We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Cathedral Cove Walk
from $210.66
More Info
from $270.35
More Info
from $280.18
More Info
from $930.31
More Info
Reviews (2,137)
Filter reviews
2,137 results
Traveler rating
1,575
459
73
22
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,575
459
73
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park water taxi cathedral cove minute walk beautiful beach new zealand nice walk well worth the effort walking shoes flip flops takes about minutes shuttle bus ups and downs limited parking natural beauty low tide take your time
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 2,137 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Ever since it was used in Narnia 2, this has been on the family bucket list. We also visited Castle Hill in Arthurs Pass which was the setting for Narnia 1. That aside it is a stunning setting on its own.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank krab2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

The walk was a little harder than we realised, but still a great walk. It was just more up hill than thought. But that was probably due to lack of research on my behalf. And lack of fitness . But it is on a path. And wear layers because it can be cold if windy at top and you certainly warm up with the walk .

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Started with lovely weather when we started off, as we were walking back the weather closed in but it was still beautiful! even though it was a little grey and windy it was beautiful when we got there. Try to make sure you know what time low tide is as otherwise you won't be able to make the most of it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

I chose to walk to Cathedral Cove early in the morning to take advantage of the low tide. I started from our accommodation behind the shops and walked via the beach which adds about 20 minutes. The track goes across a headland at the end of the beach and eventually joins up with the track at the car park. You can park at the beach for free whereas the car park charge is $15.
The views along the track are spectacular and Cathedral Cove itself is magical. By going early there were less than a dozen people sharing the Cove with me which made the experience even more special.
On the way back I walked back into town via the road from the car park.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank 19_Jen_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Cathedral cove is a definite must do! The parking lot is small and was $15 nzd to park, so get their early or in off season. There were houses along the way offering parking for around $10. The track to get to that picture perfect arch has some incline but it is not too hard, a lot of stairs at certain points. Once you reach the cove, it is just stunning. Such a gorgeous beach and it feels tucked away from the world. I was there Aug 27 and there were 10-15 other people on the beach. 2 other side tracks that take you to other beaches (one consisting of only large rocks). Took maybe 2.5-3 hrs for us to do the entire thing, with ample time spent taking pictures and exploring!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Kerri a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews