We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent host, very nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Hahei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have just got back from our trip in New Zealand, and I wanted to give Mark's B&B a great review as he was just a brilliant host and runs a nice B&B. We stayed with Mark for two nights, and every day he gave us brilliant suggestions of things to do each day, and pointed us in the direction of a nice pub and restaurant in Hahei. Our room was very comfortable, the breakfast was tasty (he was very accommodating to our needs), I highly recommend the place for anyone passing through Hahei and visiting Cathedral Cove.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luckymattman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 94 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

Me and my wife have just stayed with Mark this past weekend and can say that it has been one of the best places I have ever been to with the most amazing location and scenery.

Mark was very welcoming and made us feel right at home in his perfect setting. He was very helpful and knowledgeable with advising about activities in the area. On top of this we were served with cooked breakfast to die for, I have never had such a well portioned and nice cooked breakfast that I can recall, the only regret was that I couldn’t finish it.

Thoroughly enjoyable and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I went there for 4 days with my girlfriend. Our first impressions were very good with a friendly host. He recommended a restaurant across the street with a little pricy menu and then spoke bad about the other places in town. We went to one of the other places in town and found him 2 times.

The breakfast is the worst i have ever tried. I tried the continental and the fruit he served was rotten and there were mold on the grapes. I just ate a toast with jam instead.

Our room was okay, but needed a fridge.

2 thumps for internet and washing machine. Hahei B&B is also to expensive for what you get and I wont recommend it to anyone. Been in NZ for 1 month and this is the worst place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andreas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at Hahei Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2011

Dear Andreas,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us about the time you spent at our B&B. We are sorry to hear your stay with us was not all it could have been.

There are a wide range of wonderful dining and activity options in our area depending on what you are seeking, and we try our best to recommend those that will fit with what our guests have told us they are looking for. We apologise that in this instance our recommendation did not fit your expectations, and we will keep your comments in mind when we advise guests seeking restaurant suggestions in the future.

We also apologise about your experience with the fruit. The fruit we serve at our B&B is organic, which means that while it is preservative, hormone and chemical-free, it sometimes isn’t as shiny and bright as other fruit in the market. That said, we agree it should always be fresh, and if we are informed about an oversight regarding any food we serve at the time, we are happy to exchange it for something else where available or make up for it in another way during your stay.

Again, we are very sorry to hear your experience did not live up to first impressions. It is important to us that we are able to provide as enjoyable an experience as possible to all our guests, and we do hope the remainder of your travels were all you hoped they’d be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We have stayed here twice and really relax as soon as we arrive. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and very airy. Mark is a very good host and very willing to provide any help where necessary but will leave you to get on with your stay otherwise. He cooked a cray for us that my husband caught while diving locally. The pool is lovely and the walk to the beach and restaurants very convenient. Breakfast time is flexible and Mark is very willing to make any bookings with activities or restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely, depends on the party travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

B&B was lovely - large room with huge comfy bed and good ensuite. Pool, garedn and spacious and deck outside. Great (huge) breakfasts.
Kind,friendly and helpful host, who when we made mistake with our booking and turned up a day late refused to charge us for it....and also went to check out our walk to Cathedral Cove which had been part close to to walkway repair.
Near to cafes, shops and a 5 minute stroll to a beautiful beach, and just across the road from a very fine restaurant. Would definitely stay again if we return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyshireMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Well-tended house with pool, good located, i.e. near to the “Cathedral Cove”, “Hot Water Beach” and the beautiful Hahei beach. We had a room with 2 beds on the first floor and enjoyed pool and the small but nice garden. Perfect Continental breakfast.
Tipp: Interesting “Church-Restaurant” right over the street.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Quite a nice place to stay. It's a little bit of a walk from the main part of town but this is a minor problem as the town is small. There's also a great (though pricy) restaurant a block away called The Church - great for a romantic meal. Mark brought out our tasty breakfast right on time and gave us just the right amount of privacy. Only thing I would like to see is some better quality soap in the showers and bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alku83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
13.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
523 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#4 of 18 in Whitianga
280 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6 Jackson Place, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range: $199 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hahei Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hahei "The Great Bay of Hei" Here at the Hahei Bed and Breakfast, we offer premium Coromandel accommodation in one of the area's top holiday locations. Guests will be able to look forward to quiet surroundings, large swimming pool and subtropical gardens. Relax into this idyllic environment, and prepare for the perfect beach holiday! Of course, when you're not busy exploring the Coromandel Peninsula, you'll be able to enjoy the comfort of this peaceful, fresh-styled property... comfortable, spacious rooms complimented by subtropical gardens and a swimming pool. Choose from four well-equipped rooms, featuring facilities that range from en-suite bathrooms and kitchenettes through to lounges, as well as private decks with stunning natural views. We offer some of the best value accommodation in Hahei - and we'll help you to start each day as you mean to go on, with a hearty breakfast served "al fresco" beside the pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hahei Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing