We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing place next to the beach”
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Well furnished bungalows w.2 rooms - quiet confortable bedrooms

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 440 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

It rained the entire 4 days of our visit but staying in this lovely spot in a cabin with a spacious very comfortable sitting room, a well equipped kitchen and comfortable bedrooms meant that at least we had somewhere comfy and homely with a pretty outlook to lounge around in and read. When we did venture out, which we did everyday, at least we could dry our clothes easily when we got back, have a nice warm shower and cook in the kitchen or go out to eat. Lovely owners who went out of their way to be helpful even supplying a spade for the beach and a large umbrella, sadly didn't get an opportunity to use the BBQ. The garden is gorgeous - even in the rain! - and it is well placed for Hot Water beach, Cathedral Cove and Mercury Bay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are lighter and have views on all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I plus two teenagers stayed here for one night in a two bedroom unit, It is beautiful! very clean& comfortable, plus spacious. We had a big BarBQ outside our unit plus an outside table and chairs. It was like home ! It is about a 10 min. drive to Hot Water Beach the hotel supplied us with shovels and extra towels.

Room Tip: We had the end two bedroom unit, it was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My son, 20, and I stayed there for one night in a doubleroom ensuite. A very nice room that had small details to make it even more nice! A lot of shells as decorations and used in different ways.

We were late because our car broke down outside Auckland, but the lady from the motel called us and asked when we came. In the fridge there were some fresh milk! Lovley!

The kitchen were well equipped.
The only not so good thing was that it took ages for the stove to become hot. We almost thought that we were doing something wrong or that it didn't work.

There are also the backpacker-rooms where my son has slept earlier and they are next to the kitchen.

All together we would recommend this to anyone.

Liselotte and Robin from Sweden

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liselotte3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We enjoyed our one night as some have stated cost for a studio room was up there, but apart from that no complaints. Close to beach, restaurant etc.

The spade is a nice touch

Would stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

we stayed in the hostel part of the motel in a double room, firstly i will start with the accomodation...it has lovley grounds with a bbq and nice landscaping and the area is good.
the shared kitchen is well appointed and the staff were friendly and helpfull.
we did however have a terrible nights sleep there was a noisy group using the comunal area till late at nightand the souns travelled far....this i didnt mind too much as they were quite funny. however the walls are really thin and i got woken up by the people in the room next door getting ready the next morning....i could hear the spaying of deodarant the wall were so thin.
bed comfy

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiedarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you can, get one of the units on the edges of the property. The one we were in felt a little like being in a fish bowl at times. On the whole it was really nice though and we'd go again so please don't take the opening comment out of context. The owners were really helpfull too!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
512 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
85 reviews
13.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $112 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing