We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural beauty at its best”

Cathedral Cove Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$278.47*
and up
Small-Group Coromandel Peninsula Day Trip from Auckland
More Info
$323.63*
and up
Coromandel and Cathedral Cove Day Trip from Auckland
More Info
$225.79*
and up
Cathedral Cove Day Trip from Auckland
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Hahei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
Ohope, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Natural beauty at its best”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The walk from the car park is moderate and take your time to enjoy the views along the way. The beauty of Cathedral Cove with its shimmering turquoise water is fabulous. Last time we visited here, we walked through the cave and became 'guests' of a wedding, being handed a glass of bubbly and nibbles - quite unexpected but added to our day. The addition of the water taxi is a great idea and you can also explore the area in kayaks.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,229
    359
    45
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I, in our mid sixties, visited Cathedral Cove today. It took us 25 minutes to walk down and 40 minutes to walk up including several rest stops. The view of the cove at the bottom was great. We saw people of all ages including a lot of kids making the climb down and up.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohaupo, null, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We did the walk from the car park to Cathedral cove with our four young children. They all managed the walk, even the 2 year old. There are some wonderful views along the walk and when you reach Cathedral cove it is beautiful. The kids loved playing in the water and were awed by the Cathedral. We also walked down to Gemstone bay which was cool, the kids had fun climbing over the rocks. It took us about an hour to walk to Cathedral Cove and just under an hour to walk back. We will definitely be coming back, maybe doing the kayak trip instead of the walk.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HollieD666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“so beautiful I thought I was dreaming”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Went to Hahei beach and found a new water taxi service had started up that very day, to take visitors from the beach to Cathedral Cove. You get off and just catch the next taxi back when ready. Well, the place is so lovely with its huge rock formations, turquoise waters and gold sands you never want to leave. From the cove you look out over all the little islands dotted around the area. We could have stayed all day. Don't forget sunscreen and you will get quite wet getting into the water taxi so wear swimmers!
The water taxi is, of course, only for those of us unable to do the walk through the bush to the cove. Nice to have an alternative!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwicurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful little corner of New Zealand”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

With only 3 days left in New Zealand it was hard to plan my time but I'm so glad I made the effort to visit cathedral cove. As someone who had done the Great Ocean Road trip a month previous, I would say the scenery in and around Cathederal Cove far exceeded that of what I saw in Australia. If you can, book the kayak tour, you'll get a real special experience of CC and the islands around Hahei beach.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmaG230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Cove Walk also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Hot Water Beach, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Cathedral Cove Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing