry. The accommodation also has a great garden and rural surrounding, although offering no seaview, the environment is relaxing and beautiful.

There are 4 studios in the same building with parking right outside the door. The unit itself is good size for 2 adults, bright, airy, has a comfortable deco and is very clean. It has a garden facing varandah with a table and 2 chairs, wooden floorboard, queen size bed, day bed by the window, table and 2 chairs, 3 hangers and hooks, a portable oil heater, kitchenette and a good size shower/toilet with hair-dryer.

The kitchenette has a microwave, bar fridge, toaster, kettle, chopping board and adequate dinning/food preparing supplies. The beddings and cotten bed linen are comfortable but the mattress itself is a bit on the soft side, despitet that I had a good night sleep.

I would recommend the Church Accommodation to anyone visiting Hahei.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The cabins were gorgeous with everything you need. They can also supply allergy free duvets and pillows. Wish we could have stayed longer. The only minor issue is that the toilet door is see though - not for the bashful :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuakau, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We booked a rather late stay at The Church, and were advised that we would have to move rooms for our two night stay. Would like to state that not only were we offered a discount for the inconvenience the staff were really helpful about it and ensured that the room we were moved to was cleaned first so we could just move our bags. We stayed in the detached unit for the first night and the smaller units for the second night. All was clean and well appointed. We would in future book further in advance to get the detached units. The only tiny issue I can say is that the lack of a tv and the smallness of the shower in the attached unit could be seen as a detractor from a brilliant boutique place to stay. We will be returning and I just love what the owners have done to the grounds - we even had our own Thrush bird visit us in the evening. Staff are friendly and helpful and willing to book trips for you and give advice. Think many hotels and bed and breakfasts could learn a thing or two from The church!

Room Tip: Get the detached unit - more private and a tv is useful for watching the news :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogLog F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The Church - Haihe Beach
Accommodation simple, basic, very clean & very practical. Great Location away from the
noise. Very comfortable bed and obliging hosts. East walk to everything.

The Church restauarnt (same block of land, different company) is another matter. very
expensive nouveau cuiseine and service ...well slow and far from obliging ..give that bit a
miss - but the litttle cabins are great and you can either cook in the cabin or wander down
the street or drive to local restaurants or take away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

An excellent location for Cathedral Cove and the hot spring beach. We were delayed at Sydney and on ringing them the owners stepped up to the mark. There are spades available for the hot spring beach, (which if you Are going to get ther 2 1/2 hours before low tide and also consider going at night as the day was so crowded)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PommieAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
13.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
17.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
3.2 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Church Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Church Accommodation

Property: The Church Accommodation
Address: 87 Hahei Beach Rd, Hahei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Church Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scattered amongst 1.5 Acres of established gardens and native trees, close to the natural wonders of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, The Church complex consists of 11 rustic and spacious wooden cottages along with 1 three-bedroom house suitable for larger groups. All our cottages have Queen-size beds with ensuite bathrooms and private balconies overlooking the peaceful gardens. Some of our largest cottages are equipped with kitchens and woodfires for cosy winter stays. They can also accommodate up to two extra guests. Our 3 bedroom house has a full kitchen, woodfire, BBQ, private garden and balcony. It can accommodate a maximum of 8 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Church Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Church Hotel Hahei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing