We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guided Kayaking overall in NZ”

Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Te Whanganui-A-Hei Marine Reserve opens up a sea kayaking paradise full of beaches, islands and rock gardens that are just waiting to be explored.Paddle through sea caves, interact with the local marine life and discover the thrill of kayak sailing with the wind on your back. To top it off we land at Cathedral Cove where you will be treated to our world famous cappuccinos and hot chocolates on the beach! Having delighted travellers for over 10 years, Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours are one of NZ's must do activities!
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Really well done operation. Professional from start to finish and the equipment was excellent. Guide (Brad I think) was really good. The coffee he made us on the beach was well enjoyed. From my travels over a month on both islands, this was the best value, most time on water, best scenery and most pro group going. Seriously well done and a great memory for anyone going to hot water beach.

1  Thank NZnickelanddime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thanks for your great review. Your comments are hugely encouraging and very much appreciated. Go well and we'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 475 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We took the full day tour and it was awesome. Kayaking south in the morning we saw some amazing volcanic rock formations and were also lucky enough to be amongst a large pod of dolphins. In the afternoon we ventured North to Cathedral Cove and an outer Island. The water is so clear you can see the fish swimming by. Our Guide Tom was fantastic and explained a lot about the area and its history.

Thank josheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks for the great review! I will be sure to pass your kind words onto Tom who will no doubt be very grateful. What a treat to paddle with the dolphins.. so happy that you had that experience with us. I am sure you will treasure those memories for a long time to come. Thanks for coming kayaking with us and we'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Was a bit rough with some white caps so paddling was difficult at times, but so beautiful!

The staff was super helpful and friendly.

If the water was calm stopping to snorkel would have made this trip!

1  Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks for your complimentary review. I always find it so satisfying to land on the beach after a stiff paddle into the wind.. sounds like you did well out there! Thanks for coming ad we'll see you next time..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I booked a half-day trip with Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, and very much enjoyed it. They were well organised. There were half a dozen small groups of about 5 double kayaks, each with a guide/instructor. I was on my own and they teamed me with another solo traveller who had also done a lot of kayaking, and we were well matched. All the necessary equipment was supplied and in good condition. Basic instruction was given, and a safety briefing. The trip lasted about three and a half hours, and included a stop on the beach where the guides brewed hot drinks for everyone. On several occasions we rafted up while the guides told us about the scenery, history and so on, so the less experienced paddlers got plenty of rests. I would have liked to go a bit further, and to explore some other parts of the coast and nearby islands. All in all, a very positive experience.

1  Thank Bean-astair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review your trip. Happy to hear that you had such a great time on the water. Thanks again for coming with us and we'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was the best way to experience Cathedral Cove and surrounding. Was the most exciting experience ever and I loved the hot drinks on the beach. This is defiantly a must do on the peninsula.

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Hi Karen, Thanks for the great review (it means a lot from a local). Glad you had an awesome experience with us. Thanks for coming and we'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing