We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double room in the Backpackers section - very nice”
Review of Tatahi Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed in a double room for a couple of nights in the backpackers section (the place has also motel units). The room was quite cozy with views onto the incredibly lush garden.
The communal part of the backpackers unit is quite big and very well organized, makes it so much easier to chat to fellow travelers, especially if you're on your own.
The lodge is not located right by the beach but it's only a 3 min walk away. We really liked it there.
Ah, and if you're going to the Hot Water Beach - you can borrow the spade from the lodge :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agatabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Tatahi Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 430 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

We only were able to stay here one night, but it was great! Friendly check-in service which included a pitcher of milk for my morning coffee (nice touch). Great location just a quick walk to the beach and the amazing trail from Hahei to Cathedral Cove. The Studio room was adorable and had a very mountain cabin feel, with a lovely grass backyard with picnic table and chairs. Very romantic!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatkaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The place was nice, pleasant, open and sunny. Hosts were friendly, motel room was nice, cute and clean. Cutleries were clean, good facilities such as spade, bucket for Hot Water Beach. Overall pleased with this place oh and forgot to mention they have a BBQ outside also table and chairs, I had my breakfast outside and it was lovely

Room Tip: Maybe not stay next to the reception like I did, motel unit 3 as less privacy than the further away...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aspiring_Traveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Excellent facilities and accommodation. Great location. Debbie and Richard very welcoming and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Great bar/restaurant on site. Lovely beach at the end of the road, Cathedral Cove very close. Definately stay there again.
Thank you Liz and John from UK.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVJEAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The studio we stayed was absolutely lovely and in beautiful surroundings. Debbie and Richard really do know how to make their guests feel welcome and were very helpful, they also think of everything including a spade for your visit to Hot Water Beach in Hahei.

Thanks from Chris & Nikki Mills in the UK.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globbitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Tatahi is just a few minutes away from the naked bus stop and the grocery store. It's also near the main road headed to tatahi beach. Definitely a good location.

The host is very friendly and kind too. I booked a backpacker's lodge for 4 and got upgraded to a 2 room villa as the backpacker's was occupied by a student group. 28 nzd per person per night for such an amazing place, I can't believe my luck! So thankful!

The rooms are very clean and the beds have warm comforters, hence a good night sleep for me and my friends to get us ready for our early morning walk to cathedral cove.

Will definitely return to this place :)

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icemonster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I recently escaped to Tatahi Lodge for 9 days of rest and relaxation and it was exactly what I was after. After reading all the raving reviews about the Lodge, I thought I might have my hopes set too high, but it completely lived up to expectations. The backpackers is kept very clean and the common areas are great for socialising. The showers are awesome, with amazing pressure. It is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. I highly recommend it and I will definitely go back the next time I need to retreat from real life again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nz_canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahei
5.4 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
503 reviews
17.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tatahi Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatahi Lodge Motel

Address: Grange Road | Hahei Beach, R D 1, Hahei 3591, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hahei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Hahei
Price Range: $96 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tatahi Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Tatahi Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing