We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight”
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a delight”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had booked in to this motel for 2 nts and were thrilled to see the quality of this accommodation. The rooms were superb, very clean, meticulously equipped with quality furniture. the grounds are an absolute delight. The beach is minutes walk away and Hot water Beach is only minutes in the car. Each motel room has a spade hanging outside to take to Hot Water Beach and beach towels are available. There is a useful laundry. We parked the car at the ferry and for $5 return we crossed to Whitianga to buy supplies in the supermarket...much more fun than the long drive round. Cathedral Cove was a good visit but not for the infirm unfortunately. The only surprise was that our room was not serviced on the second day, I asked for some more plunger coffee and was given some but got the impression this was not the norm. Would recommend this motel to anyone wanting something a little special, a real find at the end of nearly 6 weeks.

Room Tip: Think any room would be a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumandEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    105
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
118
182
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice room in excellent condition, beach towels provided as well as room towels and parking directly outside the door. Hosts were very helpful keeping the laundry open late for us. Only negatives were the noisy fridge and lack of insect mesh on windows so we couldn't leave windows open without flies coming into to the room at night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Certainly one of the best backpackers I've visited so far! The place is peaceful, clean, and the communal area (kitchen - living room) is perfect to socialize.
In addition, Richard and Debby are warm welcoming, very friendly and so helpful!

I would definitely recommand this place! See you later Richard & Debby !

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MaximeZind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our family of two adults and two teenagers stayed at Tatahi Lodge and we absolutely enjoyed it. We chose this place as we were going on the sea kayak tour early in the morning and wanted to be close to where the tour took off from and be close to Hot Water Beach which is about 8km away. Our accommodation was a two bedroom villa which was spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and really spacious and cosy. The owners were really friendly and helpful, and gave us complimentary beach towels to use when we went to visit Hot Water Beach. Unfortunately these got rather soaked as we were caught in a downpour but they were very understanding and told us not to worry about them. There were also spades attached to each unit that you can take with you so you didn't have to worry about hiring them there. Our only regret is that we could only stay one night. It was in such a peaceful, quiet location so it was quite relaxing. The only downside is Hahei is a small town so its best to bring food supplies with you. They do have a shop but its quite pricey and closes early and there is nowhere to get a meal after 6pm. However I would totally recommend this place to anyone if they were looking for a more peaceful and picturesque part of the Coromandels to stay in

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noonie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here for a night as I had a Kayak tour booked around Cathedral Cove (highly recommend). The Motel is a very short walk away from Hahei Beach where the tour starts. We booked a Garden Studio for a good rate online, $120. The room was immaculate, very clean and cosy. I had a great nights sleep on the bed. The location itself is very peaceful and quite. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusTraveller_881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

For $160/ a night for 3 adults, this room is a steal. It can easily accommodate 6. It is cosy, very well furnished and easily the most luxurious motel room I have stayed, in New Zealand. It is a stand-alone building with a huge and well maintained garden. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood, a short distance to Cathedral Cove. Book early if you planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My experience after staying in tatahi Lodge is strongly positive.

Regarding the staff, the owners of the place were absolutely friendly and kind with me. They are very cosy and they are always trying to make you have a good time. They are also always willing to answer all your inquiries and also to help you with clever advice.

Regarding the facilities, Tatahi Lodge has very nice rooms and common areas that make you feel at home. It is quite nice to share a room with other people because you get to know them, and after my experience there, the people I met were very interesting and nice with me. I really felt as in home.

This cheery lodge is located at one of the most beautiful coasts of New Zealand and it’s close to everything: attractions, market and beaches, including hot water beach and cathedral cove.

After my experience there, I strongly recommend that if you want to have some tranquil days and enjoy the peaceful paradise of Hahei, then the best place to stay during those days, is Tatahi Lodge.

Room Tip: 5 beds rooms at the back of the lodge may be quieter because they are farther from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
495 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
5.9 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Property: Tatahi Lodge Motel
Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing