We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome.”

Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Te Whanganui-A-Hei Marine Reserve opens up a sea kayaking paradise full of beaches, islands and rock gardens that are just waiting to be explored.Paddle through sea caves, interact with the local marine life and discover the thrill of kayak sailing with the wind on your back. To top it off we land at Cathedral Cove where you will be treated to our world famous cappuccinos and hot chocolates on the beach! Having delighted travellers for over 10 years, Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours are one of NZ's must do activities!
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Awsome trip. Great guides, very professional and knowledgable. Great mix of different sea states to paddle from swells to calm.

Helpful?
Thank Stunz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Glad to hear you had a great time on the water and that you were well looked after. Thanks for kayaking with us and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

we were scheduled to kayak but unfortunately the weather forced cancellation of this activity.

we made a trip to the beach nonetheless & the sight was breathtaking. We really missed the opportunity to kayak - it would have been wonderful. Watching the entire scenery was fantastic, being right in the middle would only have been better..

A must visit place in the Coromandel Peninsula!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarshLapsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for understanding our reasons for canceling your tour. Safety is of the highest importance in our business so we cancel all trips if the weather forecast is not suitable to operate safely. Hopefully we can get you on the water with us another time. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My Favorite Activity of my NZ Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had an awesome time kayaking the NZ seas with Cathedral Cove Kayaks. Our guide Marky-Mark was equally awesome and was very knowledgeable about the sights we were seeing, and telling interesting facts and stories about them. He also made sure the group stayed together (even us stragglers). Also, we were able to get picked-up and dropped-off at the Ferry from Whitianga which was very convenient. The stop at Cathedral Cove was just beautiful. It was definitely one of the top highlights of my entire NZ trip. If you are in Coromandel make sure you do this!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank McNulty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi there, thanks for posting such a positive review. It sounds like you had a fantastic day on the water! I have forwarded your comments to Marky who will no doubt be very grateful for your kind words. Thanks for posting the photos too, they look great. All the best for 2013 and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Great guides. Great location. Great coffee! I'd say this is a "must do" if you are spending a few days in Hahei!

Helpful?
Thank Rickardsjolander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Awesome. Glad to hear you enjoyed your kayaking experience so much. Thanks for taking the time to review and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Amazing Scenery & Great Guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Margot and I had a wonderful time on our full-day kayak trip. Our guide was full of knowledge and took us to some amazing sea caves and old blowholes with enormous history. Cathedral cove in the afternoon leg of the trip was probably my favorite part of the whole adventure. As others have said in their reviews, the hot drinks at Cathedral are really amazing and nowhere near a gimmick.

Make sure you plan a little extra time after your kayaking trip to snorkel around Gemstone (bay?cove?) because that is absolutely the best snorkeling I have ever done in my life. Then I carried on to Stingray Bay shortly after Gemstone and swam with some rays!

This place is amazing and the guided tour

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike G, Owner at Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Wow Craig, that really is a great review. I am so pleased to hear the trip was everything you had hoped for and that you were well looked after during the tour. I agree, this is an amazing place for kayaking with so many islands, caves and rock gardens to explore. Go well and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours also viewed

Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing