We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm-hearted hosts, lovely home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cathedral Cove Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cathedral Cove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 6 Hahei B&B and Inns
Ft. Saskatchewan, Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“warm-hearted hosts, lovely home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rachael was there to greet us on arrival and help take luggage up to our room. That accomplished we were invited to sit out on the patio, to enjoy drinks and snacks, with Rachael, Pat and their own friends who were visiting. We felt like old friends! They
are just the nicest people, offering to book trips, info on where to go, spades to dig at hot water beach etc... Their home is absolutely beautiful. Our room was large, with walk-in closet, en-suite bathroom and balcony. There is a common area between the 2 guest bedrooms upstairs, with tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge, so you can chill a bottle of something! Here we found magazines, books and information about the area and things to do.
The cooked breakfast was delicious, every one of the 4 days we stayed. There is a very good cafe, general store, ice-cream and gift shops, a short walk away.Rachael booked us a pew at the Church (local restaurant!) within walking distance the opposite direction.
Did I mention the beach? that's a hop-skip and a jump away!
I can't say enough about our hosts, they are the greatest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromsnowto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had expected this B & B to be good as we had checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking and we were not disappointed. From the moment of arrival the whole experience could not be faulted. Pat was on the drive waiting to welcome us before we had even got out of the car. As a previous reviewer commented, you can just tell as you approach that you are in for a quality experience. Its location to Cathedral Cove, Hahei beach and the Coromandel in general make it an attractive proposition.

The room was clean, modern and spacious with a sunny balcony and fabulous en-suite bathroom. There was even a walk in dressing room. Shared tea and coffee making facilities were available with a fridge adjacent to our room. The standard of furnishings and fittings were extremely high.

Pat and Rachael could not have been more helpful, providing spades for our trip to Hot Water Beach, with low tide times posted and booking a local restaurant. We were able to pre-order the cooked breakfast up till bedtime the night before and it was delicious and plentiful. We ordered eggs benedict and it was amazing.

This was one of the best B & B's we have stayed in and would be hard to beat. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and wish we had been able to stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a slightly smaller balcony, but were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicmonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Cathedral Cove B&B on 28 Feb 2013. Rachael and Pat were perfect hosts. As you drive up to their home, you know that you are in for a special experience. It is a beautiful house that Pat built. It is located less than 2 minutes from Hahei Beach and the Cathedral Cove entrance. The room was clean, modern, and spacious. The cook to order hot breakfast was outstanding. The previous evening, they had made reservations for us at the nearby Church Restaurant. It is a highly recommended place to stay in the Hahei area.

John and Susan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John5252_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I recented stayed at the Cathedral Cove Bed and Breakfast to relax after a 2 week bicycling tour around the north island. Rachael greeted us immediately and helped carry in our luggage. A chilled bottle of wine appeared while we were unpacking with some snacks. My husband wanted pizza for dinner and I agreed if the pizza parlor also offered green salads. Rachael immediately offered to make one for me with her garden grown vegetables. Both Pat and Rachael were helpful in offering suggestions for local activities and prepared fabulous breakfasts each morning. We found it easy to fill 5 days with hiking, wine tasting, kayaking and enjoying their company. We'll be back someday!!!

Room Tip: We had the king room which was spacious, lovely decor and ample closet space. The balcony was a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loves Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here on a tour around the north island of New Zealand. This was our last stop before heading home and we were not disappointed. The accommodations are clean, modern and the hosts are excellent. Thank you Pat for the special breakfast and thanks Rachel for helping with so many details! The walk to the beach is very short and the sites are breathtaking. So glad we made this a stop. Great memories!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived late in the evening at Cathedral Cove and were met in the driveway by Rachael and Pat. They could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. They quickly showed us to our room and provided a ton of information about what to do in the area. This B&B was incredibly organized with a binder full of information about the town of Hahei and neighboring town of Whitianga. They had a form to fill out allowing you to select what you would like for breakfast and when you would like it to be ready. This was a great feature as we were able to leave the form downstairs at our leisure.

We stayed in the Nikau room, which was very large, and perfectly clean with an ensuite bathroom and balcony. It’s a great room for a couple. Rachael and Pat were great and we enjoyed talking to them at length and hearing about their experiences. The B&B is a short drive away from hot water beach (they have the tide schedule on hand which came in handy!) and Cathedral Cove. You can walk into town and to the beach right from the house. Rachael and Pat were wonderful hosts making sure to provide beach towels, spades to dig a hole at hot water beach, and a delicious breakfast every morning. They even went out of their way to give us a recommendation for lunch outside of town on our way to the next destination. We had a great stay at Cathedral Cove Bed and Breakfast and would highly recommend it to other travelers. Thanks Rachael and Pat for a great experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay-Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Pat and Rachael were FANTASTIC hosts. We stayed here for just a (too) short visit of one night, but it was one of my favorite places to stay. The room was very private and had many modern amenities. The breakfast was really REALLY delicious and Pat gave many great recommendations of activities to do in the area. We did the hike to the Cathedral Cove, which starts at a short drive from the B&B. They also loaned us beach towels and spades for digging the "hot pools" at the Hot Water Beach. This place is a must if you are looking for some relaxation. It's in a quiet almost-residential area and things are walking distance, but short drives will bring you to most of the area's amazing attractions. This B&B is on the pricier side for being farther away from the coast, but it's worth it if you are looking for that classic, charming B&B feel for your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have private patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g8trbre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.1 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
The Church Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathedral Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral Cove Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cathedral Cove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 14 Cathedral Court, Hahei, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral Cove Bed and Breakfast is a quality accommodation, with genuine Kiwi hospitality, situated in the heart of Hahei, on the east coast of New Zealand's Coromandel Peninsula. This is your ideal location from which to explore world famous Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach! Our modern, natural NZ pine interior home offers two comfortable guest rooms and is within an easy 2-3min walk of stunning Hahei Beach and village. During your stay, we also hope you enjoy our delicious breakfasts and experience the unique attractions of the Coromandel region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cathedral Cove Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing