We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Winter Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hahei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Winter Getaway”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had an enjoyable 3 day stay at Hahei Horizon – Peter and Kay were very friendly and we enjoyed their lovely breakfasts and conversations around the breakfast table.

What a beautiful location, with stunning views especially from their lounge. We stayed in the Pa room – a nice spot to relax and super-comfortable bed!

Hahei is a stunning spot – and we enjoyed perfect winter weather.

A very relaxing, enjoyable stay - thanks.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmhs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thanks, we certainly can have some magical winter weather. We love having guests in the winter months as it is much quieter and we have more time to sit and chat with you and share what Hahei and the Coromandel has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We loved staying here -just a shame the weather wasn't as good as the service and room. Breakfast was taken at a large table with other guests - nice "family" atmosphere. Made to feel very welcome by the owners. Free internet. Only downside is there are not many places to eat in the evening in Hahei.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Millimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hi Millimad,
Sorry we couldn't turn on wonderful weather - we do try!! :)
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes there are only 2 restaurants in Hahei, but we are a very small village area. There are any number of eating places in Whitianga only 10 minutes by car and a 5 minute Ferry ride away. Many of our guests go here for the fun of it - and to fill their tummies. All good and thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This is a small B&B with a big welcome overlooking the village of Hahei. The room we had was perfect, with it's own entrance, parking space and small balcony area. The breakfast, taken on the patio was a great start to the day, and Peter and Kay recommended the local pub/bistro for dinner which really hit the spot and provided us with some of the best pub food we had on our 5 week NZ trip. Peter and Kay were lovely hosts, even arranging for a neighbour to come in a cook breakfast for us when they had to go to Auckland for a funeral...

Hahei is a really nice place to explore the Coromandel, being close to Hot Water beach (weird!), and Cathedral Cove (stunning!), but also a short drive to all the other places on the peninsula. Thanks for a memorable stay...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks,
We try to make everyone's stay memorable and we so enjoy doing the small things to make it so. We hope that the shower is not too "tiny". We decided when building that a 900 corner shower would be preferable to making the room itself smaller and compromising the wonderful sea view, however fair call, I guess the suite itself is rather large.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This B & B was booked for us by our travel agent so we were unsure what to expect. We had a wonderful stay with Peter and Kay who were very welcoming and helpful. Our breakfasts were very filling and varied and our room was large and very comfortable with a magnificent view. A walk to Cathedral Cove is a must. It was just too short a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are just as comfortable and have the same fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We loved staying in Peter and Kay's beautiful home. They were so welcoming and helpful, gave us a lovely well appointed room and a superb breakfast. It is so peaceful and quiet and is a perfect place to explore Hot Water Beach and Cathedral Cove. It is also only a short drive to the ferry which takes passengers across to Whitianga where all manner of delights await. We enjoyed a trip on the glass bottomed boat which is a fast speed boat part of the time but once inside the conservation area the cover of the glass bottom was lifted to reveal the fish and sea bed.

Room Tip: The room at the top, accessible both from inside and outside had a marvellous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on the 7th & 8th Feb 2012 in The Cove and loved it! When we arrived Peter and Kay warmly greeted and were so friendly. As we arrived on a Bank Holiday Peter phoned round the restaurants for us to make sure they were open and booked us a reservation.

The room was lovely, very clean with amazing views from the balcony we had. We had our own parking space, and entrance which was lovely.

Kay's breakfasts were amazing and set us up for the day. She was so helpful and recommend lots of things for us to see and do.

We loved Hahei and extended our stay here, unfortunately we couldn't stay another night here as it was fully booked as we definitely would have. If we ever go back we definitely will be staying here!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoF_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We spent one night at Peter and Kay 's place and can truly say it was one of the best places have ever stayed at. Their hospitality and warm welcome together with clean and excellent accommodation, location and views made our holiday. They gave us excellent advice on places to visit and booked a restaurant for us and dropping us off at cathedral cove went over and above any level of service I have ever received from any hotel .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamlesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaysieHahei, Owner at Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thanks, you were delightful people to have stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.1 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Hahei Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Address: 20 Grierson Close, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hahei Horizon Bed and Breakfast! Our home is nestled amongst native trees on the hill, overlooking the beautiful beach at Hahei. We invite you to come and spend a night or two with us and share what this wonderful place has to offer. All of our three rooms enjoy their own private decks, the stunning views of the village, the ocean and islands beyond. Guests enjoy breakfast on the deck in the mornings and after a busy day of adventure you can now relax and enjoy the views in our open air spa. Hahei is on the Coromandel Peninsula on the east coast of North Island, New Zealand. It’s a stunning piece of coastline that provides a mecca for New Zealand holiday makers and overseas visitors alike. The outlook is superb and there are countless things to do and see whether you are budding adventurers or just want to relax and unwind. Hahei is the gateway to world renowned Cathedral Cove. 5 minutes drive sees you at Hot Water Beach and close by the many other beautiful Mercury Bay attractions. The rest of the Peninsula lays in wait not much further a field. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing