We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, Cosy & Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Cosy & Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed here for a night as I had a Kayak tour booked around Cathedral Cove (highly recommend). The Motel is a very short walk away from Hahei Beach where the tour starts. We booked a Garden Studio for a good rate online, $120. The room was immaculate, very clean and cosy. I had a great nights sleep on the bed. The location itself is very peaceful and quite. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusTraveller_881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    103
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
105
176
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

For $160/ a night for 3 adults, this room is a steal. It can easily accommodate 6. It is cosy, very well furnished and easily the most luxurious motel room I have stayed, in New Zealand. It is a stand-alone building with a huge and well maintained garden. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood, a short distance to Cathedral Cove. Book early if you planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenny700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My experience after staying in tatahi Lodge is strongly positive.

Regarding the staff, the owners of the place were absolutely friendly and kind with me. They are very cosy and they are always trying to make you have a good time. They are also always willing to answer all your inquiries and also to help you with clever advice.

Regarding the facilities, Tatahi Lodge has very nice rooms and common areas that make you feel at home. It is quite nice to share a room with other people because you get to know them, and after my experience there, the people I met were very interesting and nice with me. I really felt as in home.

This cheery lodge is located at one of the most beautiful coasts of New Zealand and it’s close to everything: attractions, market and beaches, including hot water beach and cathedral cove.

After my experience there, I strongly recommend that if you want to have some tranquil days and enjoy the peaceful paradise of Hahei, then the best place to stay during those days, is Tatahi Lodge.

Room Tip: 5 beds rooms at the back of the lodge may be quieter because they are farther from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had two really nice days in the hostel, I just felt like home in the wooden lounge, playing card games and having dinner all together was so nice. And I took full advantage of the mountain bike (the first hostelbike that is actually working properly!!)I feel like I could spend so much more time here, but unfortunately I have to leave.thx fo everything, Katharina

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEBBIE E, Owner at Tatahi Lodge Motel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. , We loved having you. Enjoy your holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Initially we had planned to stay for one day and then move to another place for another day. However, when we got in and had such a pleasant and warm welcome ... saw the room was so cosy and clean, we decided to stay for 2 nights. Had such a wonderful time. The owner, Richard was ever so pleasant and helpful in so many ways. Highly recommend this place if you are looking for a place to stay in Hahei or Hot Water Beach area.

Room Tip: The 2-bedroom motel units are so conveniently located. Laundry room is near-by. Great for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeSQTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEBBIE E, Owner at Tatahi Lodge Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you , we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and got to experience the magic of Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Near the hot water beach and the Cathedral Cove. Very nice place , lovely rooms and clean. Nice garden. The owner in kind and helpfull. The only problem after 7 o'clock no food around. Well equiped place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Moshe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in a lovely 2 bedroomed unit (1 large double, 1 comfortable twin) with a well appointed kitchen/living room and a good sized bathroom. We had a garden with BBQ furniture etc but unfortunately didn't arrive early enough in the day to make use of everything! No sense of it being a backpacker hostel at all - more like a quiet motel. Very clean and beautiful grounds. However, be warned that you need to be organised for food when staying in Hahei. Either shop in a supermarket before you get there....or risk having to eat out...the nearby takeaway was closed, the local restaurant is expensive, and we ended up having to drive quite a few km to find a fish and chip shop. This was midweek, midwinter and after 7pm, to put it into context. I used the laundry facilities - new, efficient machines and there was an airer to borrow overnight instead of tumble drying everything. It's a bit of a drive to Hot Water Beach but the wonderful hosts asked us if we needed to borrow anything - we took a number of spades and towels, which we returned mid afternoon (even though we checked out at 10am) - great service with a smile. My children found a box of bats and balls to play with. Beautiful beach just a short walk away. Would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
5.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Property: Tatahi Lodge Motel
Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing